Brooks Brothers is an American clothier founded in 1818, and India can buy it. Its own Indian shop prices 246 dress shirts, 157 polos and 26 suits in rupees, and its Indian company has been on the register since 2012.
Two companies appear in that shopfront’s paperwork: the site’s terms name one, and every product page names the other.
Brooks Brothers sells here through Brooks Brothers India Private Limited, CIN U74900MH2012PTC227437, a Mumbai company carrying ₹92.37 crore of revenue for the year to 31 March 2025 on a register aggregator. Its Indian website is operated by Reliance Brands Limited, by that site’s own terms, while the same site’s product pages name the Brooks Brothers company as importer and marketer. Dress shirts ran ₹18,000 and ₹22,000 on 15 September 2026, with no reduction showing.
Snapshot
- Founded
- 1818, United States; the company marked its 200th anniversary in 2018
- Who owns the name
- Authentic Brands Group, which bought the intellectual property and runs the licensing
- Who operates the brand
- Catalyst Brands, formed 8 January 2025 from SPARC Group and JCPenney
- Indian company
- Brooks Brothers India Private Limited, CIN U74900MH2012PTC227437, incorporated 27 February 2012, active, ROC Mumbai
- Registered office
- 8th Floor, Maker Tower ‘E’, Cuffe Parade, Mumbai 400005
- Indian revenue
- ₹92.37 crore for the year ended 31 March 2025, as a register aggregator carries it, with a 45.23% growth figure attached
- Who runs the Indian website
- Reliance Brands Limited, named as the operator in the terms at brooksbrothers.in
- Importer and marketer
- Brooks Brothers India Pvt. Ltd, with a full address, on all five product pages read 15 September 2026
- Where the goods are made
- Italy for suits, Madagascar and Thailand for shirts and polos, on those five pages
- Price band in India
- Luxury — dress shirts ₹18,000 to ₹22,000 at full MRP, suits ₹1,47,500 to ₹1,89,600, read 15 September 2026
Who owns Brooks Brothers, and who runs it
Brooks Brothers Group, Inc. filed for Chapter 11 on 8 July 2020 in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware, announcing the closure of 51 stores and a $75 million facility from WHP Global. Two years earlier it had run more than 280 American stores and more than 700 locations abroad.
SPARC Group LLC, the buyer under the $305 million stalking horse agreement of 23 July 2020, undertook to keep at least 125 stores open and was described in that release as partly owned by Authentic Brands Group.
- Chapter 11, District of DelawareFiled 8 July 2020; 51 stores to close
- $305 million stalking horse, SPARC GroupAnnounced 23 July 2020
- Sale to Authentic Brands Group and SPARCMoved for approval at $325 million, 11 August 2020
- SPARC merges with JCPenney to form Catalyst BrandsAnnounced 8 January 2025
The sale had two parts. Authentic’s own announcement of the completed acquisition says it purchased the intellectual property and oversees the licensing, while SPARC is the core operating licensee running retail, wholesale and e-commerce. Authentic owns the name; an operating company rents it. The site’s Guess audit records the same architecture, with Authentic holding 51% of substantially all the trademarks there; here it holds them outright and owns part of the operator too.
That operator changed shape on 8 January 2025, when SPARC merged with JCPenney to form Catalyst Brands — a joint venture of Simon Property Group, Brookfield Corporation, Authentic Brands Group and Shein, with Ken Ohashi as brand chief executive of Brooks Brothers. Its stated revenue above $9 billion and 1,800 stores are group figures, not Brooks Brothers ones.
That announcement named six brands. Catalyst’s own homepage on 15 September 2026 names five — JCPenney, Brooks Brothers, Aeropostale, Lucky Brand and Nautica. Eddie Bauer is not on the list and Brooks Brothers is.
