Skip to main content

Fashion Audit

Balenciaga Brand Audit: No Indian Price, No India on the Store Locator, and 527 Myntra Listings

Who owns Balenciaga and why Kering has never published a revenue line for it, why the house has no Indian locale, price or store on its own locator, who sells and imports the 527 Myntra listings, what the shelf costs here, where the bags are made, and the French jury decision of 6 February 2023.

Balenciaga is a French couture house owned by Kering, and its numbers have never been published on their own. Kering gives Gucci a revenue line twice a year; for Balenciaga it has never given a figure in any period, in or out of the segment of eight brands it used to sit in.

India doubles the pattern. The house’s own site has no Indian locale, shows no price at all on the world version an Indian reader lands on, and lists no Indian store — while one marketplace it does not run carried 527 Balenciaga listings on 24 September 2026.

The short answer

Balenciaga belongs to Kering, which has never published a revenue line for it: up to 2025 it sat inside an eight-brand segment that took €2,900 million and lost €112 million at the operating level, and from 2026 Kering breaks out only Gucci. In India the house sells nothing itself — /en-in redirects to a world version with no price and no add-to-bag, and India is not among the 38 regions in its store locator. Myntra’s shelf held 527 Balenciaga listings on 24 September 2026, sold by one small Delhi company and imported by another, at a handbag median MRP of ₹3,27,250.

Snapshot

Owner
Kering SA, listed on Euronext Paris, ticker KER
How Kering got it
2001, on the group’s own history line: “Gucci Group acquires Italian leather goods brand Bottega Veneta and Balenciaga, and signs partnership agreements with Alexander McQueen and Stella McCartney”
Balenciaga’s revenue
Never published, in any period
The segment it sat in
“Other Houses”, eight Houses together: 2025 revenue €2,900 million, down 10% as reported, recurring operating income −€112 million, against €3,221 million and −€9 million in 2024
Group, 2025
Kering revenue €14,675 million, recurring operating income €1,631 million, margin 11.1%; first half of 2026, €7,220 million and €921 million, margin 12.8%
Creative direction
Demna from 2015 until 2025; Pierpaolo Piccioli from 10 July 2025. Chief executive of the House: Gianfranco Gianangeli, from 2 January 2025
India route
No Indian locale on balenciaga.com; /en-in redirects to /en-en; India is not one of the 38 regions and countries in the store locator, read 24 September 2026
Price basis in India
Balenciaga publishes no price on the world version at all. Median MRP across 60 Myntra handbag listings read on 24 September 2026: ₹3,27,250
Authenticity
No verification tool for a single bag recorded either way; the consortium’s member page, as read on 24 September 2025, names no Kering house on a page that says “+50 Members” without publishing a full roster

What Kering publishes about Balenciaga

Kering SA owns the House and reports in euros twice a year: €14,675 million of revenue in 2025 at a recurring operating income of €1,631 million, an 11.1% margin, then €7,220 million and €921 million in the first half of 2026. Those are group figures, and for Balenciaga they are as close as a reader gets.

Up to and including 2025 the House was reported inside a segment called “Other Houses”, with Alexander McQueen, Brioni, Boucheron, Pomellato, Dodo, Qeelin and Ginori 1735. That segment took €2,900 million in 2025, 10% down as reported, and lost €112 million at the recurring operating line, against a €9 million loss in 2024. Eight Houses, one number, no split.

How the disclosure narrowed
  1. Inside “Other Houses”To 2025: eight Houses, €2,900m revenue, −€112m
  2. The segment goesQ1 2026 release, 14 April 2026: no Other Houses line
  3. Gucci alone is namedFour segments; no figure for any other House

From the first quarter of 2026 Kering reports four segments — Fashion & Leather Goods, Jewelry, Eyewear, and Corporate and other — and inside Fashion & Leather Goods only Gucci is given revenue. Saint Laurent, Bottega Veneta and Balenciaga get sentences instead. The owner used to publish the first two brands’ revenue and has stopped; for Balenciaga there was never anything to stop, so any figure a reader meets for its revenue is somebody’s estimate rather than a company disclosure.

