Chanel is the most private big company in luxury. It published no accounts at all until 2018, and the UK register that exists to name a company’s beneficial owners carries, for Chanel, a statement that there is nobody to name. So here is the surprise. On its Indian listings, Chanel tells a shopper more than almost any Indian beauty brand does — country of origin, importer and, on most products, the factory.
That inversion is what this audit is about: what a French house discloses on an Indian product page, and what it charges for it.
Chanel Beauty sells in India through four boutiques and its own rupee-priced online store, and every one of the eleven listings we read on 3 September 2026 declares its country of origin and its importer, with a named manufacturer on eight. Prices run from 12.9% cheaper than America to 24.3% dearer, so there is no single sentence about Indian pricing that survives the numbers. The brand is owned by the Wertheimer family, not by anyone called Chanel.
Snapshot
- Group parent
- Chanel Limited, company number 00203669, a private company registered in London since 6 February 1925
- Owners
- Alain and Gérard Wertheimer, grandsons of co-founder Pierre Wertheimer
- Group revenue
- $19,269 million for the year ended 31 December 2025; operating profit $4,712 million
- Indian entity
- Chanel (India) Private Limited, incorporated 29 June 2004, registered at Worldmark 3, Aerocity, New Delhi
- Where to buy
- Four fragrance and beauty boutiques — two in Delhi, one in Gurugram, one in Mumbai — plus chanel.com/in
- Price band in India
- ₹2,950 to ₹16,450 across the eleven listings read on 3 September 2026
- Made in
- France on nine of eleven listings, Italy on two
How it started
Gabrielle Chanel opened her business in France, and her name is on every box. The money behind it was never hers alone. Pierre Wertheimer founded the perfume company with her, and his grandsons run it now.
Alain Wertheimer is chairman of Chanel and owns the company with his brother Gérard, who oversees the watch division. Forbes put Alain’s net worth at $39.4 billion as of 2 September 2026. Coco Chanel left no descendant in the shareholding. The founder’s name is a trademark here, not a stake.
Chanel itself names no shareholder. Neither its 2024 nor its 2025 results release mentions the Wertheimer family, and the UK register of persons with significant control carries an active statement, notified 29 July 2016, that there is no registrable person in relation to the company. The ownership is established through press reporting and Forbes, not through a filing.
The second thing most coverage gets wrong is the passport. The house is French by origin and by manufacturing. The entity that files the group’s consolidated accounts is English, and has been registered in London for a hundred years.
- 1925Chanel Limited incorporated in London, 6 February
- To 2017No consolidated accounts published, in any year
- June 2018First results ever released: $9.62 billion for 2017, up 11%
- May 2026FY2025 released: $19,269m revenue, $4,712m operating profit
Group accounts are now filed at Companies House every year — the 2025 filing runs to 199 pages.
The reason given at the time was blunt. Chanel’s finance chief said the company had realised it was time to put the facts on the table as to exactly who it was — a $10 billion company with very strong financials. CNN also noted the disclosure might be an attempt to quiet talk of a takeover.
What that decision bought a reader is real. Operating profit fell 30% in 2024 and recovered 5% in 2025. Before 2018 neither of those numbers existed in public.
What they actually make
Chanel discusses fashion, fragrance and beauty, and watches and fine jewellery as activities. It publishes a revenue figure for none of them. A beauty trade title reporting the 2025 release states the position plainly: the company does not disclose individual division revenue figures. So the widely repeated line that beauty is Chanel’s biggest business cannot be sourced from Chanel, and this audit does not print it.
Chanel will tell you what the whole company earned to the last million dollars, and will not tell you how much of it was perfume.
What it will tell you sits on the product page. We read eleven Chanel India listings on 3 September 2026. Country of origin appears on all eleven — nine France, two Italy. The importer appears on all eleven, identically: Chanel (India) Private Limited, Worldmark 3, Hospitality District, New Delhi. A manufacturer is named on eight.
Seven of those eight are Chanel’s own plants, at Chamant in the Oise or at Compiègne, the latter under the entity Chanel Parfums Beauté. That is the opposite of the pattern this site has documented across Indian beauty, where the brand markets and a third party formulates. It is closer to Campus, which makes its own shoes, than to the marketer-and-contract-plant model that Bata India readers already know from the declaration on the box.
