Mido is a Swiss watch brand based in Le Locle and owned by The Swatch Group, the listed Swiss company behind Omega, Longines, Tissot and Rado. Swatch Group’s own brand page dates it to 1918 and describes a network of 2,700 official retailers in 70 countries.
Mido’s own website does not list India. On 22 September 2026 the store locator on midowatches.com listed Bangladesh, Cambodia, Indonesia and Laos, but not India, and Myntra’s search carried no Mido brand filter at all.
Mido belongs to The Swatch Group, which does not publish the brand’s revenue. No Indian partner is named in anything read, India was not on Mido’s store-locator country list on 22 September 2026, and no Indian price for a Mido watch was found. Its Swiss site priced the Ocean Star 200 at CHF 800 and promises a 24-month warranty, 60 months on COSC chronometers, but no page read says a watch bought abroad is serviced in India.
Snapshot
- Founded
- 1918, per Swatch Group’s Mido page
- Base
- Le Locle, Switzerland
- Owner
- The Swatch Group Ltd, listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange
- Brand revenue
- Not disclosed; Swatch Group reports group and segment figures only
- Indian partner
- None named in anything read
- Mido store locator
- India not on the country list, read 22 September 2026
- Myntra shelf
- No Mido brand filter, 22 September 2026
- Warranty
- Minimum 24 months; 60 months on COSC-certified chronometers
- Swiss price read
- Ocean Star 200, M026.930.11.041.00: CHF 800.00, including VAT
- Price band in India
- None set; no Indian price found
Who owns Mido
Swatch Group lists Mido among its watch and jewellery brands and says “MIDO is based in Le Locle”. The same page reads “Swiss watchmaker Georges Schaeren founded MIDO in 1918”. A history published by the watch magazine Time+Tide names two founders, Georges Schaeren and Hugo Jubert, so the two sources differ on whether there was one founder or two.
The owner is large, and its figures are group figures. For the year to 31 December 2025 Swatch Group reported net sales of CHF 6,280 million, down 1.3% at constant exchange rates, against CHF 6,650 million in 2024. Operating profit fell to CHF 135 million from CHF 304 million, and net profit to CHF 25 million from CHF 219 million. For the first half of 2026, MarketScreener and Monochrome reported net sales of CHF 3,121 million, up 8.5% at constant rates.
None of those numbers is Mido’s. Swatch Group does not publish revenue for Mido or for any single brand, so no sales figure for the brand appears on this page. The group structure is the same one described in the FashionAudit audits of Omega and Longines, and it is not repeated here.
What the 2025 annual report does say about Mido is about one product family. “Mido fans have long been thrilled by the brand’s impressively successful TV-shaped case product line,” it reads, and it adds that enthusiasts “again embraced the new Multifort TV collection” in 2025. The same report names India among markets where the group’s brands “recorded dynamic growth”, without a figure for India or for any brand there. Time and Watches, reporting the group’s results release of 31 January 2026, quoted it calling Mido “a key driver in the entry-level segment”.
How Mido reaches India
No Indian partner for Mido is named in anything read. There is no Indian Mido website, and so no Indian terms of use, privacy policy or grievance officer to name an operator. No Indian company filing or press release read names Mido as a brand it imports or sells.
Mido’s own store locator is the clearest document. On 22 September 2026 its country list ran from Hungary to Indonesia with no India between them, while Bangladesh, Cambodia and Laos all appeared. The locator is Mido’s own list of where it sells, so this is the brand’s published picture, not an inference from a search.
Mido’s Swiss site prices the Ocean Star 200 at CHF 800 including VAT and states a warranty of 24 months, or 60 on COSC chronometers.
Two Indian watch chains point the same way. Helios, the Titan-run chain, and Kapoor Watch Co. both publish brand lists; neither listed Mido on 22 September 2026, and both listed Tissot and Rado, its Swatch Group sisters. Just In Time showed collection pages for Movado, Casio and Timex, and none for Mido.
- midowatches.comIndia not on the locator’s country list
- MyntraNo Mido brand filter
- HeliosTissot and Rado listed; no Mido
- Kapoor Watch Co.Tissot, Rado, Longines, Omega listed; no Mido
The first is Mido’s own list; the others are Indian retail shelves.
Sources: Mido store locator, Myntra, helioswatchstore.com and kapoorwatch.com, all read 22 September 2026.
Swatch Group does have an Indian company. Swatch Group (India) Private Limited, CIN U74999DL2000PTC105409, was incorporated in Delhi on 25 April 2000 and shows ₹528 crore of paid-up capital on register mirrors. In a Delhi court judgment of 17 August 2023 the company is recorded as claiming to be the subsidiary of Swatch Group Ltd, Switzerland, and its plaint lists MIDO among the group’s “well known watch brands”.
That listing is a recital of the group’s portfolio, not a statement that the company sells Mido in India, and nothing read makes that link. The contrast with a sister brand is plain: Hamilton’s Indian store locator names “The Swatch Group India C.S” as an official service centre in New Delhi, in the Saket building where the company has its registered office. No Mido page read names that company, or any other Indian company, at all.