What Kering does say comes in sentences. Its 2025 results release of 10 February 2026 records that “Retail performance at Balenciaga turned positive, driven by leather goods”, and that “soft performance at Balenciaga and losses at Alexander McQueen weighed on profitability”. On 14 April 2026 the House was “building on the success of the City and Rodeo lines”; on 28 July 2026 it “faced a more challenging quarter as the House continued to work through its creative transition”.

That transition has dates. Demna was Balenciaga’s artistic director from 2015, and Kering announced on 13 March 2025 that he was moving to Gucci from early July. Pierpaolo Piccioli took over creative direction from 10 July 2025 — and two Kering documents describe the appointment differently. The release of 20 May 2025 calls the post Creative Director; the group’s 2025 results release says “On May 19, Pierpaolo Piccioli was appointed Artistic Director of Balenciaga, effective July 10, 2025.” The effective date agrees, the title and the announcement date do not.

Gianfranco Gianangeli became chief executive of the House on 2 January 2025, succeeding Cédric Charbit; Luca de Meo was announced as Kering’s chief executive on 16 June 2025. One further document names this House: a joint Kering and L’Oréal release of 19 October 2025 grants L’Oréal “50-year exclusive licenses for the creation, development, and distribution of fragrance and beauty products for Bottega Veneta and Balenciaga”, inside an agreement valued at €4 billion payable in cash at a closing that release expected in the first half of 2026. No closing announcement has been read here, so the licence is printed as agreed rather than in force.

How Balenciaga reaches India

Not through Balenciaga. Asking balenciaga.com for /en-in on 24 September 2026 lands on /en-en: the site’s own “INTERNATIONAL VERSION”, with no country set. A product page there carries no price, no add-to-bag and no find-in-store — only client services and an invitation to book an appointment. The store locator offers 38 regions and countries, and India is not one of them. So there is no Indian checkout and no rupee price set by the house, while Indian bag brands such as VIP Industries and Safari print an Indian company, an MRP and a grievance officer on their own pages.

On the ground the evidence is thin and points two ways. Jio World Plaza in Mumbai carries a Balenciaga shop page on its own site, so a counter there is a real possibility, but no floor, opening date or hours is published that this audit can stand behind. Against that, DLF Emporio’s brand directory in New Delhi, read on 23 September 2026, runs to about a hundred names including Bottega Veneta, Gucci, Dior and Louis Vuitton, and Balenciaga is not among them; The Chanakya’s list carries Chanel, Hermès, Saint Laurent and Brioni, and not Balenciaga. Those directories answer for Kering’s other Houses. No store count appears here, because none is published.

Kering does have an Indian company, and the register carries it: Luxury Goods Retail Private Limited, CIN U51311MH2006PTC162428, incorporated 23 May 2006, status “Active”, ₹2.05 crore of paid-up capital, filed under wholesale of textiles, clothing and footwear, at One BKC in Mumbai. Read the CIN itself: the U marks it unlisted, the PTC an ordinary private company rather than a foreign company’s subsidiary. Kering’s registration document has placed it at 51%, with nobody named as holding the other 49% — a percentage carried here from an earlier reading of that filing, since register mirrors publish no shareholding.

Two limits on that company matter more than its figures: nothing read links it to Balenciaga, since the register names no brands and no Kering document read names the company, and no Kering or Balenciaga document names an Indian licensee, franchisee or distributor for this House.

Who sells Balenciaga on the Indian shelf

Myntra’s Balenciaga facet held 527 products on 24 September 2026, 60 of them handbags — the largest luxury shelf read that day, on a platform the house does not run. Thirty of those records carry the declarations an Indian listing shows, and they are uniform.

Declaration line What 30 Balenciaga handbag records said, 24 September 2026
Seller of record Darveys Global Store Private Limited, 30 of 30
Importer NR Wardrobe Fuss Private Limited, Okhla Industrial Area Phase 2, Delhi, 30 of 30
Country of origin Italy 29, Portugal 1

Both are on the register. Darveys Global Store Private Limited carries CIN U52609DL2018PTC331151, NR Wardrobe Fuss Private Limited CIN U51101DL2013PTC259910, each with ₹1,00,000 of paid-up capital, and the register lists the same two directors for both. That is the whole of it: no director is named here, no court matter is attached to either name, and no document read names an authorised arrangement between them and Balenciaga. Nothing above is a finding about the goods.

The house sets no price a buyer in India can be shown, and 527 listings set one for it.

