Skip to main content

Fashion Audit

Hamilton Brand Audit: Swatch Group Watches and India Prices

Hamilton is a Swatch Group watch brand founded in the USA. How it reaches India, what one reference costs in three markets, its warranty, and buying genuine.
Hamilton brand audit by FashionAudit: Hamilton logo and the headline “Swatch Group Watches and India Prices” over a field watch with a khaki canvas strap on an old film reel

Hamilton is a watch brand that says it was founded in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, in 1892, and today it belongs to the Swatch Group of Switzerland. Its watches carry a “Swiss Made” label, and the brand sells itself as “a unique combination of Swiss precision and American spirit”.

In India, Hamilton runs its own website in rupees, sends buyers to Tata CLiQ Luxury, and lists seven retail points and three service centres on its store locator. On 22 September 2026 its Indian site priced a Khaki Field Mechanical at ₹71,000. There is no Hamilton watch on Myntra.

The short answer

Hamilton is an American-founded brand owned by the Swatch Group and run from Biel, Switzerland. Its Indian site names only the Swiss company, and no document read names an Indian importer. The warranty is two years and “valid worldwide”. Buy from a retailer on Hamilton’s own locator, and keep the stamped card.

Snapshot

Founded
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 1892, by Hamilton’s own history page
Current owner
The Swatch Group Ltd, listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange; Swatch Group’s brand page calls Hamilton “a member of the Swatch Group”
Operating company
Hamilton International SA, Länggasse 85, Biel/Bienne, Switzerland, under the Indian site’s terms of use
Brand revenue
Not disclosed in Swatch Group’s results announcements
India, retail
Seven retail points on Hamilton’s locator, five of them Ethos-branded; Tata CLiQ Luxury linked from product pages
India, service
“The Swatch Group India C.S”, listed as Official Service Center in New Delhi, Mumbai and Bangalore
Myntra
No Hamilton watch, 22 September 2026
Price band in India
Premium on the core Khaki Field Mechanical, ₹71,000 to ₹77,000; the automatics read ran ₹1,03,000 to ₹1,29,000 on hamiltonwatch.com/en-in, 22 September 2026

Who owns Hamilton

The Swatch Group says so on its own brand page: “A member of the Swatch Group, the global leader in watch manufacturing and distribution, Hamilton combines its American spirit with true Swiss precision.” The contact given there is Hamilton International Ltd in Biel/Bienne. A United States appeals court, deciding a case in 2021, put it the same way: “Hamilton is now owned by Swatch Group, Ltd., a Swiss company.”

Hamilton’s own history page starts in Lancaster in 1892 and gives no date for the move to Switzerland or for joining the group. Forbes, writing on 21 October 2024, reported that the Lancaster plant closed in 1969 and that “the brand was acquired by the company that would eventually become the Swatch Group in 1974.” Those two dates are the magazine’s, not the company’s, and no Swatch Group document read carries them.

Hamilton, 1892 to 2024
  • 1892Founded in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, by Hamilton’s account
  • 1969Lancaster plant closes, as Forbes reports
  • 1974Bought by the future Swatch Group, as Forbes reports
  • 2021US appeals court records Swatch Group ownership
  • 2024First US store opens in Lancaster, as Forbes reports

Only the first date comes from Hamilton itself; the group’s documents read give none of the others.

Hamilton history page; Forbes, 21 October 2024; Hamilton International Ltd v Vortic LLC, 2nd Circuit, 14 September 2021.

The Swatch Group owns several of the Swiss names this site has already audited, including Omega, Longines and Tissot, and those pages set out the group’s structure. For Hamilton, the relevant point is money. Swatch Group’s own announcement of its 2025 figures gives group net sales of CHF 6,280 million, down 1.3% at constant exchange rates, and operating profit of CHF 135 million against CHF 304 million a year earlier. Net profit fell to CHF 25 million from CHF 219 million.

The Watches & Jewelry segment, excluding production, made an operating profit of CHF 549 million at a 9.5% margin. Those are the owner’s figures and the segment’s. Swatch Group’s results announcements do not give a Hamilton figure, so nobody outside the group can say what the brand sells or earns.

How Hamilton reaches India

Hamilton’s Indian website, hamiltonwatch.com/en-in, prices watches in rupees. Its footer reads “Copyright © 2026 Hamilton International Ltd.”, and its terms of use name “Hamilton International SA, LÄNGGASSE 85, 2504 BIEL/BIENNE, Switzerland”, under Swiss law with jurisdiction in Biel. The Indian pages read name no Indian company and no grievance officer.

