Prada is an Italian luxury house, listed in Hong Kong, that makes its goods in twenty-five factories it owns. It also has no India at all — no Indian website, no store, no company trading here today, and no Indian partner named in anything we read.
What it does have here is a shelf: 839 Myntra listings on 23 September 2026, sold and imported by two small Delhi companies. Every rupee figure on this page comes from that shelf, because Prada sets none.
Prada S.p.A. is 80% held by Prada Holding S.p.A. and listed in Hong Kong, where it publishes revenue brand by brand — a disclosure most luxury owners do not make. Asked for India on 23 September 2026, its store locator showed nothing; there is no Indian country site; India appears nowhere in the 2025 annual report; and the one Indian company the record links to the house has the register status “Strike Off”. The same day, 100 Myntra listings gave a median MRP of ₹2,21,500.
Snapshot
- Company
- Prada S.p.A., Via Antonio Fogazzaro 28, 20135 Milan; share capital €255,882,400 fully paid up
- Listing
- Hong Kong Stock Exchange Main Board, stock code 1913; 2,558,824,000 shares of €0.10
- Shareholding
- Prada Holding S.p.A. 80%, public float 20%, as at 30 June 2026
- Mark holder
- Prada S.A., Luxembourg, described on prada.com as a company fully owned by Prada S.p.A.
- Prada-brand revenue
- €3,795.6 million in FY2025, down from €3,988.1 million in FY2024
- Manufacturing
- 25 owned industrial facilities — 23 in Italy, one in the UK, one in Romania
- Route to India
- None found: no country site, no store, no active company, no named partner
- Indian company
- PRADA INDIA FASHION PRIVATE LIMITED, CIN U74994MH2008PTC189028, register status “Strike Off”
- Price basis in India
- Myntra median MRP ₹2,21,500 across 100 listings, read 23 September 2026
Who owns Prada, and what the owner publishes
The listed parent is Prada S.p.A., whose registered office, VAT number and Milan company-register number are printed on prada.com’s own legal notice. The same notice says the Prada trade mark and the website are “owned and registered by Prada S.A.” of Luxembourg, “a company fully owned by Prada S.p.A.” The operating company and the mark-holding company are two entities in two countries, and the house says so itself.
Prada Holding S.p.A. held 2,046,470,760 shares, or 80%, at 30 June 2026, against a 20% float. The annual report also names Bellatrix S.p.A. and Ludo S.p.A. among the shareholders without a percentage for either, and no document we read states what any family holds, so this page says Prada Holding holds 80% and stops there.
The disclosure that matters is the brand split. Most luxury owners publish a division; Prada publishes each brand. In FY2025 group net revenues were €5,718 million, up 5% as reported and 9% at constant exchange rates, with net income of €852 million — and underneath it, Prada-brand revenue fell while Miu Miu’s rose by almost a third.
| Net revenues by brand | FY2025 (€m) | FY2024 (€m) | Share of group, FY2025 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Prada | 3,795.6 | 3,988.1 | 66.4% |
| Miu Miu | 1,786.8 | 1,377.9 | 31.3% |
| Versace (one month from completion) | 65.1 | — | 1.1% |
| Church’s | 39.5 | 37.6 | 0.7% |
| Other | 30.6 | 27.9 | 0.5% |
| Total | 5,717.5 | 5,431.6 | 100% |
In the six months to 30 June 2026 the group took €3,048 million from 832 stores, up 11% as reported and 16% at constant exchange rates, while adjusted EBIT fell to €530 million from €619 million and net income to €327 million from €386 million. Prada-brand revenue for the half was €1,834.0 million against €1,844.0 million. Every growth figure here carries a basis; the headline one is constant-currency.
The Versace purchase, announced on 10 April 2025 at “US$1.375 billion” before closing adjustments and “satisfied by cash”, closed on 2 December 2025 and added 220 stores. It was funded by a €1,500 million syndicated facility, of which €1,000 million and €300 million were drawn at closing, plus a €200 million bilateral loan. The final sum paid after the adjustment is not disclosed, so the announced price is the only one here.
