Skip to main content

Fashion Audit

Kipling Brand Audit: VF-Owned Bags, EU and US Prices

Kipling, owned by VF Corporation, has no named Indian seller. What its bags cost in Belgium and the US, where its warranty applies, how to spot a fake.
Kipling brand audit by FashionAudit: Kipling logo and the headline “VF-Owned Bags, EU and US Prices” over a lightweight crinkled nylon crossbody bag and backpack in bright teal

Kipling is the crinkled-nylon bag brand with a toy monkey clipped to the zip, and it began in Antwerp, Belgium. Today it belongs to VF Corporation, the New York-listed group that also owns Vans, JanSport and Eastpak.

For an Indian buyer the brand is harder to pin down than the monkey suggests. On 22 September 2026 Kipling’s own location selector listed 30 markets and India was not among them, no Indian Kipling website was found, and Myntra had no Kipling shelf.

The short answer

Kipling is a VF Corporation brand, and VF does not publish its revenue. Nothing read on 22 September 2026 names an Indian distributor, franchisee or selling subsidiary: VF’s only Indian company on its filed subsidiary list is a sourcing company, and Kipling’s location selector leaves India out. The US warranty is one year, the European one two years plus a labelled five-year extension, and neither mentions India.

Snapshot

Owner
V.F. Corporation (NYSE: VFC), which lists Kipling among its brands in its FY2026 10-K, filed 20 May 2026
Where it began
Antwerp, Belgium, in 1987, as VF’s brand page and Kipling’s own story page tell it
Kipling’s own revenue
Not disclosed; VF reports it inside its Active segment with Vans, Eastpak and JanSport
Indian seller or partner
None named in any document read, 22 September 2026
VF’s Indian company
VF Sourcing India Private Limited, Bengaluru, ₹1 lakh paid-up (register mirror)
Indian trade mark
KIPLING, no. 1360685, class 18, proprietor VF International Sagl, Stabio, Switzerland; valid to 31 May 2035 (trade-mark mirror)
Myntra shelf
None on 22 September 2026; a Kipling search showed Accessorize instead
Price band in India
None set: no Indian price was found

Who owns Kipling

VF’s annual report for the year to 28 March 2026, filed with the US regulator on 20 May 2026, lists Kipling among its brands. Its list of significant subsidiaries names two US companies carrying the brand’s name, Kipling Apparel Corp. and Kipling Holdings LLC. The filing describes Kipling’s goods as “handbags, luggage, backpacks, totes and accessories” sold through department and luggage stores, “independent distributors”, 35 VF-operated stores and kipling.com.

How and when VF came to own the brand is not something this page can date from a VF document, so it gives no acquisition year. What the filing does make plain is that Kipling has no revenue line of its own. VF says “the Vans®, Kipling®, Eastpak® and JanSport® brands have been aggregated in the Active reportable segment”.

The owner’s numbers are therefore VF’s, not Kipling’s. The 10-K reports revenue of US$9,605.2 million for the 52 weeks to 28 March 2026, against US$9,504.7 million a year earlier, and net income of US$254.9 million after a net loss of US$189.7 million the year before. The first quarter of the current year, to 27 June 2026, brought revenue of US$1,669.4 million and a net loss of US$97.2 million, according to the 10-Q filed on 29 July 2026.

The US paperwork names two companies. The American site’s footer reads “© 2026 Kipling Apparel Corp.”, while its terms name “KIPLING, a division of VF Outdoor, LLC”. Both are VF companies; the two documents simply name different legal persons.

How Kipling reaches India

The cheapest source on who sells a brand in India is usually the brand’s own Indian website. No Indian Kipling website was found on 22 September 2026. The US store says plainly: “We do not offer international shipping at this time.”

Kipling’s location selector is the brand’s own map of where it sells. Read on 22 September 2026, it listed 30 markets, from Peru and Finland to Thailand, Turkey and the UAE. India was not on it. The Gulf and Singapore sites carry their own footers, “© 2026 Kipling UAE” and “© 2026 Kipling Singapore”, and neither lists India either.