Product pages carry a button reading “Buy on Tata CLiQ Luxury store”, and some carry “Add to Cart”. No Tata CLiQ document read describes the arrangement behind that button, so this page does not call it a distribution deal or anything else.

The store locator is the brand’s own list of where to buy. On 22 September 2026 it showed ten Indian entries in five cities. Seven are shops: five carrying the Ethos name, in Bangalore, Chennai, Gurgaon and two in New Delhi; MERIDIEM at Mumbai’s Terminal 2 domestic departures; and Watch Troves in Pitampura, New Delhi, labelled “Official Retailer”. The other three are service points.

Those three are listed as “The Swatch Group India C.S”, each an “Official Service Center”, in New Delhi, Mumbai and Bangalore. The New Delhi one sits at Rectangle 1, Plot D4, Saket District Centre. The companies register mirror gives the same Saket building as the registered office of Swatch Group (India) Private Limited, incorporated in Delhi on 25 April 2000 with paid-up capital of ₹528 crore, and of Swatch Group (India) Retail Private Limited, incorporated on 20 January 2015.

That shared address is the only published link read between Hamilton and an Indian company. No document read names Swatch Group (India), or anyone else, as Hamilton’s importer or distributor.

Hamilton on Myntra

A search for “hamilton” on Myntra on 22 September 2026 produced a brand filter reading HAMILTON with one product in it, a men’s belt. No Hamilton watch was listed.

That leaves no marketplace declaration to read for Hamilton: no seller of record, no importer and no country of origin. Hamilton’s own product pages name Tata CLiQ Luxury as the online route; no other marketplace is named on the pages read.

Warranty and service in India

Hamilton’s Indian warranty page offers a “2-year warranty period” that is “valid worldwide”. It covers “material and manufacturing defects existing at the time of delivery” and excludes “the life of the battery, normal wear or damages resulting from accidents”. A claim needs “the stamped and signed physical 2-year warranty card and/or the purchase receipt”. The page adds “a Service Warranty of the same duration for any service performed by our official partners.” The international page uses the same words, so an Indian buyer gets the same two years as anyone else.

The warranty booklet for markets outside the United States is stricter on paperwork. It runs for “twenty-four (24) months from the date of purchase” and “only comes into force if the warranty certificate is dated, fully and correctly completed and stamped by an official HAMILTON dealer”. It excludes work by “non-authorized persons”. Its list of service centres covers European Union countries only and sends everyone else to Hamilton International in Switzerland; India is not on it.

Hamilton’s Indian locator does list the three Swatch Group service centres, and their listed services are “Customer Service”, “Battery Replacement” and “Strap Replacement”. No page read publishes Indian service prices or intervals. And no page read says, in terms, that a watch bought abroad will be serviced under warranty in India.

Worth knowing

The warranty is “valid worldwide”, but no Hamilton page says a watch bought abroad is serviced under it in India. Carry the stamped card and the receipt, and ask the service centre before you buy overseas.

What the movements claim

Hamilton names its own calibres on its product pages. The Khaki Field Mechanical 38mm, reference H69439931, runs the H-50, a hand-wound movement with an 80-hour power reserve; the Indian page calls it “an extended power reserve of up to 80 hours”. The case is 38 mm stainless steel with sapphire crystal, water-resistant to 5 bar, or 50 m.

The Khaki Field Murph Auto 42mm, H70605731, and the Jazzmaster Viewmatic Auto 40mm, H32515145, both run the H-10 automatic with an 80-hour reserve. The Murph is rated to 10 bar (100 m) and the Jazzmaster to 5 bar (50 m). The Murph page promises a “Nivachron balance spring for magnetic resistance”, and gives no gauss figure or test standard behind it.

None of the three pages claims chronometer certification from COSC or METAS. Hamilton’s FAQ says: “Together with ETA, Hamilton develops personalized quartz, automatic and mechanical movements.” The product pages do not say which base movement sits under the H-10 or the H-50, and this page does not guess. The United States site promises a “Swiss Made label” on all watches and does not state the Swiss rule that label rests on.

What Hamilton costs in India

Hamilton uses the same reference numbers on its American, Swiss and Indian sites, so the table below is a code match on the brand’s own pages, read on 22 September 2026. The tax wording differs. The American and Swiss pages showed no tax wording at all. The Indian pages print “Recommended retail price (incl. VAT)” on two of the three; India’s tax is GST, and the pages read do not use the words MRP or “inclusive of all taxes”. No exchange rate is applied and no gap is computed.