The eighth is the interesting one. The Crayon Sourcils eyebrow pencil names Alkos Cosmétiques, at Hesdin-l’Abbé, as its manufacturer — an outside contract manufacturer, printed on a luxury house’s own Indian listing. Very few brands audited here do that.
- MadeChamant or Compiègne, France — or Alkos Cosmétiques on one pencil; Italy on two of eleven
- ImportedChanel (India) Private Limited, Worldmark 3, Aerocity, New Delhi 110037
- SoldMRP inclusive of all taxes, stated on all eleven listings
This is the statutory declaration Indian law requires, and Chanel renders it in full — which is more than several Indian-owned brands manage on their own websites.
One caution before you generalise. The Baume Essentiel stick declares Italy as its country of origin while naming a French manufacturer address. Both lines cannot describe the same physical place, and this audit reports the declaration as it reads on one product rather than resolving it.
What Chanel Beauty costs in India
All figures below were checked on 3 September 2026, converted at ₹95.38 to the dollar, the Federal Reserve’s rate for 28 August 2026. Indian MRP is inclusive of all taxes by Chanel’s own wording; the American prices are before state sales tax. The comparison is therefore conservative against India.
| Product | India MRP | vs United States |
|---|---|---|
| Rouge Coco Crush lipstick | ₹6,400 | +24.3% |
| Noir Allure mascara | ₹4,550 | +10.9% |
| La Base Mascara lash primer | ₹4,150 | +8.8% |
| Le Volume de Chanel mascara | ₹4,100 | +7.5% |
| Baume Essentiel glow stick | ₹4,450 | 4.8% cheaper |
| Les Beiges Healthy Glow foundation | ₹5,750 | 12.6% cheaper |
| 31 Le Rouge satin lipstick | ₹16,450 | 12.9% cheaper |
Same reference numbers on chanel.com/in and chanel.com/us, both read 3 September 2026.
That spread — 12.9% cheaper to 24.3% dearer — is the widest of the four prestige beauty brands this site has priced, and it falls on both sides of parity. Two of seven heroes cost less here than in America. Three carry a single-digit to eleven-percent premium. One lipstick carries 24%.
The plainest way to read it: the cheaper items are the expensive ones. The ₹16,450 lipstick and the ₹5,750 foundation undercut their American prices, while the ₹6,400 everyday lipstick carries the fattest premium in the range. Whatever is setting these prices, it is not a duty rate applied evenly.
- US price, Rouge Coco Crush
- $54, or ₹5,151
- Indian MRP
- ₹6,400
- Gap
- +24.3%
- Checked on
- 3 September 2026
Now the number that actually decides whether a purchase is sane. Per gram, 31 Le Rouge costs ₹4,985, the Crayon Sourcils ₹2,950 and the Les 9 Ombres palette ₹2,546. At the other end, the Baume Essentiel stick is ₹556 a gram and Les Beiges foundation ₹192 a millilitre. That is a 26-fold range inside one brand, on the same shelf, in the same shop.
Set against India’s own counters, a Colorbar lipstick sits at ₹449 and SUGAR’s at ₹487 to ₹854. A gram of 31 Le Rouge costs about eleven times a gram of Chanel’s own cheapest item. The pack size, not the shelf price, is doing most of the work.
Who Chanel Beauty is actually for
On the makeup price bands this site uses, Chanel sits in the luxury tier and not near its floor. The cheapest of the eleven listings read is a ₹2,950 eyebrow pencil, and nine of eleven are above ₹2,900.
It suits a buyer who wants the object as much as the formula, and who will actually finish a 3.3 gram lipstick rather than lose it. It suits anyone who values a printed origin and a named factory — because the declaration here is genuinely better than what most Indian retailers render.
It does not suit a buyer chasing performance per rupee. Chanel publishes footnoted claims with panel sizes attached, and the panels are small: a clinical evaluation of 21 women for the foundation’s twelve-hour wear, 20 women for the lipstick’s smoothness figure. One of those numbers is a self-assessment, and Chanel says so in its own footnote — the 77% “more supple” claim is what 20 women reported, not what an instrument measured. Printing that is to Chanel’s credit. Reading it is your job.