VF does have a company in India. VF Sourcing India Private Limited was incorporated in Bengaluru on 2 April 2013, and its CIN carries the letters FTC, the register’s marker for a subsidiary of a foreign company. The register mirror shows ₹1 lakh of paid-up capital and the activity code “business activities n.e.c.”, and it is the only Indian entry on VF’s filed subsidiary list. No document read says it sells Kipling or anything else in India; its name describes sourcing.

VF’s list is drawn to a significance threshold, so it cannot prove there is no other Indian VF company, only that none is named. Searches of a register mirror for a “VF Brands India” or a Kipling Indian company showed nothing linked to VF. Brand Concepts, an Indian company whose site lists eight international brands, does not list Kipling.

The Indian trade mark is held from Switzerland. The register mirror shows KIPLING, no. 1360685 in class 18, filed on 31 May 2005 for bags, handbags, backpacks and luggage, in the name of VF International Sagl of Stabio. It is registered to 31 May 2035 and the mirror lists no registered user. A mark protects the name; it says nothing about who is selling bags here.

Kipling on Myntra

A search for “kipling” on Myntra on 22 September 2026 produced no Kipling brand filter. The results were filled with a different brand altogether, Accessorize, under three facet names carrying 2,217, 226 and 166 products.

That leaves no seller of record, no importer line and no declared country of origin to read for Kipling on the platform. It is not proof the brand is absent from India, only that a major fashion marketplace carried no shelf under its name that day. A Kipling bag on sale here comes through a channel no Kipling document read names.

Sister brands under the same owner tell the same story in different ways. JanSport’s Myntra shelf held two backpacks that day, and Eastpak had none. Vans, which VF reports in the same segment, has its own Indian story, set out in our Vans audit.

Where Kipling bags are made

None of the US or Belgian product pages read gives a country of origin, and Kipling’s US transparency page links out to VF rather than listing factories. VF’s 10-K covers every brand at once. It says VF “sourced approximately 231 million units” in fiscal 2026 from “approximately 216 independent contractor manufacturing facilities in approximately 24 countries”, and that “no single supplier represented more than 8%” of cost of goods.

The portion of the filing read does not name those countries or give a share for any of them, so this page names none. With no Indian listing to read, the box itself is the only place an Indian buyer will find a declared origin.

What Kipling costs in India

There is no Indian Kipling price to report. The brand runs no Indian site, the marketplace had no shelf, and no Indian retailer’s Kipling price was read. What can be set side by side is what the same styles cost on the brand’s Belgian and US stores, read on 22 September 2026.

StyleBelgium, eu.kipling.comUSA, us.kipling.com (tax basis not stated)Match
City Pack Mini backpack€89.90, “incl. VAT” (KPKI2670P39)US$109.00 (KPKI2670P39)Same style code
Gabbie Mini crossbody€79.90 (KPKI305796V)US$99.00 (KPKI305796V)Same code and colour
Seoul large 15″ laptop backpack€99.90, out of stock in that size (KPKI514046Y)US$134.00 (KPKI5140U3A)Same style, different colour
IndiaNo Indian Kipling price found—

Brand-site prices read 22 September 2026. No currency conversion and no gap is printed.

The US Seoul page sat at a web address carrying one code while the page itself stated another, KPKI5140U3A; the table uses the code the page states. No exchange rate was read for this page, so the euro and dollar figures stand as printed, not converted.

For anyone thinking of buying one abroad, two tax facts can be stated. Bags of heading 4202 carry 18% integrated GST under Notification No. 9/2025-Integrated Tax (Rate) of 17 September 2025. The Budget 2026-27 cut basic customs duty on goods imported for personal use to 10% from 1 April 2026. A bag carried home in a traveller’s luggage falls instead under the Baggage Rules 2026, which set the duty-free allowance and rate, so check the current figures with customs.

Without an Indian price, Kipling gets no price tier here. Indian bag makers such as Wildcraft and Skybags publish rupee prices on their own sites, which is the minimum a buyer needs to judge value.

The warranty, and where it applies

Kipling’s warranty depends on which of its sites you read. The US policy “covers any defects in materials or workmanship for one year from the date of purchase”, needs proof of purchase, and adds: “Kipling reserves the right to deny warranty claims for products purchased from unauthorized sellers, including unauthorized online platforms.”

