Skip to main content

Fashion Audit

Oris Brand Audit: An Independent Swiss Watchmaker Whose Indian Locator Lists Only Ethos

Who owns Oris, how it reaches India through Ethos, what its warranty and Calibre 400 pages say, and what three references cost on its Swiss and Indian sites.

Oris is a Swiss watchmaker from the town of Hölstein, and it says it makes only mechanical watches. It sits in no listed group: its own history says a 1982 management buyout ended with “restoring its independence”, and it publishes no financial results.

In India, Oris names one kind of shop. On 22 September 2026 its Indian store locator listed 61 retail locations, and every one was an Ethos store, plus an Oris boutique in Chennai that Ethos runs. Oris’s Indian site shows rupee prices but sells nothing online.

The short answer

Oris is an independent Swiss brand with no published parent, and its Indian locator lists only Ethos stores. Its Indian site priced the Aquis Date Calibre 400 at INR 3,78,000 against CHF 3,500 in Switzerland, with no tax wording on either page. The warranty is two years, extendable to ten on Calibre 400 watches, and Oris names one Indian service centre, in Delhi.

Snapshot

Founded
1904, Hölstein, Switzerland, per Oris’s history page
Swiss companies
Oris Holding AG (registered 1982) and Oris SA (2005), both at Ribigasse 1, Hölstein, per register mirror
Owner
Shareholders not published; no listed parent
Brand revenue
Not published
Indian retail
61 locator entries, all Ethos, plus an Ethos-run Oris boutique in Chennai, 22 September 2026
Indian service centre
Ethos Limited, Square One Mall, Saket, New Delhi, per Oris’s locator
Indian company
Oris Watches India Private Limited, CIN U33309MH2012PTC232353; role not stated in any document read
Myntra shelf
No Oris brand filter, 22 September 2026
Warranty
Two years international; three, five or ten years on MyOris registration, by calibre
Price band in India
INR 2,33,000 to INR 3,78,000 on oris.ch/en-IN, three references, tax basis not stated

Who owns Oris

Oris’s history page says the company “is founded by Paul Cattin and Georges Christian in the Swiss town of Hölstein”, where the two bought a closed watch factory, under the heading 1904. The same page says that “in 1970, Oris joins ASUAG, future Swatch Group”, and that “a later management buy-out secures Oris’s future, restoring its independence”.

It describes the buyout in one sentence: “Dr Rolf Portmann and Ulrich W. Herzog lead a management buyout.” The page adds that the new company then chose “to abandon quartz and produce solely mechanical timepieces”, and that it “remains fully independent and fully mechanical”.

Oris, in its own history and the trade press
  • 1904Founded in Hölstein by Paul Cattin and Georges Christian
  • 1970Joins ASUAG, later part of Swatch Group
  • 1982Management buyout led by Rolf Portmann and Ulrich W. Herzog
  • 2016Rolf Studer and Claudine Gertiser-Herzog become joint executive officers

No shareholder list is published at any step after 1982.

Sources: Oris history page, read 22 September 2026; WatchPro, September 2015, for 2016.

The Swiss commercial register, read through the Moneyhouse mirror, carries two companies at Ribigasse 1 in Hölstein. Oris Holding AG was registered on 19 April 1982, with CHF 1.1 million of capital and a stated purpose of holding stakes in watch and jewellery businesses. Oris SA was founded on 8 June 2005 with CHF 5.0 million and makes and sells watches, movements and modules.

Both carry the same board on the mirror: Ulrich W. Herzog-Achermann, Claudine Gertiser-Herzog, Emil Klingelfuss and Dr Dieter Weisskopf, added on 12 December 2025. Rolf Studer is an authorised signatory. A Swiss company limited by shares does not publish its shareholders, so the register does not say who owns either company, or whether one owns the other.

Co-chief executive Rolf Studer put it this way to Monochrome in October 2024: “Oris is not just managed – it’s owned.” He said Herzog joined in 1978 and is now chairman. That interview names no shareholder either. WatchPro reported in 2015 that Studer and Gertiser-Herzog would become joint executive officers from 1 January 2016, with Herzog as chairman.

Oris publishes no revenue, staff or production figures, so this page prints none. For contrast with Swatch Group brands, see the FashionAudit audits of Tissot and Longines.

How Oris reaches India

Oris’s own Indian store locator is the clearest document. On 22 September 2026 it listed 61 retail locations in India, each an Ethos Limited, Ethos Summit or Ethos Store outlet, and one more entry called “Oris Boutique India” at UG-8, Palladium Mall, Velachery, Chennai. Ethos stores make up all of the retail entries on the brand’s locator.

