Skip to main content

Fashion Audit

Orient Brand Audit: An Epson Watch Brand With No Named Indian Partner

Who owns Orient, why it is Epson and not Seiko, how it reaches India, what its three-year guarantee covers here, its in-house calibres and Japanese prices.
Orient brand audit by FashionAudit: Orient logo over an automatic watch with an open-heart blue dial

Orient is a Japanese watch brand founded as Orient Watch Co., Ltd. in Tokyo in 1950. It belongs to Seiko Epson Corporation, the printer and projector company, which says it runs the Orient and Orient Star brands “from planning to manufacturing”. That makes it an Epson brand, which is a different thing from the Seiko watch group.

In India the name is crowded. Orient Electric sells fans, and several unrelated Indian businesses trade as Orient. The Japanese watch brand has no Indian distributor on Epson’s own list, no Indian service point on its own network, and no shelf of its own on Myntra on 22 September 2026.

The short answer

Orient is wholly owned by Seiko Epson, which absorbed the old Orient Watch company on 1 February 2026 and does not disclose the brand’s revenue. No Indian partner is named in anything read: Epson’s distributor and service lists omit India, and the only India-named Orient website was locked and named no company. Epson’s watches carry a three-year guarantee, but no page read says a watch bought abroad can be serviced in India.

Snapshot

Founded
Orient Watch Co., Ltd., established 13 July 1950, Tokyo (Epson filings)
Owner
Seiko Epson Corporation, Tokyo Stock Exchange code 6724; wholly owned since March 2009
Legal status of the old company
Merged into Seiko Epson, effective 1 February 2026
Brand revenue
Not disclosed; Epson’s “Wearable Products” line, ¥41.1 bn in FY2025, also covers movements and a Seiko-related business
Indian partner
None named on Epson’s distributor list, read 22 September 2026
Indian service point
None on Epson’s Orient service network, read 22 September 2026
Indian trade mark
ORIENT, no. 328548, class 14, proprietor Seiko Epson Corporation, valid to 5 September 2035 (register mirror)
Myntra shelf
None; an “orient” search showed Orient Electric and S. Orient Collections only, 22 September 2026
Price band in India
None published by the brand or an Epson-named seller

Who owns Orient

Orient has belonged to Seiko Epson for years, but the route there was gradual. Epson’s own company-history table, in its Annual Report 2026, records three steps. In November 2008 it acquired “additional shares of Orient Watch Co., Ltd. … in a takeover bid”, and in March 2009 Orient became “a wholly owned subsidiary via an exchange of shares”. The same table also carries a March 2001 entry using the words “wholly owned subsidiary”, which cannot sit literally beside the 2009 one. The fair summary is that Epson took control in stages, in 2001, 2008 and 2009, and Orient became wholly owned in March 2009.

The next step was operational. In a release dated 6 September 2016, Epson said that from April 2017 it planned to move Orient’s domestic sales to Epson Sales Japan Corporation, “with other functions to be absorbed into Epson”. At that point Orient Watch had capital of ¥100 million and 530 employees on a consolidated basis. Epson expected the effect on its results to be “minimal”.

The legal end came later. Epson’s notice of 5 November 2025 approved the absorption of its “wholly owned subsidiary” Orient Watch into Seiko Epson, effective 1 February 2026. By 31 March 2025 the old company was a “holding company” with no employees, and the notice said the manufacture and sale of Orient watches “will continue unchanged within the Epson Group”.

From Orient Watch to an Epson brand
  1. Orient Watch Co., Ltd.Established 13 July 1950, Tokyo
  2. Epson takes control in stages2001, 2008 tender offer; wholly owned March 2009
  3. Business split into EpsonApril 2017, with Epson Sales Japan taking domestic sales
  4. Seiko Epson CorporationOrient Watch merged in, effective 1 February 2026

The chain follows one company from its founding to its absorption; the Orient brand carries on inside Epson.