What Balenciaga costs in India

There is no answer from Balenciaga, and that is unusual even among houses with no Indian site. Its own shop shows no figure for anything: the medium City bag, style 8657602ACFH1000, has a page, a description and a “Made in Italy” line, and no price. The only Indian selling prices are other people’s.

What was read, 24 September 2026 Price as printed Tax basis stated
balenciaga.com international version, City medium, style 8657602ACFH1000 No price shown; no add-to-bag and no find-in-store No statement exists
Myntra handbag shelf, median of 60 listings MRP ₹3,27,250; median paid ₹3,06,145, 93.6% of MRP Not stated in the records read
Myntra whole shelf, median of 100 listings MRP ₹1,97,500; median paid ₹1,49,240, 75.6% of MRP, 72 of the 100 reduced Not stated in the records read
Hourglass Small, single listing MRP ₹2,57,000, sold at ₹2,57,000 Not stated in the records read
Textured leather handheld bag, single listing MRP ₹3,79,500, sold at ₹3,60,490 Not stated in the records read

Figures are printed raw, with no conversion and no computed gap. The whole-shelf median is lower because the shelf is mostly not handbags: the 100-listing sounding held 20 handbags, 13 sunglasses and 10 jeans.

That handbag median is the only actual Indian selling price this audit has, so it is the basis for the band on this page: at ₹3,27,250 Balenciaga sits far above the ₹40,000 floor this site uses for luxury bags — a band resting on a marketplace figure, not on anything Balenciaga sets. Anyone weighing it against an Indian brand such as Uppercase is comparing two different objects. On tax, the integrated goods and services tax charged on imports runs at 18% on heading 4202, which covers handbags, and the Budget annexure cut the rate on goods imported for personal use to 10% from 1 April 2026.

Where the bags are made

Per product, the answer is Italy. The City bag’s own page states “Made in Italy”, and 29 of the 30 Indian records declared Italy, one Portugal. Everything else on the subject is group wording.

Kering’s 2025 registration document describes “a network of several thousand suppliers located mainly in Europe (87%) and particularly in Italy (78%)”, records 4,124 supplier audits in 2025, and puts 86% of raw materials “aligned with the Kering Standards”. None of it is Balenciaga-specific: the document names no Balenciaga workshop, no owned factory count and no tannery, so anyone quoting a number of Balenciaga ateliers is not quoting Kering.

The Kering Standards document, lodged in December 2025, holds the leather detail, and its verbs repay attention. Leather suppliers must give the “Location and name of finishing tannery”, the tanneries upstream of it and the “name of the slaughterhouse”. On traceability they are only pointed to “existing traceability systems such as ICEC, LWG traceability or CSCB”, so no Leather Working Group certification is claimed here. On fur the document is flat: “Kering brands no longer use fur in their collections.”

One absence in the same filing is worth naming: its history timeline begins the House at the 2001 acquisition and carries no founding date and no founder, so this page prints none.

Checking a bag is the real thing

This audit names no verification tool for Balenciaga, and does not claim there is none. Nothing in the pages read on 24 September 2026 points a buyer to a serial lookup, a code or a certificate for one bag — and the same method, pointed at Tumi that week, returns Tumi Tracer and its 20-digit code.

The digital-passport route exists and Kering is not on it: the Aura Blockchain Consortium’s member list, read on 23 September 2026, carries Louis Vuitton, Dior, Loro Piana, Rimowa, Prada and Miu Miu, and no Kering house. So the checks are the ordinary ones — read the origin and importer lines before paying, and match the style code against the house’s own page. Wildcraft can be checked against a printed MRP; a Balenciaga bag bought here cannot.

The 2022 campaign, and the one decision on it

One body has ruled on the images Balenciaga published from 16 November 2022, and it sits in France. The Jury de Déontologie Publicitaire, the profession’s own ethics jury, sat on 6 January 2023 and published decision 892/23 on 6 February 2023. Its finding was “plaintes fondées” — complaints upheld. The operative wording is that “cette campagne publicitaire méconnaît les dispositions précitées du code ICC et de la Recommandation « Enfant » de l’ARPP”: the campaign breached the cited provisions of the ICC code and the ARPP’s “Child” recommendation.