These readings show what the published documents hold. They do not prove that no Mido watch is ever sold in India, only that Mido names no Indian seller.
Mido on Myntra
Search Myntra for “mido” and the brand filter offers no Mido entry. On 22 September 2026 the catalogue count for the brand was zero.
That leaves no Myntra price, no seller of record and no statutory declaration to report for Mido. Anyone meeting a Mido watch on another Indian marketplace is dealing with a seller that no Mido page read names.
Warranty and service in India
Mido’s customer-service page carries the heading “International warranty” and reads: “All MIDO timepieces are covered by a minimum of 24 months sales warranty. The warranty period for COSC certified chronometers has been extended by three additional years (60 months in total).” The homepage banner on 22 September 2026 made the chronometer point more briefly: “5-year warranty on all COSC-certified MIDO Chronometer watches”.
The warranty page carries no wording specific to India. No page read says a Mido bought abroad will be serviced in India, and no Mido page read names an Indian service centre. The word “international” in a heading is not a service point, so a buyer should treat Indian after-sales care for a Mido as not established.
COSC is the Contrôle Officiel Suisse des Chronomètres, the Swiss chronometer-testing body. The longer warranty covers only the certified models, and the 24-month term covers the rest.
What Mido says about its movements
Mido’s own product page for the Ocean Star 200, reference M026.930.11.041.00, describes a 41 mm watch rated to 200 m, with a “Power reserve up to 80 hours” and marked “Swiss made”. It says the watch is “powered by the Caliber 80 … equipped with a Nivachron™ balance spring”. The balance spring is the fine coil that governs a mechanical watch’s rate.
That page does not say who makes the Caliber 80 or what it is based on, and this page does not either. Swatch Group’s own 2023 release for the Multifort TV Big Date also names the Caliber 80 with a Nivachron balance spring, up to 80 hours of power reserve and 10 bar of water resistance.
Watch-press launch reports describe a silicon balance spring on the chronometer versions instead. Master Horologer and Europa Star reported it on the Baroncelli Caliber 80 Chronometer Silicon, M027.408.16.061.00; Hour Passion on the Multifort M Chronometer, M038.431.11.097.00, in February 2023. So “Caliber 80” does not mean one balance spring across the range, and no single description fits every Mido.
Swatch Group’s Mido page adds: “All chronometer models house calibres subjected to rigorous testing by the Contrôle Officiel Suisse des Chronomètres.” That sentence covers the chronometers only; it does not say every Mido is one. Insight Luxury’s June 2026 launch report names a different movement again, a Caliber 72 with 72 hours of reserve, in the new Ocean Star 39.
What Mido costs in India
No Indian price for a Mido watch was found. There is no Indian Mido site, the Indian chains read do not list the brand, and Myntra has no shelf, so there is no Indian MRP to set beside a Swiss one. This page therefore sets no price band and prints no percentage gap.
What can be printed is the Swiss side. Mido’s Swiss site priced the Ocean Star 200, M026.930.11.041.00, at CHF 800.00, labelled “Recommended retail price (incl. VAT)”, on 22 September 2026. The press launch prices below are dated leads, each with its own tax basis, and none is a Mido page read today.
| Model | Identified by | Price | Tax basis | Source, date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ocean Star 200 | Code M026.930.11.041.00 | CHF 800.00 | Recommended retail, incl. VAT | midowatches.com, Swiss site, 22 Sep 2026 |
| Baroncelli Caliber 80 Chronometer Silicon | Code M027.408.16.061.00 | CHF 1,130 | Recommended retail, incl. VAT | Master Horologer, 2019 (modified Jan 2025) |
| Ocean Star 200C Carbon, limited | Code M042.431.77.081.00 | CHF 2,050 | Launch price; tax basis not stated | Monochrome, 8 May 2024 |
| Ocean Star 39 | Name only | EUR 1,190 | MSRP | Insight Luxury, 29 Jun 2026 |
| Multifort TV Big Date, rose-gold PVD | Name only | EUR 1,450 | MSRP | Insight Luxury, 29 Jun 2026 |
No currency conversion is made. Indian price: none found on 22 September 2026.
No Indian tax or duty figure is printed either, because there is no Indian price for it to explain. An Indian tag for a Mido, wherever one appears, would come from a seller Mido’s own locator does not list.
Buying a genuine Mido
Mido’s pages read carry no counterfeit guidance, and this page invents no tell. What a buyer can do is check what Mido itself publishes and ask the seller to account for the gap.
Match the reference
Mido prints references in the form M026.930.11.041.00. Look the number up on midowatches.com and compare the specification and Swiss price.
Ask who the seller is
Mido’s locator names no Indian retailer. Ask any Indian seller where the watch came from and whose warranty card it carries.
Read the box declaration
An imported watch sold in India must carry an MRP inclusive of taxes, the country of origin and the importer’s name. Read it before paying.
Keep the foreign receipt
If you buy abroad from a listed retailer, keep the invoice and card. No Mido page read names an Indian service point.
The record in India
A search of Indian judgments for “Mido” watch showed three results, and all three were read. Each is a trade-mark suit by Swatch Group (India) in a Delhi District Court, decided by decree in November 2022, August 2023 and September 2023. Each ended in a permanent injunction, damages and costs, ex parte because the defendants took no part in the trial.