Orient’s own About page tells the story more briefly: “In 2017, Orient Watch Co., Ltd. merged with Seiko Epson Corporation.” Epson’s filing describes 2017 as the transfer of the business by corporate split and dates the merger of the company to 1 February 2026. This page uses the filing’s wording.

Seiko Epson is not the Seiko watch group, and the two should not be merged in a buyer’s mind. Our Seiko audit sets out who owns what on that side.

The money: owner revenue is not Orient revenue

Seiko Epson reported revenue of ¥1,413.3 bn for the year to 31 March 2026, up from ¥1,362.9 bn, and profit attributable to owners of ¥18.2 bn against ¥55.2 bn a year earlier. Those are group figures, not watch figures.

Watches sat in a segment called “Manufacturing-related & Wearables”, which also takes in quartz crystal devices, semiconductors, metal powders and PCs. Its revenue was ¥206.1 bn. The results presentation goes one level lower, to “Wearable Products”: ¥41.1 bn in FY2025, with an outlook of ¥42.0 bn. Its diagram puts movements, a “Seiko Business” and “Orient Star, Orient” inside that line, so ¥41.1 bn is not an Orient number. Epson does not disclose Orient’s revenue, and from FY2026 the watch line moves into a new “Visual & Lifestyle” segment.

How Orient reaches India

On the documents, it does not arrive through anyone Epson names. Orient’s “Worldwide Distributors” page lists distributors country by country, and India is not among them. The same page names Wimaladharma Brothers in Colombo for Sri Lanka and Big Time in Singapore, so the list does name neighbours where a distributor exists.

Epson does have an Indian company. Epson India Private Limited was incorporated in Bangalore on 9 October 2000, and Epson’s Annual Report 2026 gives its business as sales of printers and 3LCD projectors. Neither that report nor the 2022 one assigns it to watches, and no document read links it to Orient.

There is a website called orientwatch.in, styled “Orient Watch India”. On 22 September 2026 it showed only a password page reading “The site is currently under maintenance”, with an email address for enquiries. It publishes no operating company, address or grievance officer, and Epson’s distributor list does not name it. Nothing read makes it an official channel.

The Indian trade marks are Epson’s. A register mirror shows ORIENT, no. 328548 in class 14 for watches, filed on 5 September 1977 and now in the name of Seiko Epson Corporation, which was brought on record by an order of 29 December 2017. Epson also holds ORIENT BAMBINO and ORIENT MAKO, both filed in January 2022. No registered user appears against the main mark. Owning a mark in India is not the same as selling here, and Epson’s own pages show no Indian store.

Orient on Myntra: no watch shelf

A search for “orient” on Myntra on 22 September 2026 offered two brand filters: Orient Electric, with 18 products, and S. Orient Collections, with 17. Neither is the watch brand, and no Orient watch facet appeared. Columbia showed 2,425 listings in the same session, so the search was working.

That leaves no Indian shelf to sound, no seller of record to name and no declaration to read.

Warranty and service in India

Epson’s global terms of guarantee promise that a faulty watch will be “repaired and/or adjusted at no extra charge for a period of three years from the original purchase date”. Service is at “the original place of purchase or an authorized member of the ORIENT Service Network”. The guarantee booklet is required, costs “may be charged” if dealer or purchase details are missing, and glass, strap and battery are excluded.

The three years are new in Japan. Epson Sales Japan announced on 17 June 2026 that from 1 July 2026 the guarantee would rise to three years, from one year for Orient and two for Orient Star. Watches bought from 1 April to 30 June 2026 are covered for three years as well. For the international guarantee, the release points buyers to the service-network page for the countries where it applies.

That page lists service points across the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia and the Middle East, including Sri Lanka, the UAE and Kenya. India is not on it. So no page read says a watch bought abroad is serviced in India, and a watch bought here has no Epson-named Indian dealer to stamp its booklet. No Indian service address or price is published.

Worth knowing

Epson’s service network lists no Indian service point. Budget for any Orient repair, even under guarantee, to go through the original seller or a service point outside India.