How Prada reaches India
- Store locatorIndia query shows “Your search yielded no results”
- Country sites34 country codes on the sitemap, no IN among them
- Annual reportNo India line in the store network or subsidiary list
- Companies registerOne house-linked company, status “Strike Off”
Nothing read names an Indian partner or distributor.
Prada’s own store locator for India, titled “Prada stores India”, displayed “Your search yielded no results. Please try a new one.” on 23 September 2026. The same locator serves a network of 832 shops, and the India query gave a message rather than a failure, so it ran and found nothing.
The sitemap index lists 34 country codes and IN is not among them; Indian addresses on prada.com show a page-not-found. The 2025 annual report counts directly operated stores by region — Asia Pacific 318, Europe 245, Americas 145, Japan 107, Middle East 28 at 31 December 2025 — with no India line, and India appears in neither the group structure nor the subsidiary list. The group distributes in more than 70 countries. India is not shown to be one of them.
Nor can an Indian buyer order from the site we read: the US terms name the seller as “PRADA USA Corp., 610 West 52nd Street, New York” and say it does “not ship to Canada or other locations outside the United States”. The contact page offers “IN +91” in a telephone-code list, a number format, nothing more. Reliance Brands’ and Tata CLiQ Luxury’s pages were not readable in this pass, so this page makes no finding about either.
The Indian company, and what the register carries
- Incorporated 18 December 2008₹1,00,000 paid up, Nariman Point, Mumbai
- Last balance sheet 31 March 2015Last annual general meeting 30 September 2015
- Register status “Strike Off”As the register mirror printed it, 23 September 2026
The CIN carries four facts: U for unlisted, MH for Maharashtra, 2008 for the year, and PTC for an ordinary private company rather than the code used for a foreign subsidiary. Paid-up capital was ₹1,00,000 — one lakh rupees, a holding vehicle, not an operating seller. Three directors appear on the mirror, and one name matches the group’s chief financial officer.
That name match is a strong indication and not a shareholding: the register states no holding company, and no filing we read connects the two. A register status is not a finding against anyone. It supports one sentence — an Indian company carrying the house’s name was set up in December 2008, stopped filing after March 2015, and now carries that status. Other companies on the register hold the word Prada, including a Mumbai fit-out contractor, and nothing read ties them to the house.
Who sells Prada in India, and what the listings declare
The Prada facet on Myntra carried 839 listings on 23 September 2026, 253 handbags and 24 perfumes among them. A sounding of 100 gave a median MRP of ₹2,21,500 and a median paid of ₹1,82,590, or 82.4% of MRP, with 90 of the 100 reduced. Handbags made up 36 of that hundred and perfume 23. A control brand read the same day behaved normally.
| 40 Prada records, read 23 September 2026 | What they declare |
|---|---|
| Seller of record | Vision Star on 22; Darveys Global Store Private Limited on 18 |
| Country of origin | France 21, Italy 17, Spain 1, Romania 1 |
| Importer | NR Wardrobe Fuss Private Limited on 18; Global SS Beauty Brands Ltd on 18 |
| Manufacturer line | “Via Antonio Fogazzaro 28, 20135 Milano, Italy” on 18; SOPROREAL on 10, FAPAGAU on 2 and COSMEUROP on 2, all France |
Both named companies are small Delhi ones. Darveys Global Store Private Limited, CIN U52609DL2018PTC331151, was incorporated on 19 March 2018 at 32 Ishwar Nagar, Mathura Road, with ₹1,00,000 authorised and paid up, status Active, last balance sheet 31 March 2023. NR Wardrobe Fuss Private Limited, CIN U51101DL2013PTC259910, was incorporated on 5 November 2013 at B-6/9 Okhla Industrial Area Phase 2, with the same ₹1,00,000, status and balance-sheet date. The register lists the same two directors for both. We print the companies and not the individuals, and no document we read links either to Prada or says anything about the goods.
