Lavie is a women’s handbag brand run by a Mumbai company, Bagzone Lifestyles Private Limited, incorporated in December 2008. Unusually for an unlisted Indian brand, it publishes its own annual returns on its website, so its turnover and the broad shape of its shareholding come from its own filings rather than from interviews.
The brand says “Lavie” comes from the phrase “La Vie en Rose”, and its newest line, Lavie Paris, was designed by a French designer. On Myntra on 22 September 2026, 36 of 40 Lavie Paris listings read declared China as the country of origin.
Lavie is an Indian brand, owned and run by Bagzone Lifestyles of Mumbai, whose own returns show turnover of ₹237.3 crore in 2023-24. Its handbags are declared made in India on some listings and in China on others. On Myntra its handbags sold at a median ₹1,649.5, and its refund policy gives five days from receipt to report a defect.
Snapshot
- Company
- Bagzone Lifestyles Private Limited, CIN U74994MH2008PTC188558, registered office Andheri (East), Mumbai
- Incorporated
- 2 December 2008; the brand’s About page dates its story to 2009
- Founder and chief executive
- Designer Shobha Tainwala, per the About page; Ayush Tainwala is chief executive
- Promoter holding
- 49.37% of equity, per the company’s own annual return for the year to 31 March 2024
- Outside investor
- First Bridge India Growth Fund, US$9 million, October 2023, stake not disclosed
- Latest filed turnover
- ₹237.3 crore, 2023-24, own annual return; ₹260.44 crore for 2024-25 on a register mirror
- Price band in India
- Budget — median paid ₹1,649.5 on 100 Lavie handbag listings on Myntra, 22 September 2026
- Declared country of origin
- Lavie handbags: India 28, China 12 of 40. Lavie Paris: China 36, India 3, “China, India” 1 of 40
Who owns Lavie
The brand belongs to Bagzone Lifestyles Private Limited, an unlisted company registered in Maharashtra. Its corporate identity number reads as a home-grown business should: U for unlisted, MH for Maharashtra, 2008 for the year, and PTC for an ordinary private company rather than a foreign subsidiary. A register mirror gives its status as active and its paid-up capital as ₹20,09,73,310.
The site’s terms of service name Bagzone Lifestyles as the operator, at 401 Ackruti Star, Andheri (East), with Indian law governing. The refund policy calls the business “Lavie (Bagzone Lifestyles Private Limited)”. Each annual return from 2020-21 to 2023-24 declares no holding, subsidiary or associate company, so there is no parent above Bagzone and no group company beside it on the filings.
The founding story is the brand’s own. The About page says “Lavie’s story started in 2009 at a private family event when colourful handbags designed by Mrs. Shobha Tainwala for the attending guests became an instant hit!” It describes a brother-and-sister founding pair; the brother is not named on the page. A 2023 YourStory report says Lavie launched in 2010, and the class-25 trade mark filing claims use since 1 July 2010.
The shareholding comes from the company’s Form MGT-7 annual returns, which it posts on an “Investors” page. For the year to 31 March 2024 the return shows nine shareholders, two classed as promoters and seven as others. Promoters held 49.37% of the equity and non-promoter directors 4.54%. Ayush Ramesh Tainwala, the chief executive, held 8,776,400 equity shares.
The same return shows 2,318,921 compulsorily convertible preference shares paid up, where the year before showed none. The summary tables do not say who holds them. Together with 17,778,410 equity shares, they account for the paid-up figure the register mirror carries.
The return’s summary names the directors’ holdings but not who holds the rest of the equity or the preference shares. Read our Independent tag as “no controlling holder established”, not as proof of family control.
The one outside investment on record is US$9 million from First Bridge India Growth Fund, reported by YourStory and FashionNetwork on 11 and 12 October 2023. The stake was not disclosed. The money was earmarked for a 150,000 sq ft manufacturing facility, 300 exclusive outlets and about 1,000 jobs. Vishal Kumar Gupta, quoted as First Bridge’s managing partner, now sits on the board. The return dates his appointment 27 September 2023; a register mirror says 24 November 2023. No change of control appears in anything read.
The money: five years of turnover
Because Bagzone posts its own returns, four years of turnover come straight from the company’s filings. The fifth, 2024-25, comes from a register mirror, as the company’s own page stops at 2023-24.
| Year to 31 March | Turnover | Net worth | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | ₹177.6 crore | ₹62.46 crore | Company’s own MGT-7 |
| 2022 | ₹149.3 crore | ₹67.71 crore | Company’s own MGT-7 |
| 2023 | ₹237.8 crore | ₹84.65 crore | Company’s own MGT-7 |
| 2024 | ₹237.3 crore | ₹145.25 crore | Company’s own MGT-7 |
| 2025 | ₹260.44 crore | Not shown | Register mirror (thecompanycheck) |
Form MGT-7 annual returns published on lavieworld.com, 2020-21 to 2023-24; thecompanycheck register mirror for 2024-25. Read 22 September 2026.