The US distributor, Puri Time, adds its own wording. Its warranty page offers a “one year international warranty” on Orient and two years on Orient Star, while its FAQ page speaks of a “Three-Year Warranty”. The two pages disagree, and neither is Epson’s own document.

What the movements are, in Epson’s words

Epson’s Japanese launch releases describe each calibre as “自社製キャリバー”, an in-house calibre, and give the specifications below. The accuracy figures are Epson’s own ratings; the Bambino release labels its figure “static accuracy”. No release read makes a chronometer claim, and none says which factory makes which calibre.

Model and referenceCalibre, as printedPower reserveAccuracy per dayWater resistance
Orient Bambino, RN-AC0024LF6724, automatic with hand-winding40+ hours+25 to −15 seconds (static)3 bar
Orient Bambino Sun & Moon, RN-AK0807RF6B24, automatic40+ hours+25 to −15 seconds3 bar
Orient Mako 75th-anniversary limited, RN-AA0823LF6922, automatic with hand-winding40+ hours+25 to −15 seconds20 bar
Orient Mako 40, RN-AC0Q09RF6722, automatic40+ hours+25 to −15 seconds20 bar
Orient Star M45 F7 Small Second, RK-BS0001EF7H44, automatic with hand-winding50+ hours+15 to −5 seconds3 bar

Epson launch releases of February 2025, April 2025 and 4 February 2026; each lists 22 jewels, except the Orient Star at 24.

The table explains the split between the two brands. Orient Star, which Orient’s About page dates to 1951, uses the F7 calibres, with a longer reserve and a tighter daily tolerance in the release read. Core Orient models run F6 calibres at +25 to −15 seconds a day. Citizen, another Japanese watchmaker, has its own page in our Citizen audit.

Where Orient watches are made

Epson makes Orient through companies it owns. Its Annual Report 2026 lists Akita Epson, which makes printer components and watch movements, Epson Precision (Thailand), which makes “watches and crystal devices”, and Epson Precision (Johor) in Malaysia, which makes watch components.

On 10 September 2024 Orient announced it would move production of “some Orient products”, marked as mechanical watches, to Epson Precision (Thailand) in the Gateway City Industrial Estate. It said buyers “may notice some minor changes to the text appearing on the dials and case back of some watches to distinguish where production took place”. The notice gave no date and no list of models.

A given Orient watch may be made in Japan or in Thailand, and only the text on the watch itself says which.

Orient Star is presented differently. Epson’s February 2026 release calls its watches “Made in Japanの逸品”, Made in Japan pieces, with movements made in-house. That is brand copy about the line, not a per-model origin statement, so read the dial and case back before assuming.

What Orient costs in India

There is no Indian price to print. No Epson-named Indian seller exists, orientwatch.in was locked and showed no prices, and Myntra carried no Orient watch. This page therefore sets no price band and gives Orient no tier.

What Epson does publish is its Japanese launch prices, tax included, with the tax-exclusive figure beside each. The US distributor publishes its own prices, which are a distributor’s, not Epson’s. They are set out below in their own currencies, matched by reference code where the codes are the same and by name where they are not. No figure is converted, and no Indian comparison is made, because there is nothing Indian to compare against.

ModelReferencePriceTax basisSource and date
Orient BambinoRN-AC0024L¥44,000 (¥40,000 before tax)Japanese consumption tax includedEpson release, on sale 6 March 2025
Orient Mako 40RN-AC0Q09R¥48,400 (¥44,000 before tax)Japanese consumption tax includedEpson release, on sale 19 June 2025
Orient Mako 75th-anniversary limitedRN-AA0823L¥50,600 (¥46,000 before tax)Japanese consumption tax includedEpson release, on sale 19 June 2025
Orient Star M45 F7 Small SecondRK-BS0001E¥132,000 (¥120,000 before tax)Japanese consumption tax includedEpson release, on sale 23 April 2026
Orient Bambino Version 7 (name match only)RA-AC0M10L30BUS$330 sale, US$445 regularNo tax wording recordedOrient Watch USA, read 22 September 2026
Orient KamasuRA-AA0003R39BUS$375 sale, US$580 regularNo tax wording recordedOrient Watch USA, read 22 September 2026

Japanese figures are launch prices from Epson releases, not shelf prices read on the day. The US Bambino is a different reference from the Japanese one and is matched by name only.