The Belgian site is more generous on paper. It offers a statutory “legal warranty”, and its product pages state “2-year warranty”. On top of that sits a “Limited 5 Year Global Warranty … covering from year three (3) to five (5), as indicated on the hangtag and the inside care label”, for manufacturing defects such as open seams only. It also says: “Damaged or defective items have to be returned to the original point of sale.”

Kipling’s warranty by market, read 22 September 2026
  • USAOne year, defects in materials or workmanship
  • EU, all regular itemsLegal warranty; product pages say two years
  • EU, labelled itemsYears three to five, manufacturing defects only
  • IndiaNot mentioned on either policy

“Global” is in the name, but the page does not say which countries it covers.

Neither policy names India. The European page does not say whether its “Global” extension covers a bag bought outside the EU, and it sends faults back to the original point of sale, which for a bag bought in Antwerp or Dubai is not in India. Keep the invoice and the hangtag, and ask the seller in writing who will honour a claim before paying.

Kipling’s European warranty sends faults back to the original point of sale, so where you buy the bag decides where you claim.

Checking a Kipling is genuine

Kipling publishes a guide, “How to spot a fake Kipling bag”, and it is visual. It points to the monkey keyring with a white name tag sewn to its left arm, a round logo that should be embossed rather than printed, solid metal hardware, clean stitching and an inside label giving the model and care instructions. It also tells buyers to treat prices far below the official site as a warning.

The monkey is not proof on its own, by Kipling’s own account. Its US FAQ says: “Most of our bags come with a furry monkey or metal monkey keychain, but not all of them.” A bag without one is not necessarily fake, and a bag with one is not necessarily real.

There is no serial lookup, QR code or verification page on any Kipling page read. Tumi, by comparison, publishes its Tracer serial scheme. Kipling also publishes no list of authorised Indian sellers, unlike Casio, whose authorised-seller list is covered in our Casio audit.

Check 01

Read the box, not the monkey

An imported bag sold in India must declare its MRP inclusive of taxes, its country of origin and its importer. With no Indian Kipling seller named, that block tells you who answers for the goods.

Check 02

Feel the logo

Kipling says the round logo is embossed, not printed, and securely attached. Check the inside label for a model name and care instructions.

Check 03

Price against the brand’s own site

Kipling calls a price far below its official site a warning sign. The Belgian and US prices above are a floor to test against.

Check 04

Keep the invoice and hangtag

The US warranty can be refused for unauthorised sellers, and the European extension depends on the hangtag and the original point of sale.

What the product claims rest on

Kipling’s story page calls its crinkle nylon “featherlight, durable, and water-resistant”, and product pages say “water-repellent”, with no test value given. The Belgian pages give compositions, “100% Polyamide” outside and “100% Recycled Polyester” lining, but name no certifier for the recycled content.

Its US sustainability page makes two numbered claims: prints that “use 20% less water when printed on our new 38% recycled polyester fabric”, and “36% of Kipling products are produced in totally solar energy run facilities”. Neither names a test house, auditor or standard; they are the brand’s own statements.

The record in India

Searches of Indian judgments under “Kipling Apparel”, “VF International”, “Kipling VF Corporation” and “Kipling handbags monkey” showed nothing, and the one result under “Kipling trade mark bags” was an unrelated company dispute. Not every trial-court or intellectual-property order is carried there, so read this as nothing found under those terms, not a clean bill.

How big Kipling is, by two counts

VF gives two store figures. The 10-K for fiscal 2026 counts “35 VF-operated stores” for Kipling. VF’s undated brand page speaks of “436 stores in 80 countries” and “more than 7500 shops”. They may count different things, operated stores against every door, but neither source says so, and both are printed here as found.

Who Kipling is actually for

Kipling suits a buyer who wants a light crinkle-nylon bag and is buying abroad, from Kipling’s own store or a department store in one of its 30 listed markets, where the warranty and the seller are both clear. In India the same bag comes with neither a named seller nor a stated warranty route. Buyers who want a rupee price and an Indian after-sales address have home-grown options such as VIP Industries.

Common questions

Who owns Kipling?

VF Corporation, listed on the New York Stock Exchange, which lists Kipling among its brands in its FY2026 annual report filed on 20 May 2026. VF reports Kipling inside its Active segment, alongside Vans, Eastpak and JanSport.