The Chennai boutique is run by Ethos. Ethos’s own article calls it “the first dedicated Oris boutique in India”, gives the address as “Ethos Limited, UG-8, Palladium Mall”, and quotes Studer: “In Chennai, we will add now our first dedicated Oris boutique in India.” The article prints no year.

Where Oris shows up in India, 22 September 2026
  • oris.ch/en-INRupee prices; every model read “not available online”
  • Store locator61 retail entries, all Ethos
  • Chennai boutiqueOris-branded, operated by Ethos Limited
  • Service centreEthos Limited, Saket, New Delhi
  • MyntraNo Oris brand filter

Every physical point Oris names in India carries the Ethos name.

Sources: oris.ch Indian locator and product pages, Ethos boutique article, Myntra, all read 22 September 2026.

No document read describes the agreement between Oris and Ethos, or calls Ethos a distributor or importer. The locator shows where Oris sends Indian buyers; it does not say how the watches arrive.

The Indian site does not settle that either. Each product page read on oris.ch/en-IN carried a rupee price and the line “Sorry, this model is not available online. Please try one of our stores.” Its conditions of sale name “Oris SA, Switzerland” as the seller and say “We ship to United States and Great Britain.” They name no Indian company and no grievance officer.

The Indian company

There is an Indian company with the brand’s name. Oris Watches India Private Limited, CIN U33309MH2012PTC232353, was incorporated in Maharashtra on 18 June 2012, with ₹1,72,46,700 paid up, according to register mirrors. The mirrors list Ulrich Walter Herzog and Claudine Gertiser as directors, names that match the Swiss board, and one mirror lists a third. They show its last annual general meeting on 16 September 2019 and its last balance sheet for the year to 31 March 2019; mirrors can lag the register, and the MCA record itself was not read for this page.

The mirrors disagree on its status. The “PTC” in the CIN marks an ordinary private company, not a foreign company’s subsidiary, while the aggregator TheCompanyCheck labels it a “Subsidiary of foreign company (parent: Oris Holding Ag)”. Its registered office is in Vasai West, Palghar, and its GST registration, active since 1 July 2017 as “Retail Business”, gives an address in Mahim West, Mumbai. No document read says what the company does for Oris, so this page does not call it an importer or a distributor.

Oris on Myntra

Search Myntra for “oris” or “oris watch” and the brand filter offers ORBIS, with 202 listings, and no Oris entry. On 22 September 2026 the Oris catalogue count was zero. Columbia, the control brand used across these readings, returned 2,428 listings in the same session.

That leaves no Myntra price, seller of record or statutory declaration to report for Oris. The brand’s own help pages say “We only sell our watches through our network of Oris boutiques, authorised Oris dealers and the Oris eShop.”

Warranty and service in India

Oris’s help centre promises “a two-year international warranty on all watches purchased from an authorised dealer, starting from the date of purchase”. Registering the watch on MyOris, the owner’s account, extends it: most watches to three years, Calibre 100 Series watches to five, and Calibre 400 Series watches to ten.

There is a condition in front of that. “The dealer will need to activate your warranty before you can extend it on MyOris,” Oris says, through its dealer system, OWA. The terms, updated on 26 August 2026, cover “material and manufacturing defects” and add: “The guarantee is only valid if the watch has been registered by an official dealer or if the owner has officially registered the guarantee with MyOris.”

The exclusions are listed plainly: normal wear such as scratches and strap discolouration, not following Oris’s recommendations, accidents and impacts, repairs at unauthorised service centres, modifications and indirect damage. The terms also say “The warranty does not restrict mandatory statutory rights.”

The ten-year promise depends on a dealer first switching the warranty on.

For repairs outside Switzerland, Oris’s instruction is “Send the watch to a local service centre for repair.” Its Indian locator names one: Ethos Limited – Delhi, Shop No. 118-120, Square One Mall, Saket. The warranty is called international and the terms name no excluded country, but no page read says in terms that a watch bought abroad is serviced in India. Oris publishes no Indian service prices.

What Oris says about its movements

Oris’s Calibre 400 page calls the movement “independently conceived by Oris”, with a “five-day power reserve (120 hours)”. It says the calibre is “engineered with over 30 non-ferrous, anti-magnetic components” and “deviated less than 10 seconds a day after exposure to 2,250 gauss”. Gauss is the unit of magnetic field strength. The page names no testing standard or test house for that figure.