Two things follow for a buyer. The Orient Star piece costs three times the core Bambino in Epson’s own Japanese pricing, so the two names are not interchangeable. And the Japanese store has moved: Orient’s own online shop closed and sales went to the Epson Direct Shop from 28 July 2026.

This page prints no Indian duty or GST figure for watches. The rate was not read from a tax-authority source, and a number without a source is a guess.

Authenticity and counterfeits

Epson publishes no counterfeit notice, serial lookup or verification page on the global Orient site. The only protection it describes is structural: the guarantee needs a booklet completed by the “authorized distributor or place of purchase”, and the distributor list says who is authorised in each country. For India, that list names no one.

The US distributor is blunter. Its authenticity page says “Counterfeit products do exist” and recommends buying only from authorised retailers, adding that “No warranty is provided for watches purchased through unauthorized dealers.” That is Puri Time’s policy for the United States, not Epson’s and not an Indian one. Neither publishes a physical tell for spotting a fake, and this page does not invent one.

Check 01

Ask for the completed guarantee booklet

Epson’s terms tie the three-year guarantee to a booklet filled in by the seller. Without dealer and purchase details, costs “may be charged”.

Check 02

Match the reference number

Compare the reference on the case back or tag with Epson’s release or an authorised distributor’s page, and check the calibre and water resistance agree.

Check 03

Read the origin on the watch

In September 2024 Epson announced that production of some mechanical Orients would move to Thailand, and said the dial and case-back text would show where. Do not assume Japan.

Check 04

Ask who the seller is

No Indian company is named by Epson. A site or shop calling itself official should be able to name the company behind it and show how it is authorised.

The record in India

Searches of Indian case law on 22 September 2026, for “orient watch”, “orient watches”, “orient watch co”, “seiko epson” and “orient star” with watch, found no decided case involving Orient watches, Orient Watch Co. or Seiko Epson as a watch trade-mark owner. The two hits for “orient watch” were unrelated matters, and the two for Seiko Epson unquoted were tax appeals of Epson India with nothing to do with watches.

That result rests on those search terms only. On those terms nobody has ruled on anything involving the watch brand, and a search for “epson india” showing 147 results confirms Epson’s Indian cases are indexed. “Orient” in Indian case law mostly means Orient Electric, Orient Paper or Orient Bell, none of which is this brand.

Who Orient is actually for

Orient suits a buyer who wants an in-house automatic at a Japanese launch price of ¥44,000 to ¥50,600, and who knows how to buy and service it. Epson’s specifications are specific and its ownership is on the record. The catch is Indian support: there is no Epson-named Indian seller, no Indian service point and no Indian price.

If you buy one abroad, keep the stamped booklet and assume servicing happens outside India. If you buy one here, you are relying on the seller rather than the brand. For a Japanese watch brand with a named Indian company behind it, compare our Casio audit, where Casio India is the importer.

Common questions

Is Orient owned by Seiko?

No. Orient belongs to Seiko Epson Corporation, the printer and projector company, which made it wholly owned in March 2009 and merged the old Orient Watch company into itself on 1 February 2026. Seiko Epson is not the Seiko watch group.

Is Orient a Japanese brand?

Yes. Orient Watch Co., Ltd. was established in Tokyo on 13 July 1950, according to Epson’s filings. Epson announced in September 2024 that production of some mechanical models would move to its factory in Thailand.

Is orientwatch.in the official Indian site?

Nothing read says so. On 22 September 2026 it showed only a maintenance password page, named no operating company, and does not appear on Epson’s distributor list.

Can I get an Orient watch serviced in India?