There is one asymmetry worth naming. The Indian listing for the Rouge Coco Crush carries no percentage claim at all, while the American listing for the identical reference carries three footnoted ones. An Indian shopper is shown less, not more.
Reputation and controversies
On the Indian legal record, one decided matter surfaced. In Chanel Ltd. v. Sunder Chemicals Agarbati Works (P) Ltd., decided 1 October 2002, the Delhi High Court held that the mark “SHANELLE” was deceptively similar to Chanel’s, and granted an interim injunction restraining the defendants from dealing in perfumes under it until the suit was finally disposed of. An interim injunction is an order made before a suit is decided, not a ruling on the merits, and the final outcome of that suit is not on the published record.
Chanel is one of the most litigated brands in the world on counterfeits. Almost all of that litigation is American and European, and none of it belongs in an Indian audit as though it happened here. On the Indian record, what stands is one Delhi High Court order from 2002.
The advertising regulator’s published complaint outcomes carry no case against Chanel as at 3 September 2026. Read that as what the record holds on that date.
Animal testing is where the brand looks weakest on paper. PETA’s Beauty Without Bunnies directory lists Chanel under “may not be cruelty-free”, with the note that the company has not signed PETA’s statement of assurance. That is a statement about signing an assurance and about global conduct, and articles routinely merge the two.
Testing cosmetics on animals has been illegal in India since 21 May 2014, so nothing legally sold here was tested here. PETA’s category is about Chanel’s global conduct, not about the tube in an Indian shop — weigh it that way.
The Indian company itself is small relative to the group. The register carries revenue in the ₹75 crore to ₹100 crore band for the year ended March 2024, per an aggregator’s summary of the filing, with revenue down 17.83% year on year. That covers Chanel’s Indian business as a whole, fashion included. Nothing published splits it by division.
Buying it in India
Chanel runs four fragrance and beauty boutiques here: Select CITYWALK in Saket and DLF Promenade in New Delhi, Ambience Mall in Gurugram, and Palladium at Lower Parel in Mumbai. The Mumbai counter opened in January 2024. Chanel’s India site sells online in rupees and delivers within India only, with fragrance and beauty returnable within 14 days provided the seal is intact.
Sephora India does not stock Chanel — its brand index does not carry it, checked 3 September 2026 with Dior resolving on the same index. Chanel’s own boutiques and its own website are the routes we can confirm.
Turn the box over
The declaration must show country of origin, the importer’s name and address, net quantity and MRP inclusive of all taxes. Chanel’s own listings carry all four. A box that carries none is not one to buy.
Match the reference number
Every Chanel item has a numeric reference — 153165 for the Rouge Coco Crush, 184724 for Les Beiges foundation. Search it on chanel.com/in and confirm the shade, size and price agree with what you are being offered.
Do the per-gram sum in the shop
Divide the price by the net weight printed on the pack. A ₹16,450 lipstick at 3.3 grams is ₹4,985 a gram; a ₹4,450 stick at 8 grams is ₹556. The same brand, a 26-fold difference.
Read the footnote under the percentage
Chanel prints the test type and the panel size beside its claims. “Self-assessment by 20 women” and “clinical evaluation of 21 women” are different things, and the second is not a clinical trial either.
Treat a cheap Chanel as a warning
Chanel does not discount in India and its own store prices are the MRP. A marketplace price well under the figure on chanel.com/in is a reason to walk away, not a bargain.
The same discipline works anywhere. It is the reason the declaration block is worth reading on a ₹1,299 pair from Sparx as much as on a ₹16,450 lipstick: the law asks for the same four lines either way, and the brands that print them properly are telling you something about themselves.
Common questions
Who owns Chanel?
Alain and Gérard Wertheimer, brothers and grandsons of Pierre Wertheimer, who founded the perfume business with Gabrielle Chanel. No descendant of Coco Chanel holds a stake. Chanel itself names no shareholder in its results releases, and the UK register of beneficial owners carries a statement that there is nobody registrable to name.