Vision Star, the seller on 22 of the 40, appears here only as the declaration names it. The Milan address on the manufacturer line is Prada’s own registered office, which tells a buyer whose bag it is, not who sewed it.
Twenty-five factories of its own, and a product page that tells the buyer only “Imported”.
Where the bags are made
Prada’s 2025 annual report is unusually specific: “The Group’s products are crafted in 25 owned industrial facilities (23 in Italy, 1 in the UK and 1 in Romania).” That is owned manufacturing, not contract manufacturing, and the report names plants — Valvigna, a knitwear factory at Torgiano in Umbria opened in 2024, production companies at Porto S. Elpidio, Montale, Monza, Montegranaro, Senigallia, Gubbio and Trissino, and the Romanian site at Sibiu. It adds that “sensitive processes — such as the creation of prototypes and samples, the cutting of hides” happen at group facilities.
Now read the product page. The Prada Galleria medium Saffiano leather bag, reference 1BA457_NZV_F0002_V_EOM at $4,400, gives “Main material: Calfskin” and, under origin, one word: “Imported”. The Re-Edition 2005 Re-Nylon bag, 1BH204_R064_F0632_V_V9L at $2,250, gives “Main material: Recycled Polyamide” and, again, “Imported”. Both sentences are Prada’s own, and we print both and resolve neither: a buyer on the house’s own site cannot tell which plant made the bag. The supplier count and the share of output by country are not on the pages we read.
The Indian listings are where a country actually appears: France 21, Italy 17, Spain 1 and Romania 1 across 40 records, the French ones sitting with the perfume importer and the single Romanian entry matching the group’s Romanian plant. If origin matters to you, the listing declaration carries it and the product page does not.
What Prada costs, and why the Indian column is empty
| Prada Galleria, Saffiano leather | Reference | US price, sales tax extra | EU price, tax basis not stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Mini | 1BA916_NZV_F0002_V_EOO | $3,950 | €2,950 |
| Small | 1BA896_NZV_F0002_V_EOO | $4,800 | €3,550 |
| Medium | 1BA457_NZV_F0002_V_EOM | $4,400 | €3,200 |
| Medium | 1BA863_NZV_F0002_V_EOO | Not listed on the page read | €3,850 |
| Large | 1BA274_NZV_F0002_V_EOO | $5,500 | €4,100 |
Those columns are raw, on style codes matched across the two sites on 23 September 2026. The US terms say sales tax is added at checkout, so the dollar figures exclude it; the euro pages printed no tax basis at all, so this page does not call them tax-inclusive. No conversion and no gap figure appears, because the two sides are not stated on the same basis. In nylon, the Re-Edition 2005 runs $2,250, the Saffiano version $2,850 and the 2008 mini-bag $1,150.
There is no third column. With no Indian site, shop or seller of Prada’s own, the house sets no Indian MRP, so the only rupee figures a reader can hold are the marketplace’s. This page therefore takes its price band from the Myntra median MRP of ₹2,21,500, and says so: that is a re-seller’s median, not a Prada price, and it sits well above our ₹40,000 Luxury floor for bags. Set it against Indian bag brands such as VIP Industries, Safari or uppercase, whose Indian company, MRP and grievance officer are all printed on their own sites.
One duty figure is worth carrying: a bag imported under customs heading 4202 attracts 18% IGST, by Notification No. 9/2025-Integrated Tax (Rate) of 17 September 2025, and the personal-import rate was cut to 10% from 1 April 2026.
Authenticity, in Prada’s own words
Prada Group is a founding member of the Aura Blockchain Consortium, whose Digital Product Passport, in its own words, turns “each product into a secure, brand-controlled digital identity” that “connects origin, components, authenticity, ownership, compliance, circularity”. Two Prada Group executives sit on its governance.
What reaches a buyer is narrower. The Galleria medium Saffiano page says the product features “Aura Blockchain technology, which allows its authenticity to be verified.” The Re-Edition 2005 Re-Nylon page, read the same day, carried no such line. So the passport is a per-product feature on the pages we read, not a range-wide promise — and a house can make the wider promise, as Breitling did in October 2020 for all its new watches.