Is Kipling a Belgian brand?

It began in Antwerp in 1987, according to VF’s brand page and Kipling’s own story page. It is now owned by an American group, and its Indian trade mark is held by VF International Sagl in Switzerland.

Is Kipling officially sold in India?

No document read names an Indian distributor, franchisee or selling subsidiary. Kipling’s location selector did not list India on 22 September 2026, no Indian Kipling site was found, and Myntra had no Kipling shelf.

Does the Kipling warranty cover India?

Neither the US one-year warranty nor the European two-year warranty with its labelled five-year extension mentions India. The European terms send faults back to the original point of sale.

Does every genuine Kipling bag have a monkey?

No. Kipling’s own FAQ says most bags come with a furry or metal monkey keyring, “but not all of them”. Check the embossed logo, the inside label and the seller instead.

References

  1. VF Corporation, Form 10-K for the year to 28 March 2026, filed 20 May 2026 — Kipling among VF’s brands, the brand description and channels, 35 VF-operated stores, the Active segment, sourcing figures
  2. VF FY2026 10-K, consolidated statements of operations — group revenue and net income or loss for FY2026 and FY2025
  3. VF Exhibit 21.1, significant subsidiaries, fiscal 2026 — Kipling Apparel Corp., Kipling Holdings LLC, VF Sourcing India as the only India entry
  4. VF Form 10-Q for the quarter to 27 June 2026, filed 29 July 2026 — first-quarter revenue and net loss
  5. VF results release, 20 May 2026 and VF results release, 28 January 2026 — group results for the third quarter and full year
  6. VF Corporation, Kipling brand page (undated) — the 1987 Antwerp start, 436 stores in 80 countries, more than 7,500 shops
  7. Kipling, Our Story — the Antwerp designers, crinkle nylon wording
  8. Kipling US home page and terms and conditions — the Kipling Apparel Corp. footer and the VF Outdoor, LLC terms
  9. Kipling, Select your location — the 30 markets listed, India absent, read 22 September 2026
  10. Kipling UAE and Kipling Singapore — regional footers
  11. Kipling US FAQ — no international shipping; “not all of them” on the monkey
  12. ZaubaCorp (register mirror), VF Sourcing India Private Limited — CIN, incorporation date, capital, activity code
  13. Brand Concepts Ltd — the eight brands it lists
  14. QuickCompany (trade-mark mirror), KIPLING no. 1360685 — proprietor, goods, filing date, validity, no registered user shown
  15. Kipling US, Transparency — links out to VF, no factory list
  16. Kipling Belgium, City Pack Mini, Gabbie Mini and Seoul — euro prices, compositions, “2-year warranty”
  17. Kipling US, City Pack Mini, Gabbie Mini and Seoul Large — dollar prices and stated style codes
  18. Kipling US, Limited Warranty — one year, unauthorised-seller wording
  19. Kipling Belgium, Warranty — legal warranty, Limited 5 Year Global Warranty, original point of sale
  20. Kipling US, How to spot a fake Kipling bag — the visual checks and the price warning
  21. Kipling US, sustainable backpacks — the 20%, 38% and 36% claims
  22. Indian Kanoon, searches under the Kipling terms named, 22 September 2026
  23. Myntra search for “kipling”, read 22 September 2026 — no Kipling brand filter, Accessorize listings shown instead
The FA take

Kipling is a simple idea with a clear paper trail at home: VF names it in its filings, the European site gives a real two-year warranty with a labelled extension, and the brand publishes its own fake-spotting guide. For a buyer in one of its 30 listed markets, it is a simple purchase.

India is where the trail stops. No Indian seller, distributor or site is named in anything read, Myntra had no shelf, VF’s Indian company is a sourcing arm, and neither warranty mentions India. The monkey is not proof, by Kipling’s own FAQ, and there is no serial check to fall back on.

A good €89.90 backpack in Antwerp. For an Indian buyer it makes most sense bought from Kipling’s own store in a listed market, with the invoice and hangtag kept for any warranty claim.

Table of Contents

Get the weekly audit

One tested product, one honest verdict, every Friday.

More reads

Related reads