WatchReferenceUSA, hamiltonwatch.com/en-us (no tax wording)Switzerland, hamiltonwatch.com/de-ch (no tax wording)India, hamiltonwatch.com/en-in
Khaki Field Mechanical 38mm (H-50)H69439931$675.00CHF 550.00₹71,000.00, “Recommended retail price (incl. VAT)”
Khaki Field Murph Auto 42mm (H-10)H70605731$1,095.00CHF 950.00₹1,23,000.00, “recommended retail price”
Jazzmaster Viewmatic Auto 40mm (H-10)H32515145$995.00CHF 830.00₹1,08,000.00, “Recommended retail price (incl. VAT)”

Hamilton product pages in the USA, Switzerland and India, read 22 September 2026. Code match on Hamilton’s own reference numbers.

The Indian homepage showed four more references the same day, not matched abroad: the Khaki Field Mechanical 36mm at ₹77,000, the Khaki Navy Scuba Auto 40mm at ₹1,03,000, the Khaki Field Murph 38mm automatic at ₹1,22,000 and the Jazzmaster Open Heart Auto 40mm at ₹1,29,000.

On these figures the hand-wound Khaki Field Mechanical, the brand’s core field watch, is a Premium purchase in India, under the ₹1,00,000 line this site uses for Luxury watches. Every automatic read sits above that line. The band rests on the brand’s own dated rupee prices, since there is no Myntra shelf to read.

On tax, this page prints no GST rate for watches, because the rate schedule was not read from an official source. Budget 2026-27 cut basic customs duty on goods imported for personal use to 10% from 1 April 2026. A watch carried home in a traveller’s baggage falls under the Baggage Rules 2026 instead, which set the duty-free allowance and rate, so check the current figures with customs before buying abroad.

How to check a Hamilton is genuine

Hamilton’s advice is short. Its FAQ says: “Ensure your watch is authentic by purchasing from us online at hamiltonwatch.com, or from one of our official retail partners.” It publishes no serial-number lookup, QR code or chip, and no list of physical tells, so this page offers none either.

Hamilton’s only published proof of a genuine watch is where you bought it.

In India that means the ten entries on the store locator, or the Tata CLiQ Luxury button on the brand’s own product page. The warranty booklet adds a practical edge: the card must be dated, completed and stamped by an official dealer before the warranty starts.

Check 01

Match the shop to the locator

Look the retailer up on hamiltonwatch.com/en-in before paying. A shop not on that list is outside the brand’s published network.

Check 02

Get the card stamped

The booklet says the warranty only comes into force once an official dealer dates, completes and stamps the certificate. Check it at the counter.

Check 03

Read the box

Ask for the Legal Metrology panel, the block the law requires on the pack: MRP, country of origin and importer. It names who answers for the watch in India.

Check 04

Match the reference

Check the reference number against Hamilton’s own Indian page, which shows the price and specification for that exact watch.

The record

India’s public case-law database showed no decided case about the HAMILTON mark on searches for “Hamilton International” and for the mark alongside Swatch on 22 September 2026. That is a finding on those search terms only, not a statement that no Hamilton matter exists.

Outside India there is one decided case of note. On 14 September 2021 the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, in Hamilton International Ltd v Vortic LLC, affirmed judgment for Vortic. Vortic sold restored and modified vintage Hamilton pocket-watch movements in new cases, and the court found no likelihood of confusion. The ruling concerned those restored vintage movements, not Hamilton’s own current watches.

Who Hamilton is actually for

Hamilton is for a buyer who wants a Swiss-made mechanical watch from a group-owned brand and is happy to pay ₹71,000 for the hand-wound Khaki Field, or past ₹1,00,000 for an automatic. The 80-hour reserve is printed on all three product pages read, and the warranty terms are the same in India as elsewhere.

That buyer should buy from a shop on the locator, get the card stamped on the day, and treat the Swatch Group service centres as the place to take it later. A buyer comparing prices abroad has the brand’s own reference numbers to do it with, but no page promising warranty service in India for a watch bought there.

Common questions

Is Hamilton an American or a Swiss brand?

Both, in different senses. Hamilton says it was founded in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, in 1892. Today it is owned by the Swatch Group, run by Hamilton International SA in Biel, Switzerland, and its watches carry a “Swiss Made” label.

Who owns Hamilton?