Two companies, one Indian shopfront
The Indian website reads as one brand shop, and its paperwork names two companies. The terms at brooksbrothers.in open with “Reliance Brands Limited, having registered office at 5th Floor, Court House, Lokmanya Tilak Marg, Dhobi Talao, Maharashtra, Mumbai 400002, India (‘we’, ‘us’ or ‘our’)”, and define the Brooks Brothers Platform as that website and its applications. The footer carries a copyright line for Brooks Brothers India Pvt Ltd, and every product page names that company as marketer and importer, with the Maker Tower address in full.
| Where it is published | Which company it names | In what role |
|---|---|---|
| Terms and conditions, brooksbrothers.in | Reliance Brands Limited, Mumbai 400002 | Operator of the platform |
| Footer of the same site | Brooks Brothers India Pvt Ltd | Copyright holder |
| Every product page read, 15 September 2026 | Brooks Brothers India Pvt. Ltd, Maker Tower ‘E’, Mumbai 400005 | Importer and marketer |
All three were read on the same site on the same day, in different roles. For a complaint, the terms name the platform’s grievance officer; for the goods, the product pages name the importer.
The 1818 suit at ₹1,47,500 strips of GST to about US$1,306, against an American list of US$1,498.
What the register carries
The company was incorporated on 27 February 2012, is active, and sits under the Mumbai registrar with ₹54 crore authorised and ₹50 crore paid up. The ₹92.37 crore for the year to 31 March 2025 comes from a register aggregator, with a 45.23% growth figure attached — a reproduction of a filing, not audited accounts. No profit figure appears here.
The register mirrors read are snapshots of different dates and do not agree on the current board, so no list of directors is set out here.
The joint venture, and the part that is not public
Brooks Brothers Group, Inc. and Reliance Brands Limited announced a joint venture in Mumbai on 5 June 2012, to sell through exclusive mono-brand stores. That release states no equity split. Trade press the same day reported Reliance Brands at 49 per cent with the rest sitting with Brooks Brothers, and gave an indicative band of ₹5,000 to ₹60,000 for shirts and suits.
That reading is fourteen years old. No filing read states the split today, and one aggregator gives the holding company as “BB India Holdings LLC”. The current proportions are not public. The venture is still active. A trade report of 14 July 2025 records a store opening at Phoenix Mall of Asia, described as a continuing alliance with Reliance Brands.
No Indian store count is published in any document read, and the July 2025 opening report gives no total. Ring ahead before a visit.
What Brooks Brothers costs in India
Prices on brooksbrothers.in are MRP inclusive of all taxes, as the pages state, and were read on 15 September 2026. The twelve products each collection page showed are the sample — twelve, not a hundred.
Dress shirts carried no reduction at all: seven of the twelve at ₹22,000 for the Thomas Mason luxury cotton shirt, five at ₹18,000 for the non-iron dobby. Suits carried none either — ten at ₹1,47,500, one at ₹1,50,000, two at ₹1,89,600. Polos were the exception, nine of twelve cut by 40% or 50% — a ₹14,700 rugby stripe at ₹8,820, an ₹8,400 Supima pique at ₹5,040. Shirts and suits sell at the tag price; polos are the discount rail.
Tax sits inside all of it. Since 22 September 2025, following the 56th GST Council, garments are taxed at 5% up to ₹2,500 a piece and 18% above it, and every Brooks Brothers garment read is above ₹2,500. What import duty adds on top is not stated here: the tariff readings available for men’s cotton shirts are years old and pre-date the 2025 change.
The same brand, priced two ways
Brooks Brothers runs its own shop in both countries, which makes a comparison tempting — and the codes do not meet. India uses item codes such as 100222381; America uses style codes such as MK01219. No shared product code was found, so no matched-style comparison is offered and none of what follows is one. Each price below is what one shop charged for one line on one day.
Where a rupee figure is converted, the rate is ₹95.7245 to one US dollar — the FBIL reference rate as at 1.00 p.m. on 11 September 2026, as displayed by the Reserve Bank of India. The two sides are taxed differently: American list prices exclude sales tax, Indian MRP includes 18% GST, and the GST-stripped figures below are arithmetic on that 18%.
| Line | India, MRP | India, GST stripped | Same, converted | US list | US price charged that day |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1818 wool suit, made in Italy, half canvas | ₹1,47,500 | ₹1,25,000 | US$1,305.83 | US$1,498 | “2 for $1,799” |
| 1818 checked suit, Vitale Barberis Canonico cloth | ₹1,50,000 | ₹1,27,119 | US$1,327.96 | US$1,498 | — |
| 1818 striped suit, traditional fit | ₹1,89,600 | ₹1,60,678 | US$1,678.55 | US$1,498 | — |
| Thomas Mason luxury cotton dress shirt | ₹22,000 | ₹18,644 | US$194.77 | US$198 | US$99.99 |
| Supima non-iron dobby dress shirt | ₹18,000 | ₹15,254 | US$159.36 | US$128 | US$128, with 25% off two or more |
| Supima pique polo | ₹8,400 | ₹7,119 | US$74.37 | US$94 | US$29.99 |
On suits, India is not the dearer market. The 1818 suit strips to about US$1,306 against an American list of US$1,498, roughly 13% below, and both shops describe Italian cloth and half-canvas construction. The traditional-fit suit at ₹1,89,600 runs the other way, about 12% above.
