Skip to main content

Fashion Audit

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brand Audit: The Patent Is Real

The Golden Ratio patent checks out on the register and runs to 2033. The brow powder that built the brand costs ₹3,375 a gram in India, and Anastasia Soare still holds the majority.
Anastasia Beverly Hills brand audit by FashionAudit: Anastasia Beverly Hills logo over a brow pencil, pomade and angled brush

Beauty brands say “patented” constantly and it almost never survives a look at the register. Anastasia Beverly Hills is the exception. The Golden Ratio brow shaping method is US patent 8,997,757 B1, granted on 7 April 2015 in Anastasia Soare’s own name, live until 2033.

The other number worth knowing is less flattering. The 0.8 gram brow powder that made the brand costs ₹2,700 in India, which is ₹3,375 a gram — near the top of anything we have priced on any counter.

The short answer

Anastasia Beverly Hills is one of the few makeup brands whose “patented” claim checks out: US 8,997,757 B1, granted 7 April 2015, live to 2033. Its Indian prices run 5% to 20% above US list at ₹95.3800 to the dollar, and the Brow Powder Duo works out at ₹3,375 a gram. Anastasia Soare put $225 million of her own equity into the company in December 2025 and remains its majority owner and chief executive.

Snapshot

Founded
1997, Beverly Hills, by Anastasia Soare, a Romanian emigrant
Owner
Anastasia Soare, majority owner and CEO per the company’s release of 24 December 2025
Outside holder
TPG Capital, a strategic minority investor announced 20 June 2018 on undisclosed terms
The patent
US 8,997,757 B1, “Golden ratio eyebrow shaping method”, granted 7 April 2015, expiring 2033
Indian importer of record
House of Beauty Pvt Ltd, named on both Sephora India listings read
Country of origin declared
United States, on both listings read
Indian price band
₹2,000 to ₹5,000, checked 2 September 2026
India against US list
+5% to +20% at MRP; at or slightly below US level once GST is stripped out

How it started

Anastasia Soare opened a brow studio in Beverly Hills in 1997 and launched an eyebrow makeup line about three years later. By 2018 the brand claimed 17 million Instagram followers and distribution in more than 25 countries.

In June 2018 TPG Capital announced a strategic minority investment. TPG disclosed no terms at all; trade coverage that month reported a valuation of about $3 billion on $340 million of net sales, a figure neither party has ever confirmed. Soare stayed on as founder and chief executive, with her daughter Claudia in management.

On 24 December 2025 the company announced it had closed a recapitalisation with the unanimous support of its lenders and TPG, one that “significantly reduces the company’s debt”. Two things in that release are stated plainly and are worth holding on to: Soare made a $225 million equity investment in the business, and she “remains the majority owner and CEO of the company”.

Who controls it, in three steps
  1. Founder-owned1997 to 2018 — one brow studio, then a brow category
  2. TPG Capital takes a strategic minority stakeAnnounced 20 June 2018 — terms not disclosed by either party, then or since
  3. Recapitalisation closes24 December 2025 — Soare puts in $225 million and remains majority owner and CEO

What no source published is any percentage — not TPG’s before the recapitalisation, not TPG’s after, not Soare’s. The company’s December release states one number and one status, and this audit prints those and nothing more. So the honest description is a founder-controlled company with a private-equity minority holder, which is not the same thing as a brand owned by a fund.

On scale there is very little. The company is private and publishes no accounts. The only revenue figure anywhere is that eight-year-old trade report of $340 million for 2018, never confirmed by anyone. The $225 million is a capital injection into the business, not revenue, not money raised from outsiders and not a valuation.

What they actually make

Brows first — pencils, powders, pens, the Brow Freeze wax, brow palettes — then eyeshadow palettes, lip, complexion and blush. The Impeccable foundation runs to 44 shades, the widest in the range; the Soft Glam palette holds 14.

The Golden Ratio method behind the brow business is genuinely patented. US 8,997,757 B1 was filed on 15 October 2013 and granted on 7 April 2015, names Anastasia Soare as inventor, is assigned to Anastasia Ipco LLC and is anticipated to expire on 15 October 2033. The method uses three guide lines drawn from facial landmarks at a ratio of about 1.618. Related filings sit in the same family.