None was about Mido watches. The seized goods were Rado, Omega, Tissot, Longines, Swatch and Calvin Klein, and MIDO appears only in the plaint’s list of the group’s brands. Each decree settled that suit as it then stood, and nobody has ruled on anything concerning Mido goods. Consumer commissions sit outside that database, so read it as nothing found rather than nothing there.
Who Mido is actually for
Mido suits an Indian buyer who travels, wants a Swiss mechanical watch with an 80-hour reserve and a written warranty of up to five years, and is willing to buy it abroad from a retailer on Mido’s own locator. The Ocean Star 200 at CHF 800 is the only price in the table read from Mido’s own site. At home, its sisters Tissot and Rado are on Indian chain shelves where Mido is not.
Common questions
Who owns Mido?
The Swatch Group Ltd, listed on the SIX Swiss Exchange. Swatch Group’s own brand page lists Mido among its watch and jewellery brands and says it is based in Le Locle.
Is Mido sold in India?
No Indian partner is named in anything read. On 22 September 2026 India was not on Mido’s store-locator country list, Myntra had no Mido brand filter, and Helios and Kapoor Watch Co. did not list the brand.
Is Mido a Swiss brand?
Yes. Swatch Group’s page says a Swiss watchmaker founded it in 1918 and that it is based in Le Locle, and Mido’s Ocean Star 200 page reads “Swiss made”.
Does the Mido warranty work in India?
Mido’s page, headed “International warranty”, gives at least 24 months, and 60 on COSC chronometers. No page read says a watch bought abroad is serviced in India, and no Mido page read names an Indian service centre.
Does every Mido have a silicon hairspring?
No. Mido’s own Ocean Star 200 page names a Nivachron balance spring, as does Swatch Group’s Multifort TV Big Date release. Press reports describe silicon on some chronometer models.
References
- Swatch Group, Mido brand page — ownership, Le Locle, 1918 and founder, 2,700 retailers in 70 countries, the chronometer sentence
- Swatch Group, Key Figures 2025 — 2025 net sales, operating and net profit; no brand revenue
- Swatch Group Annual Report 2025, via MarketScreener (18 March 2026) — 2024 comparatives, the Multifort TV passage, the India growth sentence
- Time and Watches, Swatch Group 2025 results (31 January 2026) — the “key driver in the entry-level segment” line, as reported
- MarketScreener, Swatch Group H1 2026 (21 July 2026) and Monochrome — first-half 2026 net sales and constant-rate growth
- Time+Tide, Mido history (updated 12 February 2026) — the two founders named
- Mido store locator — the country list, without India, read 22 September 2026
- Mido customer service, International warranty and homepage — the 24- and 60-month terms and the five-year banner, read 22 September 2026
- midowatches.com, Swiss site, Ocean Star 200 M026.930.11.041.00 — size, depth rating, power reserve, Caliber 80, Nivachron, CHF 800.00 including VAT, read 22 September 2026
- Helios brand list and Kapoor Watch Co. — no Mido; Tissot and Rado listed, read 22 September 2026
- Just In Time, Movado collection — collection pages for other brands; none for Mido
- Zauba Corp and Tofler, register mirrors — Swatch Group (India) CIN, incorporation date, paid-up capital
- Hamilton store locator, The Swatch Group India C.S, New Delhi — the sister brand’s official service centre listing
- Delhi District Court, trade-mark decree in a suit by Swatch Group (India), 17 August 2023 — the subsidiary claim, the brand recital, the decree
- Delhi District Court, trade-mark decree, 25 September 2023 and Delhi District Court, trade-mark decree, 22 November 2022 — the other two decrees and the brands seized
- Swatch Group release, Mido Multifort TV Big Date (2023) — Caliber 80, Nivachron, 80 hours, 10 bar
- Master Horologer, Baroncelli Caliber 80 Chronometer Silicon and Europa Star — silicon spring, reference, CHF 1,130 including VAT
- Hour Passion, Multifort M Chronometer (13 February 2023) — silicon spring, reference
- Monochrome, Ocean Star 200C Carbon (8 May 2024) — reference and CHF 2,050 launch price
- Insight Luxury, Swatch Group new releases (29 June 2026) — Ocean Star 39 Caliber 72 and EUR 1,190; Multifort TV Big Date EUR 1,450
Mido’s own paperwork is clear. Its Swiss site states a price with its tax basis, names the movement and the balance spring on the page, and writes a warranty of 24 months, or 60 on chronometers, in plain words. For a traveller who buys an Ocean Star 200 at CHF 800 from a retailer on Mido’s own list, that is a clear, checkable purchase.
For an Indian buyer at home, there is less to go on. On 22 September 2026 Mido’s pages named no Indian seller, no Indian service point and no Indian price, and its locator’s country list did not include India. Swatch Group’s Indian company lists MIDO among its brands in court, but no document read shows it selling or servicing one.
A well-documented watch whose own locator, on 22 September 2026, does not list India: buy it abroad with the receipt, or buy a Tissot here.