The same page promises “10-year service intervals on these watches, barring accidental damage”. Monochrome’s launch report of 15 October 2020 said the calibre was “developed entirely in-house by COO Beat Fischli and his team” and “produced by a network of suppliers”. That is the magazine’s account; Oris’s page itself says “conceived”.

Not every Oris carries the Calibre 400. The Aquis Date 41.5 mm page gives “Caliber 733-1”, automatic, with 41 hours of reserve; the Big Crown Pointer Date gives Calibre 754 with 38 hours. Oris names these by its own numbers only. In the October 2024 interview, Monochrome added an editor’s note calling the Caliber 733 “the Oris name for the Sellita SW200-1”. That identification is Monochrome’s; no Oris page read names Sellita.

Oris also calls itself climate neutral. Its help centre says it has been “certified as climate neutral since 2021 when we were independently audited by ClimatePartner”, and its 2024 sustainability report was “produced in partnership with independent Swiss climate experts ClimatePartner”. Its “Change for the Better” line is a campaign name, not a certification.

What Oris costs in India

Oris publishes rupee prices on its Indian site, though it sells nothing there. On 22 September 2026 the same three references read as follows on the Swiss and Indian versions of oris.ch. The reference number is identical on each pair, so these are code matches, not name matches.

Reference Model oris.ch, Switzerland oris.ch, India Match
01 400 7763 4135-07 8 24 09PEB Aquis Date Calibre 400, 43.5 mm CHF 3’500.00 INR 3,78,000.00 Code
01 733 7766 4135-07 8 22 05PEB Aquis Date 41.5 mm, Caliber 733-1 CHF 2’300.00, listed as not available INR 2,49,000.00 Code
01 754 7741 4065-07 8 20 22 Big Crown Pointer Date 40 mm, Calibre 754 CHF 2’150.00 INR 2,33,000.00 Code

Tax basis: not stated on either page. No currency conversion is made. All read 22 September 2026.

Neither the Swiss nor the Indian page prints VAT, GST, “MRP” or “inclusive of all taxes”, so the tax basis of both columns is not stated. The rupee figures are Oris’s displayed prices, not labelled MRPs. This page therefore sets the two side by side and prints no percentage gap.

For a watch bought abroad, one fact applies: the Budget 2026-27 cut duty on goods imported for personal use to 10% from 1 April 2026; how that applies to a watch in practice is not established.

Worth knowing

Oris’s rupee prices carry no tax wording, so they cannot be read as MRPs. In an Ethos store, ask to see the MRP inclusive of taxes printed on the box.

Buying a genuine Oris

Oris’s help centre says “Only an authorised Oris dealer can guarantee that your watch is authentic”, and that “Oris and its service centres will not recognise any watch that does not have its serial number or is not accompanied with the Oris Warranty Card.” It publishes no physical tells, and this page invents none.

Its advice starts with numbers: “The first step in verifying the authenticity of your Oris watch is to check the reference number together with the serial number.” It also warns that “Counterfeit watches may occasionally display numbers that appear valid”, does not verify watches remotely, and sends owners to authorised retailers or service centres, which may charge for an inspection.

Check 01

Buy from the locator

In India, Oris’s locator lists Ethos stores and the Ethos-run Chennai boutique. A seller outside that list is one Oris does not name.

Check 02

Get the warranty activated

Ask the dealer to activate the warranty in OWA before you leave, then register on MyOris. On a Calibre 400 that is the difference between two years and ten.

Check 03

Keep the card and match the numbers

Keep the stamped Oris Warranty Card and the receipt, and match the reference to the one on oris.ch.

Check 04

Use the warranty check

Oris runs a public page called OWA Warranty Check at my.oris.ch. What it returns was not tested for this page, so ask the dealer to show the activation.

Who Oris is actually for

Oris suits an Indian buyer who wants a mechanical Swiss watch from a company with no group parent, and who will buy it in an Ethos store and register it. The Calibre 400 models make the strongest written case: 120 hours of reserve, a stated magnetism figure and ten years of warranty after registration. For comparison, FashionAudit has also audited Tudor and Omega.

Common questions

Who owns Oris?

Oris publishes no shareholder list, and the Swiss register does not show the shareholders of a company limited by shares. Its history page says a 1982 management buyout led by Rolf Portmann and Ulrich W. Herzog restored its independence, and it has no listed parent.

Where can I buy an Oris in India?

On 22 September 2026 Oris’s Indian locator listed 61 retail locations, all Ethos stores, plus an Ethos-run Oris boutique in Chennai. Oris’s Indian site shows prices but sells nothing online, and Myntra had no Oris brand filter.

Does the Oris warranty work in India?