Keep the two halves of that separate, though. A patent is a grant of exclusivity over a described method. No examiner tested whether the resulting brow looks better, and no independent efficacy study is published anywhere on the brand’s pages.

A patent proves the method is owned. It proves nothing about whether the brow looks better.

What is striking about the product pages is how little else they assert. Across four of them — the Brow Powder Duo, Brow Freeze, the Soft Glam palette and Lip Velvet — there is no wear-time figure, no consumer panel, no clinical study, no laboratory and no percentage of any kind. The Brow Powder Duo promises a “highly-pigmented, finely-milled formula” with “buildable intensity”. Brow Freeze promises “extreme hold” and “long-lasting” wear, with no hours attached. Lip Velvet promises “long-lasting, comfortable wear”, again with no number.

Read generously, that is restraint. There is nothing here for a regulator to test, because the brand has not asserted a testable number — no “16 hours”, no “100% agreed” from a panel of twenty. Read plainly, it is also thin: a buyer paying ₹2,700 for a brow powder gets adjectives. The Indian listing adds “makeup artist-approved”, without saying which artists. No dermatological, clinical or SPF claim appears on any page read.

Neither Indian listing read names a manufacturer, and neither does the brand’s own site. The declaration carries an importer, a marketer and a country of origin and stops — the opposite of a brand like Campus, which owns the factories its products come out of.

What Anastasia Beverly Hills costs in India

Indian MRPs come from Sephora India, US list prices from the brand’s own site, both read on 2 September 2026 and converted at ₹95.3800 to the dollar — the Federal Reserve H.10 rate for 28 August 2026.

US list, Lip Velvet 3.5 g
₹2,671 ($28)
Indian MRP
₹3,200
Gap
+19.8%
Checked on
2 September 2026
ProductIndia MRPOver US list
Lip Velvet, 3.5 g₹3,200+19.8%
Brow Powder Duo, 0.8 g₹2,700+8.9%
Soft Glam Eyeshadow Palette₹4,800+4.8%
Matte & Satin Lipstick₹2,600+4.8%
Lip Liner₹2,200+4.8%

India from Sephora India, US list from anastasiabeverlyhills.com, both 2 September 2026, at ₹95.3800 per US dollar.

Most of that premium is tax. Indian MRPs include 18% GST and American shelf prices exclude sales tax; strip the GST out and the three heroes land between 11% below US list and 1.5% above it. Which is to say the brand prices India at roughly American level and the government adds the rest.

The number that should stay with you is the per-gram one. The Brow Powder Duo holds 0.8 grams for ₹2,700 — ₹3,375 a gram. That is more per gram than anything on the neighbouring prestige counters we have priced, and it is a brow powder. The blurring bronzer, by contrast, is ₹500 a gram, and the Lip Velvet ₹914.

Worth knowing

Neither Indian listing read declares a weight — both say only “1 N”, a count of units. The 0.8 gram comes from the brand’s American page, so do that division off the box before you compare prices.

Discounting matters here more than on most counters. Two of the twelve Sephora India listings read were marked down 30% on 2 September 2026 — a foundation at ₹3,150 from ₹4,500, and a liquid eyeliner at ₹2,100 from ₹3,000. That is the deepest markdown we have recorded on an imported prestige listing, which means MRP is a poor guide to what you will actually pay. The same gap between printed price and till price runs through our Metro Shoes audit.

Who Anastasia Beverly Hills is actually for

Brows, and almost only brows. If you want a brow product from the company that built the category, and you can wait for a markdown, this is a defensible ₹2,700. The eyeshadow palettes hold up too, and at ₹4,800 for 14 shades the Soft Glam is one of the smaller Indian premiums in prestige makeup.

It is a weak choice for anyone shopping on evidence. There is no wear-time figure to hold the brand to, no panel data, no test result. And at ₹3,375 a gram for the brow powder, you are paying an unusual amount for a very small quantity of pressed pigment.

How it reaches India

The route in is unusual for this category, because it runs through a proper Indian distributor rather than the retailer’s own import arm. Both Sephora India listings read name House of Beauty Pvt Ltd as importer, at a logistics address in Bamnoli, Delhi. A company of that exact name is registered in Jaipur with ₹64 crore of paid-up capital — a substantial business rather than a paper one, though no document read links the registration to the address on the pack.