Turnover fell in 2021-22, rose to ₹237.8 crore in 2022-23 and held level in 2023-24, while net worth rose from ₹84.65 crore to ₹145.25 crore. The returns give turnover and net worth, not profit or loss, so this page prints no profit figure.
The 2023-24 return records penalties or punishment imposed on the company, its directors and officers as “Nil”.
- 2009Lavie story begins, per the About page
- Apr 2023Lavie Luxe launched
- Aug 2024Lavie Signature, online exclusive
- May 2025Akiki London introduced
- Apr 2026Lavie Paris launched
Lavie Sport sits alongside; all are Bagzone Lifestyles brands.
lavieworld.com About page; YourStory, 2023; India Retailing, 23 August 2024; Indian Retailer, 27 May 2025 and 11 April 2026.
Who makes Lavie bags
Bagzone says it makes bags itself. YourStory reported a manufacturing unit in Nashik, Maharashtra, in July 2023, and the First Bridge money was tied to a larger facility. The product pages show India as the origin of some bags and China for others.
The Neem 3C satchel page, read on 22 September 2026, says “Origin India” and names Bagzone Lifestyles, Mumbai, as manufacturer. The Albany three-compartment satchel, sold under the Lavie Signature name and listed in the Lavie Paris satchels collection, says “Country of Origin China” and “Imported & Marketed” by Bagzone Lifestyles. The site does not publish what share of its range comes from each country.
The Myntra declarations give a count. On 22 September 2026 we read 40 Lavie handbag records, the statutory block that names the country of origin and the company answerable for the goods. India was declared on 28 and China on 12. Bagzone Lifestyles was named on the manufacturer line of about 35, four of them reading “Imported by Bagzone Lifestyles”.
| Myntra shelf, 40 records each | Seller of record | Country of origin | Manufacturer line |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lavie, handbags only | Flashtech Retail 40 | India 28, China 12 | Bagzone Lifestyles Pvt Ltd on about 35 |
| Lavie Paris | Bagzone Lifestyles Pvt Ltd 40 | China 36, India 3, “China, India” 1 | Bagzone Lifestyles Pvt Ltd, 401 Ackruti, 39 |
| Lavie, whole brand listing (mostly footwear) | Several sellers | India 40 | Bagzone Lifestyles on 6; other declared manufacturers on the rest |
Myntra product records, read 22 September 2026.
Lavie Paris: design story and declared origin
The Lavie Paris landing page, read on 22 September 2026, says: “This collection crafted in vegan leather reflects Parisian craftsmanship and understated luxury that defines Lavie Paris.” It says the designer, Hugo Rita, “began by studying the traditions of the great Parisian maisons de luxe”. Indian Retailer reported in April 2026 that the line was designed by the French designer and “debuted … at Paris Fashion Week”.
The Myntra declarations for the same line, read the same day, name China as the country of origin on 36 of 40 listings, India on three and “China, India” on one. Bagzone Lifestyles of Mumbai is the manufacturer named on 39. The Lavie Paris product pages read on the brand’s own site showed no country-of-origin line.
A Mumbai company that posts its own annual returns, with a French name and a Paris-designed line.
A declaration names the country where the goods were made, not where they were designed. A buyer who wants to know which country made a particular Lavie Paris bag should read the origin line on the listing or the box.
The name itself works the same way. The About page says it is “derived from the popular French phrase La Vie en Rose”, and the founders “travelled through vibrant landscapes across Europe and Asia” for inspiration and materials. The register gives a Mumbai company from 2008. Lavie is an Indian brand with a French name.
Vegan, synthetic, soft: what the material lines say
No Lavie product read on 22 September 2026 says “genuine leather”, and none names the plastic behind its synthetic finish. The table sets each page’s material line beside the claim.
| Where | Material wording | Certifier or test named |
|---|---|---|
| Lavie Paris landing page | “crafted in vegan leather” | None |
| Camelia satchel (Lavie Paris) | “high-quality synthetic leather” | None |
| Albany satchel (Lavie Signature) | “Synthetic Leather”; lining “Fabric” | None |
| Neem 3C satchel (Lavie) | “Made from high quality and soft material” | None; no material named |
| Kaley tote (Lavie Luxe) | “High quality and soft material” | None; no material named |
| About-handbags page | “high-quality materials and rigorous testing to ensure it can endure daily use” | No test named |
lavieworld.com product and brand pages, read 22 September 2026.