Is Chanel Beauty made in France?
Mostly. Of eleven Indian listings read on 3 September 2026, nine declare France and two declare Italy. Seven of the eight that name a manufacturer name Chanel’s own plants at Chamant or Compiègne. One, the Crayon Sourcils pencil, names an outside manufacturer, Alkos Cosmétiques.
Is Chanel Beauty more expensive in India than abroad?
Sometimes. Across seven products matched by reference number on 3 September 2026, Indian prices ran from 12.9% cheaper to 24.3% dearer than the American ones. The most expensive items were the cheaper ones here; the everyday lipstick carried the biggest premium.
Where can I buy Chanel Beauty in India?
At four Chanel fragrance and beauty boutiques — Select CITYWALK and DLF Promenade in Delhi, Ambience Mall in Gurugram, Palladium in Mumbai — and on chanel.com/in, which prices in rupees and delivers within India. Sephora India does not stock the brand.
Is Chanel cruelty-free?
PETA’s directory places Chanel under “may not be cruelty-free” because the company has not signed PETA’s statement of assurance. Separately, testing cosmetics on animals has been illegal in India since 21 May 2014, so nothing legally sold here was tested on animals in this country.
How much money does Chanel make?
$19,269 million in revenue for the year ended 31 December 2025, with operating profit of $4,712 million and 37,984 staff. Chanel published nothing at all before June 2018. It still discloses no revenue for fragrance and beauty separately.
How we research and verify brand audits: our methodology.
References
- Companies House — Chanel Limited (00203669), 3 September 2026 — incorporation date, registered office, status and accounts filing history
- Companies House — persons with significant control, 3 September 2026 — the “no registrable person” statement notified 29 July 2016
- Chanel Limited financial results for 2025, released 19 May 2026 — revenue, operating profit, capital expenditure and headcount
- Chanel Limited financial results for 2024, released 20 May 2025 — the 2024 operating-profit fall and the India investment comment
- CNN Business, 22 June 2018 — Chanel’s first disclosure of results and the finance chief’s explanation
- Forbes — Alain Wertheimer profile, 3 September 2026 — the Wertheimer brothers’ ownership and net worth
- Premium Beauty News on Chanel’s 2025 results — the statement that Chanel does not disclose divisional revenue
- Chanel India makeup listings, 3 September 2026 — the eleven product pages, their MRPs, net quantities, origin, importer and manufacturer lines
- Chanel US makeup listings, 3 September 2026 — American prices and the footnoted claims with panel sizes
- Chanel India boutique locator, 3 September 2026 — the four fragrance and beauty boutiques and their addresses
- Cosmetics Business, 4 January 2024 — the Mumbai boutique opening
- Tofler — Chanel (India) Private Limited, 3 September 2026 — incorporation, registered office and the FY24 revenue band
- PETA Beauty Without Bunnies — Chanel, 3 September 2026 — the “may not be cruelty-free” listing
- Chanel Ltd. v. Sunder Chemicals Agarbati Works, Delhi High Court, 1 October 2002 — the interim injunction over the SHANELLE mark
- Federal Reserve H.10 exchange rates, released 31 August 2026 — the ₹95.38 rate used for every conversion above
Chanel earns a genuine mark here, and it is not the one the advertising sells. Eleven of eleven Indian listings declare origin and importer, eight name a factory, and one of those names an outside manufacturer by name. That is better disclosure than most Indian-owned beauty brands offer on their own websites, and it costs Chanel nothing to be embarrassed by.
The price is where scepticism belongs. A ₹6,400 lipstick that costs $54 in America is 24.3% dearer here, while the ₹16,450 one is 12.9% cheaper — so the premium sits squarely on the item most people will actually buy. And on claims, the small print is the story: “77% more supple” is what 20 women said about themselves, not what a machine recorded. Chanel prints that honestly. Most readers will not read it.
Buy the foundation or the big lipstick, where India undercuts America; skip the ₹6,400 Rouge Coco Crush, which is the one line in the range where Indian buyers are quietly paying a quarter more than Americans for the identical reference number.






