Skip to main content

Fashion Audit

Urban Decay Brand Audit: LVMH, L’Oréal and a 25% Gap

Founded in 1996, owned by LVMH, then Falic, then Castanea, and by L'Oréal since 2012 — at a price neither party ever disclosed. What Urban Decay costs in India, and where the premium sits.

Urban Decay was built in 1996 as the anti-pink brand — purple lipstick, industrial names, a deliberate two fingers up at the beauty counter. It has not been independent since 2000. LVMH owned it, then a duty-free retailer, then a Boston private equity firm, and since November 2012 it has belonged to L’Oréal.

It reached India only on 8 November 2023, on one shelf. This audit reads the prices, the shade counts and the claims, all on 2 September 2026, and finds the one prestige brand that is dearer here than in America.

The short answer

Urban Decay is a wholly owned L’Oréal brand and has changed hands four times since 2000, including two and a half years inside LVMH. Neither L’Oréal nor the seller ever disclosed the 2012 price. On six products checked on 2 September 2026, Indian prices ran from 4% below American list to 25% above it — the Vice Lipstick at ₹2,500 being the dearest of them. Vice sells in 35 shades in America and 15 here.

Snapshot

Founded
1996, California, by Wende Zomnir, David Soward and Sandy Lerner, the Cisco Systems co-founder
Current owner
L’Oréal S.A., since November 2012; the brand sits in the L’Oréal Luxe division
Previous owners
LVMH 2000 to December 2002, the Falic Group to 2009, Castanea Partners to 2012
India entity
L’Oréal India Private Limited, Mumbai, CIN U85190MH1991PTC060363 — the same company that sells Garnier and Maybelline
India price band
₹1,650 to ₹7,000, checked 2 September 2026; the core line clusters between ₹2,500 and ₹3,200
In India since
8 November 2023, exclusively on Nykaa
Animal testing
PETA’s directory lists the brand as cruelty-free, checked 2 September 2026

How it started

Three people founded Urban Decay in California in 1996, one of them the woman who co-founded Cisco Systems. The pitch was the opposite of what the counter sold: shades named after things nobody names a lipstick after, aimed at people who did not want pink. It worked well enough that in 2000 LVMH bought it.

That detail is the one most articles miss, and it is worth stating plainly. Urban Decay has been owned by both of the world’s largest luxury groups. LVMH held it from 2000 until December 2002, when it sold the brand along with Hard Candy to the Falic Group, the Miami owner of Duty Free Americas. Castanea Partners bought a majority in March 2009. L’Oréal signed to buy it on 26 November 2012.

Four owners in twelve years
  • 1996Founded in California by Wende Zomnir, David Soward and Sandy Lerner
  • 2000Bought by LVMH, alongside Hard Candy
  • Dec 2002Sold with Hard Candy to the Falic Group, price not disclosed
  • Mar 2009Castanea Partners buys a majority, price not disclosed
  • Nov 2012L’Oréal signs to acquire it; terms not disclosed by either party

Independent for four years, owned by somebody else for twenty-six.

What L’Oréal paid has never been published. L’Oréal’s own release does not state a price and Castanea’s says only that terms were not disclosed. Figures circulate; none of them comes from either party, so none appears here. What both did publish, on the same day, is revenue — and even that disagrees: L’Oréal gave net sales of $130 million for the year to June 2012, Castanea gave $140 million of wholesale revenue over the trailing twelve months. Different bases, different periods, both fourteen years old.

L’Oréal’s own Urban Decay page names no founder and does not mention the 2012 acquisition. It says “Born to Perform. Built in L.A.” and calls the current positioning “Battle the Bland”. Co-founder Wende Zomnir went on to co-found a separate brand, Caliray, in October 2021.

The indie positioning has now outlived the independence by a quarter of a century.

What they actually make

Eyeshadow palettes, setting sprays, eye pencils and lipsticks. In India the range is 28 products on Nykaa: the Naked palettes, the All Nighter setting sprays, the 24/7 Glide-On pencils, Vice Lipstick and Vice Lip Bond, Stay Naked concealer and the 24/7 liquid liner.

The parent is worth sizing. L’Oréal Luxe took €15,595.1 million of revenue in 2025 at a 22.4% operating margin — 35% of L’Oréal’s sales and the group’s largest division by operating profit, on a year that was flat in reported terms. L’Oréal India, the company that brings the group’s brands here, reported ₹5,979.2 crore of revenue and ₹597.5 crore of net profit for the year to March 2025 across a stated 26 brands. L’Oréal publishes no figure for Urban Decay alone, in India or anywhere.