“Vegan leather” appears on the collection page. The Lavie Paris product page read, for the Camelia satchel, describes “synthetic leather”. No vegan certifier is named on the pages read. The about-handbags page also calls Lavie “one of the top 5 handbag brands in India” without giving the basis for the ranking.
Warranty: a heading and no terms
The site footer links to a Warranty page. Read on 22 September 2026, the page showed the heading “Warranty” with no duration, coverage or exclusions listed beneath it. The terms of service say products are provided “as is” and “as available”.
The refund policy is more specific. Its headline reads “7- DAYS RETURN POLICY FOR DOMESTIC ORDERS ONLY”, while the text says returns must be started “within 5 days” of receipt and that defects must be reported within 5 days. It says “Exchange of products is not possible for the products bought from our website”. The Neem 3C product page, the same day, spoke of “returns, exchanges, or replacements” within five days.
For a buyer, the working rule is five days from receipt. Nothing published on the site’s warranty page promises repair or replacement after that.
What Lavie costs in India
No foreign price was found to compare. The site has a UAE storefront, but it showed the same rupee prices and the same Indian importer line. The useful comparison is between the MRP the site prints and what it charges.
| Bag on lavieworld.com | MRP shown | Selling price |
|---|---|---|
| Shelqi Medium Black Handbag (Lavie Luxe) | ₹5,799 | ₹2,899, out of stock |
| Kaley Large Blue Laptop Handbag (Lavie Luxe) | ₹5,799 | ₹2,899, out of stock |
| Mono Vivien Large Latte Satchel (Lavie Paris) | ₹5,999 | ₹5,099, out of stock |
| Albany Medium Black Satchel (Lavie Signature) | ₹5,999 | ₹3,299 on one reading, ₹3,599 on another the same day |
| Neem 3C Satchel (Lavie) | Not shown | ₹2,500 |
lavieworld.com product pages, read 22 September 2026. Prices marked “Incl. of all taxes”.
Myntra carries Lavie under several names. On 22 September 2026 the brand filter showed “Lavie” with 5,625 products, “LAVIE Signature” 686, “LAVIE LUXE” 452, “LAVIE SPORT” 192 and “Lavie Paris” 147.
The big “Lavie” listing is mostly footwear. Of 100 listings checked, 37 were heels, 33 handbags and 16 flats, and on the 40 records read, Lavie-branded footwear was declared by manufacturers other than Bagzone on most. Because that listing is mostly footwear, we do not use its prices for Lavie bags.
Filtered to handbags, the Lavie listing held 432 products. On 100 checked, the median MRP was ₹4,599 and the median price paid ₹1,649.5, or 35.9% of MRP. Fifty-eight of the hundred were reduced, across 25 distinct MRPs. Lavie Paris ran higher: a median MRP of ₹4,999 and a median paid of ₹3,649, or 73.0%, with 97 of 100 listings handbags.
The price band here is Budget, under ₹2,000, computed from the ₹1,649.5 median paid on the handbag-only shelf, the brand’s core product. The brand’s own site charged ₹2,500 to ₹5,099 for the bags read, which is Mid-range, so the bags read on its own site cost more than the Myntra median.
Who is selling Lavie on Myntra
Every one of the 40 Lavie handbag records read named Flashtech Retail on the buy button. The Lavie Paris records named Bagzone Lifestyles itself on all 40.
Read the origin line
It is on the listing and the box. On Lavie handbags it said India on 28 of 40 and China on 12; on Lavie Paris, China on 36.
Check the category and the maker
Lavie-branded footwear on Myntra is declared by other manufacturers. The manufacturer line tells you who answers for the item you are buying.
Report defects inside five days
The refund policy counts five days from receipt, and the warranty page publishes no terms beyond that.
Stores and the court record
Bagzone runs its own shops as well as selling online. YourStory reported “over 50 Lavie outlets” in July 2023. In April 2026 the chief executive spoke of 150 exclusive stores across more than 50 cities. The site has a store locator. The brand pages read, including the homepage, terms, refund and warranty pages, carry no code, hologram or QR check for a bag.
One decided consumer matter involving the company is on the public record. On 9 May 2017 the National Consumer Commission dismissed at the outset a complainant’s revision petition against Bagzone Lifestyles, a Samsonite dealer and Samsonite South Asia. That left in place a state commission order that the respondents pay ₹2,550, the cost of three digital locks left for repair in 2013 and not returned. The complainant’s claim for further compensation failed. That order decided those three locks.
Who Lavie is actually for
Lavie suits a buyer who wants a mid-sized synthetic handbag from an Indian company that publishes its own filings and puts its name on the box. It suits less well a buyer who specifically wants a European-made bag: the Lavie Paris listings read declared China on 36 of 40.