Oris calls its two-year warranty international and names no excluded country, and its locator lists an Indian service centre in Saket, Delhi. No page read says in terms that a watch bought abroad is serviced in India.

Does Oris use Sellita movements?

No Oris page read names Sellita. Oris names its movements by its own numbers, such as Caliber 733-1. Monochrome, in an editor’s note, called the 733 the Oris name for the Sellita SW200-1; that is the magazine’s statement.

How much is an Oris in India?

Oris’s Indian site listed INR 2,33,000 to INR 3,78,000 for the three references read on 22 September 2026. The pages print no tax wording, so these are not labelled MRPs.

References

  1. Oris, history page — 1904 founding and founders, 1970 ASUAG, 1982 buyout, “fully independent and fully mechanical”, read 22 September 2026
  2. Moneyhouse, Oris Holding AG and Oris SA, Swiss register mirror — dates, capital, seat, purpose, board, signatory
  3. Monochrome, interview with Rolf Studer (25 October 2024) — “not just managed – it’s owned”, Herzog as chairman, the editor’s note on Caliber 733
  4. WatchPro, September 2015 — joint executive officers from 1 January 2016, Herzog as chairman
  5. Oris, Indian store locator — 61 Ethos retail entries, the Chennai boutique, the Saket service centre, read 22 September 2026
  6. Ethos, Oris boutique in Chennai — “first dedicated Oris boutique in India”, Ethos Limited address, the Studer quote
  7. oris.ch/en-IN, Conditions of Sale — Oris SA as seller, shipping to the United States and Great Britain, read 22 September 2026
  8. Zauba Corp and InsiderBiz, register mirrors — Oris Watches India CIN, incorporation, paid-up capital, directors, registered office, last AGM and balance sheet
  9. TheCompanyCheck, aggregator — the “Subsidiary of foreign company” label
  10. KnowYourGST, GST mirror — registration date, “Retail Business”, Mahim West address
  11. Oris help centre, warranty and Calibre 400 ten-year warranty — two-year term and MyOris extensions
  12. Oris help centre, what the warranty covers (updated 26 August 2026) — coverage, validity, exclusions, statutory rights
  13. Oris help centre, OWA and repair service — dealer activation; the local service centre instruction
  14. Oris, Calibre 400 — “independently conceived”, 120 hours, 30-plus non-ferrous parts, 2,250 gauss figure, 10-year service interval
  15. Monochrome, Calibre 400 launch (15 October 2020) — developed in-house, produced by a network of suppliers, as reported
  16. oris.ch, Aquis Date Calibre 400 (and the same path under /en-IN/) — CHF and INR prices, size, read 22 September 2026
  17. oris.ch, Aquis Date 41.5 mm — Caliber 733-1, 41 hours, CHF and INR prices, read 22 September 2026
  18. oris.ch, Big Crown Pointer Date — Calibre 754, 38 hours, CHF and INR prices, read 22 September 2026
  19. Oris help centre, sustainability and Sustainability report 2024 — climate-neutral certification, ClimatePartner, “Change for the Better”
  20. Oris help centre, is my watch genuine and verifying authenticity — authorised channels, warranty card, reference and serial numbers
  21. Oris, OWA Warranty Check — the public warranty-check page
The FA take

Oris writes things down. Its movement page gives a reserve, a magnetism figure and a service interval; its warranty terms list what is covered and what is not; and its Indian site shows a rupee price for each reference. A buyer who takes a Calibre 400 Aquis from an Ethos store, has the warranty activated and registers it gets a ten-year written promise, on paper Oris itself publishes.

The gaps are in the Indian plumbing. Oris names no Indian importer, its rupee prices print no tax basis, and no document read says what the Indian company bearing its name does. The “independent” claim rests on Oris’s own history and a chief executive’s word, because the register publishes no shareholders.

A well-documented independent Swiss watch sold in India through one retailer, Ethos: worth buying there, but only with the warranty switched on before you leave the counter.

Table of Contents

Get the weekly audit

One tested product, one honest verdict, every Friday.

More reads

asa Beauty Brand Audit: The Pack Facts No Listing Prints

asa Beauty is a Mumbai colour-cosmetics brand whose company is “Active” on the register under a wholesale activity code. What its lipsticks cost at named Indian retailers, why no listing read publishes a manufacturer or a cosmetic licence number, how one retailer’s origin field reads three ways across five listings of the same brand, and what the March 2024 trade-press acquisition does and does not establish.

Read More »

Related reads

Search Category
₹0 - ₹58,900
By Price: ₹0 - ₹58,900
📲 Add Fashion Audit to Home Screen