The claims split neatly in two, and the split is instructive. Where the claim is a certification, an outside body stands behind it. Where the claim is a number, nothing is published at all.

Start with the number that most people get wrong, including us until we checked. The 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil is branded 24/7, which in ordinary English means round the clock. The brand’s own page claims “up to 16 hours wear time” — two thirds of a day — across 38 shades, with no panel size, no method and no laboratory named. The 24-hour claim belongs to a different product: the All Nighter Waterproof Setting Spray, whose page claims “up to 24-hour wear” and also that a cooling technology “instantly Cools Skin by 3 degrees Fahrenheit”. Nothing is published behind either — no study, no sample size, no method — and the three-degree line is the odder one, because it is a specific physical measurement offered without a measurement.

Note also what the brand does not claim. It does not say the range is vegan. Its own words are that products marked vegan contain no animal-derived ingredients, and it says openly that within one product line some shades are vegan and others are not. That is a claim about individual shades, not about the brand.

What Urban Decay costs in India

There is no Indian brand website — the address urbandecay.in does not exist. Nykaa is the only Indian shelf: Sephora India and Tira both keep live Urban Decay brand pages that showed no products on the day we looked, which may be a stock-out rather than an exit. So every Indian figure below is Nykaa’s, read on 2 September 2026, inclusive of taxes. American prices are the brand’s own list prices the same day, converted at ₹95.38 to the dollar on Federal Reserve rates for 28 August 2026.

Product India price Against US list
Vice Lipstick, 3.4 g ₹2,500 25% dearer
Vice Lip Bond liquid lipstick ₹3,100 16% dearer
24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil ₹2,500 14% dearer
Naked3 Eyeshadow Palette ₹5,900 5% dearer
All Nighter Waterproof Setting Spray, 30 ml ₹1,700 1% cheaper
Naked3 Mini Palette ₹3,200 4% cheaper

India prices from Nykaa Luxe; US list prices from the brand’s own site. All read 2 September 2026, before a 25% site-wide American promotion running that day.

That range — 4% below to 25% above — makes this the dearest brand on the prestige counter relative to America. Most imported luxury makeup is cheaper in India than in the United States. This one is not, at the top of its range, and the American figures above are list prices before a discount that was live on the day, which would widen every gap further.

US list, converted
₹2,003
India price
₹2,500
Gap
+25%, or ₹735 a gram
Checked on
2 September 2026

Two things cut the other way and both belong here. The palettes are at or below American level, so the premium sits on the small, fast-moving items rather than the flagships. And Indian prices include 18% GST while American shelf prices exclude sales tax — strip the GST and all six sit below American list. Imports carry a real cost too: tariff databases put basic customs duty on lipsticks at 20%, plus a 10% surcharge on the duty and 18% IGST, roughly 44% of the value declared at the border, of which the IGST portion is creditable. Duty is charged on that declared value, not on an American shelf price, so what a buyer sees is a margin decision as much as a tariff one.

Per unit, only three figures could be computed, because most Indian listings do not state a net quantity at all. Vice Lipstick is ₹735 a gram; the All Nighter sprays are ₹57 and ₹49 a millilitre in their travel sizes. That gap of more than ten times between a lipstick bullet and a setting spray is the same arithmetic we apply to MRP against real money in our Liberty audit. The large All Nighter bottles cost far less per millilitre in America — $51 for 240 ml against $18 for 30 ml — but Nykaa showed a price only for the small one.

Who Urban Decay is actually for

On Indian pricing this is a premium line rather than a luxury one. The readable range runs ₹1,650 to ₹7,000, and the core products cluster between ₹2,500 and ₹3,200, with only the full-size palettes crossing ₹5,000.

It suits someone who wants the palettes, which are the good value here, and who cares that a certifier rather than a marketing department stands behind the cruelty-free claim. It does not suit anyone hunting a shade. Vice Lipstick sells in 35 shades on the brand’s American site and 15 on Nykaa; Vice Lip Bond in 19 there and 8 here. You are paying above American money for under half the choice.

It also does not suit anyone who reads the box before buying, because on the only Indian shelf there is nothing to read. Across three Nykaa product pages read in full on 2 September 2026, not one carried an importer, a manufacturer or a country of origin. What they carry instead is Nykaa’s own line — “100% Authentic, directly purchased from Urban Decay” — and the seller of record. Every one of these products is imported and the law requires a registration for each, so the declaration exists; it is simply not shown to an Indian buyer before payment.