The decision records the House’s own case too. Balenciaga told the jury the images promoted a gifts collection, that the concept drew on a photographer’s existing series, that the shoot took place with parents present and consenting, and that it removed the images on 20 and 21 November 2022 and apologised. The jury records the House accepting “the inappropriate choice of artistic concept”, and upheld the complaints all the same, finding the depiction indecent.

Read that for what it is and no further. The jury is a self-regulatory industry body, not a State regulator. Its decision was on those images as they then stood, in France, in early 2023; it is not a standing ban on a form of words, and nobody has ruled on anything Balenciaga publishes today. No State regulator’s action anywhere is recorded here, and no Indian one.

The House’s own statements of that fortnight went out on Instagram, and the wording available is as named publications reproduce it: on 28 November 2022, that the two campaigns “reflect a series of grievous errors for which Balenciaga takes responsibility”, and on 2 December, attributed to Cédric Charbit, that “Our content process for content validation has failed, and we recognize the need to do better.” One more fact belongs beside those, plainly and with nothing added: Balenciaga SAS and Balenciaga America filed a claim in the Supreme Court of the State of New York on 25 November 2022, index 654491/2022, and withdrew it, the House announcing on 2 December that it was not pursuing the litigation. Nothing was decided in that case.

The record in India

The Indian courts database, searched on 23 September 2026, holds no matter brought by or against a Balenciaga company: the corporate-name search showed zero. The bare word showed fifteen documents, ten of them orders in a single Madhya Pradesh High Court matter between two private individuals in which Balenciaga is a person’s given name. No party is named here.

That is worth something because the same database, the same day, showed 48 results for “Gucci”, including trade-mark suits brought by Guccio Gucci S.p.A. itself. It answers for luxury houses when they litigate here. Read this one as nothing found under those terms: no decided Indian matter names a Balenciaga entity, and no open one either.

One check stayed shut: the Indian trade-mark register’s public search now requires a one-time-password sign-in, so this audit says nothing about who holds the BALENCIAGA mark in India, and claims no clear register for the brand.

Common questions

Can I buy a Balenciaga bag from Balenciaga in India?

Not online. There is no Indian locale on balenciaga.com — /en-in redirects to the world version, which shows no price, no add-to-bag and no find-in-store — and India is not among the 38 regions and countries in the store locator, read on 24 September 2026. Jio World Plaza in Mumbai does carry a Balenciaga shop page on its own site.

How much does Balenciaga sell for in India?

Not at a price Balenciaga sets. Across 60 Myntra handbag listings read on 24 September 2026 the median MRP was ₹3,27,250 and the median price paid ₹3,06,145, or 93.6% of MRP. Across the whole 527-listing shelf, a 100-listing sounding gave a median MRP of ₹1,97,500 and 75.6% of MRP paid.

Who sells Balenciaga on Myntra?

All 30 handbag records read on 24 September 2026 named Darveys Global Store Private Limited as seller of record and NR Wardrobe Fuss Private Limited as importer. Both are Delhi companies with ₹1,00,000 of paid-up capital, and the register lists the same two directors for both. No document read names an authorised arrangement with Balenciaga.

How much money does Balenciaga make?

Kering has never said. To 2025 the House sat inside an eight-brand “Other Houses” segment — €2,900 million of revenue and a €112 million operating loss in 2025 — and from the first quarter of 2026 only Gucci is given its own figures. Any single number for Balenciaga is an estimate by somebody outside the company.

Are Balenciaga bags made in Italy?

The ones read here are. The medium City bag’s own page says “Made in Italy”, and 29 of 30 Indian handbag records declared Italy, with one declaring Portugal. Kering’s filing describes its supplier network as mainly European, 87%, and particularly Italian, 78%, without naming a Balenciaga workshop.