Beyond that, Prada publishes no list of authorised retailers for India or anywhere we could find, no serial-number lookup, no page on spotting a fake, and no warranty term for leather goods on the FAQ pages we read. There is no route back to the house for a verdict on a bag bought elsewhere, and no published tell. We will not invent one.
Read the seller and importer lines
On an Indian listing the declaration names who is answerable for the goods. On this shelf that is a Delhi company, not Prada.
Look for the Aura line on that exact product
It appears on some Prada product pages and not others, so check the reference you are buying.
Match the style code, keep the invoice
References such as 1BA457_NZV_F0002_V_EOM are printed on prada.com, and the origin, importer and MRP are on the box. Turn it over in the shop.
The record in India
One decided Indian matter names the house. In PIL No. 72 of 2025, citation 2025:BHC-AS:29310-DB, the Bombay High Court — Chief Justice Alok Aradhe and Justice Sandeep V. Marne — on 16 July 2025 declined to entertain a public interest petition brought by six advocates. They sought a permanent injunction restraining Prada from commercialising “Toe Ring Sandals” said to copy the geographical-indication-registered Kolhapuri Chappal, plus a public apology and compensation for artisans. The Court held that the registered proprietors of the GI, LIDCOM and LIDKAR, have statutory remedies of their own: “An action which can be brought by way of a suit by registered proprietor of GI cannot be permitted to be agitated through a PIL.” No damages and no costs appear in the judgment we read.
Read that for exactly what it is. The Court decided the route, on the petition as it then stood; the copying claim was never tested on its merits, nobody has ruled on the substance, and no apology or statement by Prada appears in the judgment.
The searches behind that sentence had a control. “Prada S.p.A.” showed nothing on the Indian case database, and the bare word returns 481 documents that are nearly all Andhra Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh truncations or personal names. A control search for Gucci returns 48 and includes the Italian house as a named plaintiff, and a “passing off” search carrying Prada’s name brings back Cartier, Louis Vuitton, Luxottica, Christian Louboutin and Lacoste as parties. The database does index foreign luxury houses as litigants, so read Prada’s absence as nothing found under those terms.
One published list is checkable. IP India’s List of Well-Known Trade Marks runs to 298 entries, and Louis Vuitton, Cartier and Gucci are on it while PRADA is not; the list returns those known positives, so the absence belongs to the list rather than to our reading. The wider register’s public search now needs an OTP login and was not readable in this pass, so this page claims nothing about who holds the PRADA mark here.
Prada publishes no list of authorised sellers for India. Treat any rupee price you see as a re-seller’s, read the importer line before you pay, and keep the invoice.
Common questions
Does Prada have stores in India?
Not on its own evidence. Prada’s store locator for India showed “Your search yielded no results” on 23 September 2026, there is no Indian country site among the 34 codes on its sitemap, and India appears in neither the store network by region nor the subsidiary list in the 2025 annual report.
Who sells Prada on Indian marketplaces, then?
On 40 Myntra records read on 23 September 2026, the seller of record was Vision Star on 22 and Darveys Global Store Private Limited on 18. The importer was NR Wardrobe Fuss Private Limited on 18 and Global SS Beauty Brands Ltd on the 18 perfume records. Nothing we read links any of them to Prada.
Is a Prada bag made in Italy?
The 2025 annual report says the group’s products are crafted in 25 owned facilities, 23 of them in Italy, one in the UK and one in Romania. The product pages say only “Imported”. The 40 Indian listings declared France 21, Italy 17, Spain 1 and Romania 1.
Can I check whether a Prada bag is real?
Only partly, and only on some products. The Galleria Saffiano page names Aura blockchain verification; the Re-Edition Re-Nylon page read the same day does not. There is no serial lookup and no authorised-retailer list, so the practical answer is to buy at a Prada counter abroad, keep the invoice and match the style code.
What was decided in the Kolhapuri chappal case?