Worth knowing

None of the three Indian listings we read named an importer or a country of origin, and there is no brand website here to check against. The declaration is printed on the carton — turn the box over in your hands before you accept the parcel.

A brand fronted in India by a company that is not the brand is a structure Indian shoppers already know from footwear: our Bata audit covers the best-known case of a separate Indian company carrying a foreign name, and our Campus audit the opposite one, where the brand owns its own factory and says so.

Reputation and controversies

The most interesting thing on this brand’s record is a decision it took, and the date matters. In June 2012 Urban Decay announced it would begin selling in China, which then required animal testing for imported cosmetics. On 6 July 2012, weeks later and after customer anger, it reversed: “After careful consideration of many issues, we have decided not to start selling Urban Decay products in China”, saying it could not comply with the regulations and remain true to its principles. One later trade write-up dates that to 2013; two contemporaneous reports date it to July 2012, and 2012 is what makes the point — the reversal came four months before L’Oréal signed to buy the brand.

The position has held since, and it is checkable. The brand’s own commitments page says it is “certified by PETA as cruelty-free”. PETA’s Beauty Without Bunnies directory carries the matching entry: “Urban Decay (L’Oréal) is Cruelty-Free”, noting that neither ingredients nor finished products are tested and that suppliers follow the same standard. Badge and directory agree, which is rarer than it should be. The same directory lists some sibling brands under the same parent as companies that do test. L’Oréal’s own statement is that since 1989 it has not tested the safety of its products on animals — a statement about finished products that names no brand. Animal testing of cosmetics has been illegal in India since 2014 in any case.

On advertising, ASCI’s published complaint-outcomes database carries no decided case about this brand as at 2 September 2026. Its parent’s Indian file runs to 37 decided outcomes there, clustered on the mass-market brands, and none of them is this one. The brand has sold here for under three years, and its most quotable claims run on an American page rather than an Indian one.

A word on what that database is and is not. ASCI is the advertising industry’s own self-regulatory body rather than a statutory regulator, and each of its findings goes to a specific advertisement in the form that advertisement then carried, not to a form of words for all time. None of the parent’s outcomes concerns this brand, and nobody has ruled on the pages an Indian buyer reads today.

Buying it in India

The authorised footprint is one online retailer. Urban Decay launched here on 8 November 2023 exclusively with Nykaa, at prices Nykaa itself published — ₹3,000 for the 24/7 Inks liner, ₹2,900 for Vice Lip Bond, ₹5,500 for the Naked 3 palette, ₹3,200 for All Nighter. The exclusivity appears to still hold: Sephora India and Tira both keep brand pages that carried no products on 2 September 2026. No Indian counter or shop-in-shop could be established anywhere.

Check 01

Read the declaration off the carton

The importer’s name and address and the country of origin must be printed on the pack. No Indian listing we read showed them, so the box in your hand is the only place you will see them.

Check 02

Read the claim, not the product name

The pencil is called 24/7. Its own page claims up to 16 hours. The 24-hour claim belongs to the All Nighter spray, and neither product publishes a study, a panel size or a method behind its number.

Check 03

Buy the palette, not the lipstick

The Naked3 palettes sit at 5% above and 4% below American list. The Vice Lipstick is 25% above and the 24/7 pencil 14% above. The premium is concentrated in the small items.

Check 04

Check the shade exists before you order

Fifteen Vice Lipstick shades reach India against 35 on the brand’s American site, and eight Lip Bond shades against 19. There is no counter in the country to swatch at.

Check 05

Treat an off-channel seller as unknown

On what could be established, one authorised Indian shelf exists and no brand website. Anything offered elsewhere sits outside the only channel that could be traced — ask the seller where the stock came from.

Common questions

Who owns Urban Decay?

L’Oréal, since November 2012, as part of its L’Oréal Luxe division. Before that it belonged to Castanea Partners from 2009, the Falic Group from December 2002 and LVMH from 2000. It has been independently owned for only its first four years.

What did L’Oréal pay for Urban Decay?

Neither party has ever said. L’Oréal’s announcement gives no price and Castanea’s states that terms were not disclosed. Both did publish revenue figures on the day, and even those disagree: $130 million of net sales on one basis, $140 million of wholesale revenue on another.

Is Urban Decay cruelty-free?

Yes, on the certifier’s own record. PETA’s Beauty Without Bunnies directory lists the brand as cruelty-free, matching the badge on the brand’s own page. It is not, however, a fully vegan brand — the company itself says some shades within a line are vegan and others are not.