The Swatch Group Ltd, listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange. Swatch Group’s own brand page calls Hamilton “a member of the Swatch Group”. Forbes dates the purchase to 1974; no group document read gives a date.

Where can I buy a genuine Hamilton in India?

Hamilton’s Indian store locator listed seven retail points on 22 September 2026, five of them Ethos-branded, plus MERIDIEM at Mumbai airport and Watch Troves in New Delhi. Its product pages also link to Tata CLiQ Luxury.

Is Hamilton’s warranty valid in India?

The warranty is two years and Hamilton calls it “valid worldwide”. Its locator lists three Swatch Group service centres in India. No page read says in terms that a watch bought abroad is serviced under warranty here.

Does Hamilton use ETA movements?

Hamilton’s FAQ says: “Together with ETA, Hamilton develops personalized quartz, automatic and mechanical movements.” Its product pages name the H-10 and H-50 calibres and do not name the base movement under them.

References

  1. Swatch Group, Hamilton brand page — “a member of the Swatch Group”; Hamilton International Ltd, Biel/Bienne
  2. Hamilton International Ltd v Vortic LLC, No. 20-3369, 2nd Circuit, 14 September 2021 — Swatch Group ownership; judgment for Vortic affirmed; no likelihood of confusion
  3. hamiltonwatch.com/en-in, homepage and footer, read 22 September 2026 — copyright line; four homepage prices
  4. hamiltonwatch.com/en-in, terms of use, read 22 September 2026 — Hamilton International SA, Biel, Swiss law
  5. Hamilton, history page — Lancaster, 1892; brand description
  6. Forbes, 21 October 2024 — 1969 plant closure, 1974 purchase, first US store in Lancaster (press report)
  7. Swatch Group, Key Figures 2025 — group net sales, operating and net profit, Watches & Jewelry operating profit and margin (company announcement)
  8. Zauba Corp, Swatch Group (India) Private Limited — incorporation date, paid-up capital, Saket registered office (register mirror)
  9. Zauba Corp, Swatch Group (India) Retail Private Limited — incorporation date, Saket registered office (register mirror)
  10. Hamilton store locator, India, read 22 September 2026 — ten entries in five cities
  11. Hamilton locator, The Swatch Group India C.S, New Delhi and Mumbai — Official Service Center; Saket address; services listed
  12. Hamilton locator, Watch Troves, New Delhi — “Official Retailer”, Pitampura
  13. Myntra search for “hamilton”, 22 September 2026 — one product under the HAMILTON filter, a men’s belt
  14. Hamilton warranty, India and international, read 22 September 2026 — two years, “valid worldwide”, coverage, exclusions, card and receipt
  15. Hamilton warranty booklet (except USA) — 24 months; stamped certificate; EU service list; non-authorised work excluded
  16. hamiltonwatch.com/en-in, H69439931, en-us and de-ch, read 22 September 2026 — prices, tax wording, H-50, 80 hours, 5 bar, “Swiss Made label”
  17. hamiltonwatch.com/en-in, H70605731, en-us and de-ch, read 22 September 2026 — prices, H-10, 80 hours, 10 bar, Nivachron balance spring
  18. hamiltonwatch.com/en-in, H32515145, en-us and de-ch, read 22 September 2026 — prices, tax wording, H-10, 80 hours, 5 bar
  19. Hamilton FAQ — the ETA line; authenticity advice
  20. Union Budget 2026-27, changes in customs duty structure — basic customs duty on goods imported for personal use cut to 10% from 1 April 2026
  21. Indian Kanoon, “Hamilton International” watch and HAMILTON watches trademark Swatch — the searches
The FA take

Hamilton is plain about what it is: an American-founded name owned by the Swatch Group, run from Biel, with Swiss-made watches, its own calibres and an 80-hour reserve printed on the three product pages read. Its Indian site shows dated rupee prices by reference number, and the hand-wound Khaki Field Mechanical at ₹71,000 is the entry point among the watches read.

The Indian paperwork is lighter. The Indian site names the Swiss operating company rather than an Indian importer, and its “valid worldwide” warranty page does not say in terms whether a watch bought abroad is serviced under warranty here. Swatch Group does not publish Hamilton’s sales, in India or elsewhere.

Fair value at ₹71,000 for a hand-wound Swiss field watch with an 80-hour reserve; buy it from a shop on the locator, and get the card stamped before you leave.

Table of Contents

Get the weekly audit

One tested product, one honest verdict, every Friday.

More reads

Related reads