Arriving in India
  • 2020Launches in India online through Boddess
  • Jul 2021Adds Nykaa, alongside Boddess and selected Sephora stores; prices then quoted at ₹1,200 to ₹6,000
  • Aug 2021First Indian store and brow bar opens at DLF Mall of India, Noida, running the Golden Ratio method as a 20-minute service
  • Oct 2022Second boutique opens at Phoenix Palladium, Mumbai

Those are the dated openings. Which are still trading was not established for this audit.

One line on the listings is worth reading correctly. “Marketed By Reliance Luxe Beauty Limited” appears on both pages, and that is Sephora India’s own operating company rather than any arm of the brand. Names on a box rarely mean what they look like, as our Bata audit sets out at length. The same block also declares the package contents of a brow powder as “1 -N Eyebrows”, which tells you how much weight to put on the retailer’s data entry.

Reputation and controversies

The Indian file is empty, and the reason is worth stating. ASCI’s complaint outcomes database, searched on 2 September 2026 for “Anastasia” across its full date range, holds no entry for the brand. Indian Kanoon, searched the same day for “Anastasia Beverly Hills” and for “Anastasia Soare”, holds no judgment involving either. Imported prestige brands barely advertise in the mass media the advertising regulator polices, so an empty file is a fact about distribution rather than a compliment. It helps, too, that a brand publishing no hours and no percentages has given a regulator very little to adjudicate.

On animal testing the badge holds. PETA’s Beauty Without Bunnies directory lists Anastasia Beverly Hills as cruelty-free, in PETA’s own words covering ingredients, finished products, suppliers and third parties, and Brow Freeze is described on the brand’s own page as vegan and cruelty-free. Testing cosmetics on animals has been illegal in India since 21 May 2014, so cruelty-free is the legal floor for anything sold here — but a directory entry is still better than a badge nobody verifies, and several brands on the same Sephora India shelf do not have one.

On counterfeits, nothing decided names this brand — no seizure, judgment or order was found. That is a genuine contrast with a shelf-mate like Huda Beauty, which has won five Indian counterfeit judgments covering 389,274 pieces. Two brands in the same shop and only one with a case file. The asymmetry is what the record holds. It is not proof that fakes do not exist.

Buying Anastasia Beverly Hills in India

Check 01

Divide by the weight

₹2,700 for 0.8 grams is ₹3,375 a gram. The pack does not print the weight in India, so take it from the brand’s own product page before deciding whether the powder or a pencil is better value.

Check 02

Wait for the markdown

Two of the twelve listings read on 2 September 2026 were 30% off. On this brand a low price is not automatically a warning, which is unusual — the seller matters more than the sticker.

Check 03

Read the importer line

Genuine Indian stock names House of Beauty Pvt Ltd as importer and the United States as country of origin. That is the retailer’s declaration, so use it as a match to check, not as proof on its own.

Check 04

Take “patented” literally, and only literally

The Golden Ratio patent is real and live to 2033. It covers a method of measuring and shaping, not a promise about the result. Nothing on the brand’s pages tests whether the method works better than another.

Check 05

Ask what a claim is measured in

“Extreme hold”, “long-lasting” and “makeup artist-approved” carry no hours, no panel and no named artist. If a claim has no unit attached, treat it as description rather than performance.

Common questions

Is the Golden Ratio really patented?

Yes. US patent 8,997,757 B1, “Golden ratio eyebrow shaping method”, was filed on 15 October 2013 and granted on 7 April 2015 with Anastasia Soare named as inventor. It is live and anticipated to expire in 2033. A patent covers the method, though; it is not evidence that the method produces a better result.

Who owns Anastasia Beverly Hills?

Anastasia Soare. TPG Capital has held a minority stake since June 2018 on terms neither party has disclosed, and the company’s own release of 24 December 2025 says Soare “remains the majority owner and CEO” after putting $225 million of her own equity in. No percentage for anyone has ever been published.

Is it more expensive in India?