Is Urban Decay cheaper in India?

Mostly not. On six products checked on 2 September 2026, Indian prices ran from 4% below American list to 25% above it, with the Vice Lipstick the dearest. Strip 18% GST and all six fall below American list.

Where can I buy it in India?

Nykaa, which has been the exclusive seller since the brand launched here on 8 November 2023. There is no Indian brand website, and Sephora India and Tira both showed empty brand pages on 2 September 2026.

Does the 24/7 pencil last 24 hours?

The brand does not say so. 24/7 is the product’s name; the claim on its own page is up to 16 hours, with no test method or panel size published. The 24-hour claim belongs to the All Nighter setting spray.

How we research and verify brand audits: our methodology.

References

  1. WWD, 30 March 2009 — the 1996 founding and founders, the LVMH ownership from 2000, the Falic sale in 2002 and the Castanea majority
  2. The Rose Sheet, December 2002 — LVMH selling Urban Decay and Hard Candy to the Falic Group, price not disclosed
  3. L’Oréal Finance, 26 November 2012 — the agreement to acquire the brand and the $130 million net sales figure for the year to June 2012
  4. Castanea Partners, 26 November 2012 — that terms of the transaction were not disclosed, and the $140 million wholesale revenue figure
  5. L’Oréal, Urban Decay brand page, read 2 September 2026 — the 1996 founding, “Born to Perform. Built in L.A.” and the current positioning; no founder and no acquisition named
  6. L’Oréal Finance, 2025 annual results — L’Oréal Luxe at €15,595.1 million and a 22.4% operating margin, against group sales of €44,052.0 million
  7. Register record, L’Oréal India Private Limited, read 2 September 2026 — CIN U85190MH1991PTC060363 and the Lower Parel registered office
  8. Nykaa Beauty Book, India launch — the 8 November 2023 Nykaa-exclusive launch and the seven launch prices
  9. Nykaa Luxe, Urban Decay, 2 September 2026 — the 28-product Indian range and every Indian price used above
  10. Nykaa, Vice Lipstick, 2 September 2026 — ₹2,500 for 3.4 g, 15 shades, and no importer or country-of-origin line on the page
  11. Urban Decay, 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil, 2 September 2026 — the “up to 16 hours wear time” claim, $23.00 and 38 shades
  12. Urban Decay, All Nighter Waterproof Setting Spray, 2 September 2026 — the “up to 24-hour wear” and “3 degrees Fahrenheit” claims, and the three pack sizes at $18, $34 and $51
  13. Urban Decay, Vice Lipstick, 2 September 2026 — $21.00 and the 35-shade range
  14. Urban Decay, commitments page, read 2 September 2026 — the cruelty-free statement, the PETA certification claim and the vegan-by-shade qualification
  15. PETA, Beauty Without Bunnies, read 2 September 2026 — the directory entry confirming the brand as cruelty-free
  16. Temptalia, 6 July 2012 — the brand’s statement reversing its decision to sell in China
  17. Cosmetic Executive Women, Wende Zomnir — the co-founder’s later founding of Caliray in October 2021
  18. Federal Reserve H.10, release of 31 August 2026 — the ₹95.38 per dollar rate used for every conversion here
  19. FashionNetwork India, 29 June 2022 — the ₹186.39 crore anti-profiteering order against L’Oréal India
  20. Delhi High Court, 6 October 2022 — the six instalments and the stay on interest and penalty proceedings
  21. CDSCO, cosmetics import registration — the requirement that every imported cosmetic be registered before import
The FA take

The cruelty-free claim is the real thing, and it is worth more than the marketing. PETA’s own directory carries the entry, and the brand proved the position under fire in July 2012 by walking away from China four months before L’Oréal signed. In a category full of badges nobody stands behind, that is a genuine reason to prefer this brand.

The price is not. At ₹2,500 the Vice Lipstick costs 25% more than an American pays for it, and the 24/7 pencil 14% more, at a time when almost every rival prestige brand is cheaper in India than in the United States. You get 15 shades where America gets 35, no shop to swatch in, no importer named on the listing, and a 24-hour wear number with no test behind it. The palettes are the exception and the exception is the point.

Buy the Naked palettes here at near American money; buy the lipstick almost anywhere else.

Table of Contents

Get the weekly audit

One tested product, one honest verdict, every Friday.

More reads

Related reads

Search Category
₹0 - ₹58,900
By Price: ₹0 - ₹58,900
📲 Add Fashion Audit to Home Screen