The Bombay High Court declined to entertain the public interest petition on 16 July 2025, holding that the registered proprietors of the geographical indication have their own statutory remedies. The copying claim itself was never tested, and no damages or costs appear in the judgment.
Why does this audit quote no Indian MRP?
Because Prada sets none here. With no Indian site, store or seller of its own, the only rupee figures available are a marketplace’s, so the price band on this page rests on the Myntra median MRP of ₹2,21,500 rather than on anything Prada published.
References
- Prada Group, Annual Report 2025 — the 25 owned facilities and the named plants, net revenues by brand, the store network by region with no India line, and the Versace financing
- Prada Group FY2025 results release, 5 March 2026 — group net revenues of €5,718 million, the reported and constant-currency bases, and group net income of €852 million
- Prada Group H1 2026 results release, 30 July 2026 and the interim financial report filed 16 September 2026 — the half-year revenue, adjusted EBIT, net income, 832 stores and the brand split
- Prada Group shareholder information — Prada Holding S.p.A. at 80% and the 20% float as at 30 June 2026
- Versace acquisition announcement, 10 April 2025 and the completion announcement of 2 December 2025 — the US$1.375 billion figure before closing adjustments, the cash consideration and the drawdowns
- prada.com legal notice — the Milan registered office, the share capital and the statement that the mark is owned and registered by Prada S.A., Luxembourg
- Prada store locator, India and the prada.com sitemap index — the India result and the 34 country codes, read 23 September 2026
- prada.com US terms and conditions of sale — PRADA USA Corp as seller, the sales-tax wording and the shipping exclusions
- Prada Galleria medium Saffiano leather bag product page, the Re-Edition 2005 Re-Nylon bag page and the euro Galleria listing — the materials lines, the “Imported” origin, the Aura sentence on one page and not the other, and the dollar and euro prices by reference
- Aura Blockchain Consortium — Prada Group as a founding member, the two Prada Group executives in its governance and the Digital Product Passport wording
- Breitling press release, 13 October 2020 — the range-wide blockchain passport, used here only as the comparison for what a house can publish
- Indian companies register mirror, PRADA INDIA FASHION PRIVATE LIMITED, Darveys Global Store Private Limited and NR Wardrobe Fuss Private Limited — CINs, incorporation dates, addresses, paid-up capital, filing dates, the “Strike Off” status and the shared directorships
- Myntra brand facet, a 100-listing sounding and 40 product declarations for Prada, with a control brand read the same day, 23 September 2026 — the 839 listings, the median MRP and price paid, the sellers of record, importers, manufacturer lines and countries of origin
- Bombay High Court, PIL No. 72 of 2025, 2025:BHC-AS:29310-DB, 16 July 2025 — the parties, the relief sought, the passage on the GI proprietors’ remedies and the absence of damages or costs
- IP India, List of Well-Known Trade Marks — 298 entries, with Louis Vuitton, Cartier and Gucci present and PRADA absent
- Notification No. 9/2025-Integrated Tax (Rate), 17 September 2025, and the Union Budget customs annexure — 18% IGST on heading 4202 and the personal-import rate cut to 10% from 1 April 2026
Prada is better than almost any luxury owner on two things a reader can check. It publishes revenue brand by brand, so you can see that Prada-brand revenue fell from €3,988.1 million to €3,795.6 million in FY2025 while Miu Miu carried the group. And it owns its factories — 25 of them, 23 in Italy — which is a real answer to the question most houses dodge.
Then it stops. The house that names Valvigna and Sibiu in its annual report tells a buyer on its own product page one word, “Imported”; the Aura line sits on the Galleria page and not the Re-Nylon one; and in India there is no site, no shop, no active company and nobody to ask. What fills that space is 839 Myntra listings at a median MRP of ₹2,21,500, sold and imported by two Delhi companies with ₹1,00,000 of capital each and the same two directors on the register.
A Luxury-band bag priced off a marketplace median because the house sets no Indian price: buy it at a Prada counter abroad, keep the invoice, and expect no verdict from Milan on anything bought here.