Yes, by 5% to 20% at MRP on five products checked on 2 September 2026, at ₹95.3800 to the dollar. Because Indian MRPs include 18% GST and US shelf prices exclude sales tax, the pre-tax difference is close to nil — the visible premium is largely the tax.

Is Anastasia Beverly Hills a Romanian brand?

No. The founder emigrated from Romania, but the company was founded in Beverly Hills in 1997 and both Indian listings read declare the country of origin as the United States.

Is it cruelty-free?

PETA’s Beauty Without Bunnies directory lists Anastasia Beverly Hills as cruelty-free, covering ingredients, finished products and suppliers. The brand also carries the claim at product level. Note that animal testing of cosmetics has been illegal in India since 21 May 2014.

Where can I buy it in India?

Sephora India listed 117 items on 2 September 2026, imported by House of Beauty Pvt Ltd. The brand also launched on Boddess in 2020, added Nykaa in 2021 and Myntra by 2022, and opened boutiques in Noida and Mumbai. Which of those are still running was not established for this audit.

How we research and verify brand audits: our methodology.

References

  1. US Patent 8,997,757 B1, “Golden ratio eyebrow shaping method” — inventor Anastasia Soare, filed 15 October 2013, granted 7 April 2015, assigned to Anastasia Ipco LLC, anticipated expiry 15 October 2033
  2. Anastasia Beverly Hills, recapitalisation release, 24 December 2025 — the closed transaction, the $225 million equity investment, and “remains the majority owner and CEO of the company”
  3. TPG Capital, 20 June 2018 — the strategic minority investment, terms not disclosed, and the 1997 founding by Anastasia Soare
  4. BeautyMatter, 25 June 2018 — the reported valuation of about $3 billion on $340 million of net sales, never confirmed by either party
  5. Anastasia Beverly Hills, About Us, accessed 2 September 2026 — the 1997 Beverly Hills studio, the brow makeup line, and the Golden Ratio wording
  6. Anastasia Beverly Hills, Brow Powder Duo, accessed 2 September 2026 — $26, 0.8 g, 11 shades, and the claims with no published substantiation
  7. Anastasia Beverly Hills, Lip Velvet, accessed 2 September 2026 — $28, 3.5 g, 16 shades, “long-lasting, comfortable wear” with no hours attached
  8. Anastasia Beverly Hills, Best Sellers, accessed 2 September 2026 — every US list price used in this audit
  9. Sephora India, Brow Powder Duo listing, 2 September 2026 — MRP ₹2,700, importer House of Beauty Pvt Ltd, country of origin United States, net quantity given only as “1 N”
  10. Sephora India brand page, 2 September 2026 — 117 items, the Indian MRPs and the two 30% markdowns
  11. House of Beauty Private Limited on the company register — CIN U52312RJ2019PTC064217, incorporated 6 March 2019, ₹64 crore paid-up capital
  12. FashionNetwork India, 16 July 2021 — the 2020 Boddess launch and the addition of Nykaa
  13. Indian Retailer, 27 August 2021 — the first Indian store and brow bar at DLF Mall of India, Noida
  14. Indian Retailer, 10 October 2022 — the second boutique at Phoenix Palladium, Mumbai
  15. PETA Beauty Without Bunnies, Anastasia Beverly Hills, accessed 2 September 2026 — the cruelty-free listing
  16. Federal Reserve H.10 release, 31 August 2026 — ₹95.3800 to the US dollar for 28 August 2026
The FA take

Two things here are better than the category average. The “patented” claim is literally true and survives a look at the register, which almost no beauty patent claim does. And the founder still runs and controls the business, having put $225 million of her own money into it in December 2025 — an unusually literal answer to the question of what the name on the box actually owns.

The product pages are the weak half. Four of them, and between them no wear-time figure, no panel size, no study and no percentage. “Extreme hold” and “makeup artist-approved” are not measurements. Meanwhile the brow powder that built the brand costs ₹3,375 a gram in India, the pack does not tell you the weight, and Sephora India was cutting 30% off other listings the same day.

Buy the brows, buy them on discount, and read “patented” as a fact about the register rather than a promise about your face.

Table of Contents

Get the weekly audit

One tested product, one honest verdict, every Friday.

More reads

Related reads

📲 Add Fashion Audit to Home Screen