On shirts it reverses. The non-iron dobby strips to about US$159 against a US$128 list, roughly a quarter dearer. Against the price America was actually asked for the gap widens: the Thomas Mason shirt was US$99.99 there that day, and no dress shirt here was reduced at all.
- US sale price, Thomas Mason shirt, 15 September 2026
- US$99.99
- Indian price, same line, GST stripped
- ₹18,644, or US$194.77
- Gap against the US sale price
- +95%
- Checked on
- 15 September 2026
Against list the shirt is level; against the price an American paid, close to double. What separates the two readings is a discount, not a border.
Where it is made, and who answers for it
Five product pages were read in full on 15 September 2026, and on all five the importer line was complete, with a full address and the net quantity.
| Product | Item code | Country of origin | Importer and marketer declared |
|---|---|---|---|
| Luxury Thomas Mason shirt | 100232348 | Madagascar | Brooks Brothers India Pvt. Ltd, Maker Tower ‘E’, Mumbai 400005 |
| Non-iron dobby patterned shirt | 100232399 | Thailand | The same, with the pincode |
| Supima pique slim fit polo | 100226308 | Madagascar | The same |
| 1818 checked notch lapel suit | 100222381 | Italy | The same |
| 1818 solid notch lapel slim fit suit | 100204933 | Italy | The same |
Rule 6(1)(a) of the Legal Metrology (Packaged Commodities) Rules, 2011 requires “for any imported package the name and address of the importer”, and rule 6(1)(c) the net quantity. Brooks Brothers gave both on every page read. Five pages is a small sample, stated as five; the Calvin Klein audit reads the same declaration fields on marketplace listings.
The declaration also says where the money goes. The suits are Italian and the mill is named — Vitale Barberis Canonico on the ₹1,50,000 checked suit, with a Super 100s wool grade — while the slim-fit 1818 describes Italian-woven fabric and internal canvas. The American site marks the same line made in Italy. No Indian manufacturing appeared on any page read.
The claims, and what stands behind them
A performance claim can be tested, and a test can be published. Here one claim rests on a published standard; for the others, no test is published.
| What the pages claim | What is published with it |
|---|---|
| Supima cotton | A licensed certification mark with published rules — the strongest thing on the shelf |
| Non-iron, “virtually wrinkle-free all day” | No wrinkle-recovery rating, no test method, no test house, no wash-durability figure. No test is published |
| Wrinkle-resistant and water-repellent treatment on a ₹1,50,000 suit | No spray rating, no finish name, no wash durability, no certificate. No test is published — though the mill and the Super 100s grade are named, and both are checkable |
| “A range of performance features” on the polos | No wicking figure, no UPF rating, no shrinkage figure, no named standard. No test is published |
Supima deserves the credit. It is a certification trademark, not a marketing word: its published guidelines say only licensees may use the mark, that the licence is non-transferable, and that qualifying products must be 100% American Pima cotton, with narrow exceptions. Verification, those guidelines say, runs through purchase invoices.
This page does not set out which Brooks Brothers garments a Supima licence covers; the licensee list was not read.
For the other claims, no test is published. The American page says the non-iron shirts “keep you polished and virtually wrinkle-free all day, every day”; the Indian equivalents carry “Non-Iron” in the name and nothing else. Water repellency can be stated as a spray rating, a hydrostatic head or a named finish, and the suit page gives none of these. No environmental or certification claim appears on any page read.
What the record shows
A search of the Indian Kanoon judgment corpus for the brand’s name on 15 September 2026 found no case against the company; the same search for Lacoste showed 176.
No Indian regulatory penalty, consumer commission order, customs decision or competition finding naming the brand came up on the searches made — one corpus, one day, worth exactly that much.