Epson’s Orient service network, read on 22 September 2026, lists no Indian service point, and no page read says a watch bought abroad can be serviced here.

Is Orient Star the same as Orient?

Both are Epson brands. Orient Star uses F7 calibres with a 50-plus-hour reserve and a +15 to −5 second daily rating in the release read, and launched in Japan at ¥132,000 against ¥44,000 for a Bambino.

References

  1. Seiko Epson, Annual Report 2026 — company-history entries for 2001, 2008, 2009, 2017 and 2026; watch manufacturing subsidiaries; Epson India’s business
  2. Seiko Epson, Annual Report 2022, Part 1 — the same history entries; Epson India’s segments
  3. Seiko Epson, “Epson Begins Discussions on the Restructuring of Orient Watch”, 6 September 2016 — the April 2017 plan, founding date, capital, employees, stock code
  4. Seiko Epson, notice of absorption-type merger, 5 November 2025 — merger effective 1 February 2026, the 2017 corporate split, Orient Watch’s profile, continuity of the brand
  5. Seiko Epson, results for the year ended 31 March 2026 — group revenue and profit, segment figures
  6. Seiko Epson, FY2025 results presentation, 1 May 2026 — Wearable Products revenue and outlook, what the line contains, the FY2026 segment change
  7. Orient, About Orient — “planning to manufacturing” line, the 2017 wording, Orient Star’s 1951 origin
  8. Orient, Worldwide Distributors — India absent; Sri Lanka and Singapore distributors named
  9. Orient, Service Network — regions and countries listed; India absent
  10. Orient, Terms of Guarantee — three-year wording, service route, booklet, exclusions
  11. Epson Sales Japan, guarantee extension, 17 June 2026 — three years from 1 July 2026, earlier terms, international guarantee pointer
  12. Orient Watch USA, warranty, FAQs and authenticity page — the US distributor’s warranty wordings and counterfeit advice
  13. Zauba Corp, a register mirror, Epson India Private Limited — incorporation date and place
  14. orientwatch.in — maintenance password page, read 22 September 2026
  15. QuickCompany, a register mirror, ORIENT 328548, ORIENT BAMBINO 5387276 and ORIENT MAKO 5383739 — proprietor, filing dates, validity, change of proprietor
  16. Epson, Orient Bambino release, February 2025 — Bambino specifications and prices
  17. Epson, Orient 75th-anniversary and Mako 40 release, April 2025 — Mako specifications and prices
  18. Epson, Orient Star M45 F7 Small Second release, 4 February 2026 — specifications, price, “Made in Japan” wording
  19. Orient Watch USA, Kamasu RA-AA0003R39B and Bambino Version 7 RA-AC0M10L30B — US distributor prices, read 22 September 2026
  20. Orient, transfer of production base, 10 September 2024 — mechanical production to Thailand, dial and case-back wording
  21. Epson Direct Shop, Orient and Orient online store closure notice — the move from 28 July 2026
  22. Indian Kanoon, “orient watch”, “seiko epson”, seiko epson, “orient star” watch and epson india — the case-law searches of 22 September 2026
  23. Myntra, search “orient”, read 22 September 2026 — brand filters shown; Columbia as the same-session control
The FA take

Orient is well documented where its owner is concerned. Epson files its history, names its factories, prints each calibre’s accuracy rating and reference number, and gives a three-year guarantee on Epson’s global terms. For a buyer who wants an in-house automatic and will buy it from an authorised seller abroad, the ¥44,000 Bambino is a clear, well-specified watch.

The scepticism is about India, not the watch. Epson names no Indian distributor, lists no Indian service point and prices nothing in rupees, and the one India-named site was locked and named no company. A guarantee that depends on an authorised seller and a listed service point gives an Indian buyer little to hold on to at home.

A good watch for which Epson names no Indian seller, so anyone buying one here is trusting the seller, not the brand.

Table of Contents

Get the weekly audit

One tested product, one honest verdict, every Friday.

More reads

Related reads

📲 Add Fashion Audit to Home Screen