References

  1. Kering, 2025 Universal Registration Document — the 2001 acquisition line, the supplier and audit sentences, the 86% raw-materials figure, and a history timeline with no founding date or founder
  2. Kering, 2025 results release, 10 February 2026 — group revenue and recurring operating income, the “Other Houses” figures for 2025 and 2024, the two Balenciaga sentences, and the line naming Piccioli Artistic Director from 19 May
  3. Kering, first-quarter 2026 revenue, 14 April 2026 — the four reported segments with Gucci the only named House, and the City and Rodeo sentence
  4. Kering, first-half 2026 results, 28 July 2026 — group revenue €7,220 million, recurring operating income €921 million, and the Balenciaga quarter sentence
  5. Kering appoints new CEOs at Saint Laurent and Balenciaga, 18 November 2024, Demna appointed Artistic Director of Gucci, 13 March 2025 and Pierpaolo Piccioli appointed Creative Director of Balenciaga, 20 May 2025 — the appointments, the dates and the difference in title
  6. Kering and L’Oréal joint release, 19 October 2025 — the 50-year fragrance and beauty licences for Bottega Veneta and Balenciaga, the €4 billion agreement and the expected closing
  7. Kering Standards, lodged 5 December 2025 — the tannery and slaughterhouse disclosure requirements, the traceability systems suppliers are pointed to, and the fur sentence
  8. balenciaga.com, read 24 September 2026 — the /en-in redirect, the international version with no price, add-to-bag or find-in-store, the 38-region store locator with no India, and the City medium 8657602ACFH1000 with its “Made in Italy” line
  9. Myntra Balenciaga brand facet, a 100-listing shelf sounding, a 60-listing handbag sounding and 30 handbag declarations, with a control brand read the same day, 24 September 2026 — the 527 listings, the medians, the share of MRP paid, the sellers of record, importers and countries of origin
  10. Indian companies register mirror, Darveys Global Store Private Limited and NR Wardrobe Fuss Private Limited — the CINs, the paid-up capital and the shared directorships
  11. Indian companies register mirror, Luxury Goods Retail Private Limited and a second mirror of the same company — CIN, incorporation date, status, capital, activity code and registered office
  12. DLF Emporio brand directory, The Chanakya store list and Jio World Plaza’s published list of shop pages — the two Delhi directories that carry other Kering Houses and not Balenciaga, and the Mumbai mall that carries a Balenciaga page, read 23 September 2026
  13. Jury de Déontologie Publicitaire, decision 892/23, session 6 January 2023, published 6 February 2023 — the “plaintes fondées” finding, the operative French wording, and the House’s own case as the jury records it
  14. Complex and The Fashion Law — the wording of the statements of 28 November and 2 December 2022 as those publications reproduce them, and the New York claim of 25 November 2022, index 654491/2022, which the House withdrew
  15. Indian courts database search, “Balenciaga”, the corporate-name search and the control search for “Gucci” — fifteen documents against zero corporate matters, and 48 for the control, all read 23 September 2026
  16. Aura Blockchain Consortium member list and Tumi Tracer — the member brands with no Kering house among them, and the positive control for a single-item verification tool
  17. Integrated tax rate notification on customs heading 4202 and the Union Budget customs annexure — 18% IGST on handbags, and the personal-import rate cut to 10% from 1 April 2026
The FA take

Balenciaga is among the least measurable houses on this site. Its owner publishes group figures and a paragraph of adjectives, and has never once put a revenue number against the name — €2,900 million and a €112 million loss belong to eight Houses together, and from 2026 even that shared line is gone. On the one question a buyer can settle it does answer: the City bag’s page says “Made in Italy”, and 29 of 30 Indian records say Italy too.

In India it publishes almost nothing: no locale, no price on the world version, no store on its own locator, no way to check a single bag. What exists instead is 527 listings at a handbag median MRP of ₹3,27,250 — set by a marketplace, sold by a Delhi company with ₹1,00,000 of capital and imported by another — and one decided finding against the House, from a French industry jury, on images it had already taken down.

A house with a Mumbai shop page, a Delhi shelf and no Indian price of its own: buy Balenciaga here and you are buying somebody else’s import, so read the origin line and keep the invoice.

Table of Contents

Get the weekly audit

One tested product, one honest verdict, every Friday.

More reads

asa Beauty Brand Audit: The Pack Facts No Listing Prints

asa Beauty is a Mumbai colour-cosmetics brand whose company is “Active” on the register under a wholesale activity code. What its lipsticks cost at named Indian retailers, why no listing read publishes a manufacturer or a cosmetic licence number, how one retailer’s origin field reads three ways across five listings of the same brand, and what the March 2024 trade-press acquisition does and does not establish.

Read More »

Related reads

Search Category
₹0 - ₹58,900
By Price: ₹0 - ₹58,900
📲 Add Fashion Audit to Home Screen