Lavie’s range is built on handbags. Buyers after hard luggage will find the luggage makers in our audits of VIP Industries, Safari and Skybags, and outdoor packs in Wildcraft.
Common questions
Is Lavie an Indian brand?
Yes. It is owned and run by Bagzone Lifestyles Private Limited, a Mumbai company incorporated on 2 December 2008. The name comes from the French phrase “La Vie en Rose”, according to the brand.
Who owns Lavie?
Bagzone Lifestyles. Its 2023-24 annual return shows promoters holding 49.37% of the equity, with chief executive Ayush Tainwala holding 8,776,400 shares. First Bridge India Growth Fund invested US$9 million in October 2023; its stake was not disclosed.
Are Lavie Paris bags made in France?
On Myntra on 22 September 2026, 36 of 40 Lavie Paris listings declared China as the country of origin, three India and one “China, India”. Bagzone Lifestyles of Mumbai was the named manufacturer.
Are Lavie bags real leather?
No product page read says “genuine leather”. The pages that name a material say “synthetic leather”, and the Lavie Paris collection page says “vegan leather”, with no certifier named.
What warranty does Lavie give?
The Warranty page on lavieworld.com showed only a heading on 22 September 2026, with no terms. The refund policy asks for defects to be reported within five days of receipt.
Who sells Lavie on Myntra?
On 22 September 2026 the seller of record was Flashtech Retail on all 40 Lavie handbag listings read, and Bagzone Lifestyles itself on all 40 Lavie Paris listings read.
References
- lavieworld.com, Investors page, with the Form MGT-7 annual returns for 2023-24, 2022-23, 2021-22 and 2020-21 — turnover, net worth, shareholder counts, promoter and director holdings, preference shares, no holding or subsidiary company, penalties “Nil”, board appointment dates
- Zauba Corp, Bagzone Lifestyles Private Limited — CIN, incorporation date, status, registered office, paid-up capital, directors (register mirror)
- thecompanycheck, Bagzone Lifestyles Private Limited — 2024-25 turnover (register mirror)
- lavieworld.com, About us, read 22 September 2026 — founding story, Shobha Tainwala, “La Vie en Rose”, Europe and Asia
- Terms of service and refund policy, read 22 September 2026 — operator, address, “as is”, return and defect windows, exchange wording
- lavieworld.com, Warranty, read 22 September 2026 — heading only
- lavieworld.com, Lavie Paris, read 22 September 2026 — “vegan leather”, “Parisian craftsmanship”, Hugo Rita
- lavieworld.com, about Lavie handbags, read 22 September 2026 — “top 5” wording, testing wording
- Neem 3C Satchel, Albany satchel, Camelia satchel, Kaley tote, Shelqi and Mono Vivien, read 22 September 2026 — origin and maker lines, material lines, prices; Lavie Paris satchels collection
- YourStory, October 2023 and FashionNetwork, October 2023 — First Bridge investment, uses of funds, Ayush Tainwala as chief executive, Vishal Kumar Gupta
- YourStory (SMBStory), 2023 — Lavie Luxe launch, Nashik unit, outlet count, 2010 launch year
- India Retailing, 23 August 2024 — Lavie Signature
- Indian Retailer, 27 May 2025 — Akiki London
- Indian Retailer, 11 April 2026 and mediainfoline, 8 April 2026 — Lavie Paris launch, Hugo Rita, Paris Fashion Week, store count
- QuickCompany, trade mark 2200638 — class 25 mark, claimed use since 1 July 2010 (register mirror)
- Myntra brand listings and product records for Lavie, Lavie handbags and Lavie Paris, 22 September 2026 — facet counts, 100 listings checked, 40 declarations each, sellers of record
- Revision petition against Bagzone Lifestyles Pvt Ltd and others, NCDRC, 9 May 2017 — revision dismissed, ₹2,550 order left in place
What is good about Lavie is how much it puts on the record. It posts its own annual returns, which show turnover of ₹237.3 crore in 2023-24 and name its promoters’ 49.37%, and its product pages and declarations name Bagzone as maker or importer with the country beside it. On Myntra its handbags sold at a median ₹1,649.5, which is a budget price for a named, answerable maker.
Buyers should read the label rather than the line name. Lavie Paris was designed by a French designer, and 36 of the 40 listings read declared China as origin; the product pages describe the material as “synthetic leather”, with no certifier named for the “vegan leather” wording. The warranty page listed no terms on 22 September 2026, and the refund policy’s text gives five days to start a return.
An Indian bag company that files in the open — buy at the marked-down price, read the origin line, and report any defect inside five days.