Buying Brooks Brothers in India
No authentication method is published, and no list of authorised Indian sellers is published. The Indian terms do not address counterfeits, authenticity or authorised retailers, and neither site carries a code, hologram, serial number or verification page; Hugo Boss, by comparison, publishes a counterfeits page. Buying from the brand’s own shop or stores is the simplest check.
Read the importer line before you pay
On all five product pages read it names Brooks Brothers India Pvt. Ltd at Maker Tower ‘E’, Cuffe Parade, Mumbai 400005, the company that answers for the goods.
Know which company you are buying from
The website’s terms name Reliance Brands Limited as the operator, and name grievance and nodal officers on the same page — the contacts for a complaint.
Treat a cheap dress shirt as a question
No reduction showed on any of the twelve dress shirts or twelve suits rendered on 15 September 2026. A ₹22,000 shirt offered at a fraction of that is worth a question to the seller first.
Brooks Brothers had no brand facet on Myntra on 15 September 2026. That is a fact about one marketplace, not about the Indian market, where the brand runs its own shop and stores.
What the advertising record shows
India’s advertising council publishes the complaints it has decided, and nothing on that record names Brooks Brothers, Brooks Brothers India Private Limited or Reliance Brands Limited. The blank is worth printing because the record is far from empty — one Indian personal-care brand alone carries 61 decided complaints, read the same way on the same day, 20 September 2026.
Two limits go with it. The council is a self-regulatory body rather than a statutory regulator, so nothing it decides binds anyone. And the record covers complaints decided up to that day: nobody has ruled on any advertisement running now.
Common questions
Is Brooks Brothers available in India?
Yes. It sells through brooksbrothers.in, priced in rupees, with 246 men’s dress shirts, 157 polos and T-shirts and 26 suits on the collection pages read on 15 September 2026, and through stores run with Reliance Brands — the most recent reported opening at Phoenix Mall of Asia in July 2025. Its absence from Myntra says nothing about the market.
Who owns Brooks Brothers now?
Authentic Brands Group bought the brand’s intellectual property out of the 2020 Chapter 11 and oversees its licensing. The operating side went to SPARC Group, which merged with JCPenney on 8 January 2025 to form Catalyst Brands, a joint venture of Simon Property Group, Brookfield Corporation, Authentic Brands Group and Shein. Authentic owns the name; the operator rents it.
Who actually sells Brooks Brothers in India?
Two companies appear on one shopfront. The terms at brooksbrothers.in name Reliance Brands Limited as the platform’s operator, while every product page names Brooks Brothers India Private Limited, a Mumbai company incorporated on 27 February 2012, as importer and marketer. The current equity split of that Indian company is not stated in any filing read.
Is Brooks Brothers cheaper in India than in America?
It depends on the garment, and no matched style code exists between the two shops, so this is a line-by-line reading rather than a like-for-like test. The 1818 suit at ₹1,47,500 strips to about US$1,306 at ₹95.7245 to the dollar, below the American list of US$1,498. The ₹22,000 Thomas Mason shirt strips to about US$195 against a US$198 list — and the American site’s sale price that day was US$99.99, while the Indian shelf showed no reduction.
Are the non-iron and water-repellent claims tested?
No test is published for either. No wrinkle-recovery rating, test method or test house accompanies the non-iron shirts, and no spray rating, finish name or certificate accompanies the suit described as water-repellent. Supima is the exception: it rests on a certification trademark with published licensing rules.
Where are Brooks Brothers clothes made?
On the five Indian product pages read on 15 September 2026, suits came from Italy and shirts and polos from Madagascar and Thailand. The American site marks the same 1818 suit line made in Italy. No Indian manufacturing appeared on any page read.
References
- Retail Dive, 8 July 2020 — the Chapter 11 filing in the District of Delaware, the 51 store closures, the $75 million facility from WHP Global and the 2018 store counts
- Brooks Brothers release, 23 July 2020 — the $305 million stalking horse agreement, at least 125 locations, and SPARC described as partly owned by Authentic Brands Group
- Brooks Brothers release, 11 August 2020 — the motion for approval of the $325 million sale to Authentic Brands Group and SPARC Group
- Authentic Brands Group, completed acquisition — Authentic bought the intellectual property and oversees licensing; SPARC as core operating licensee
- Catalyst Brands, 8 January 2025 — the SPARC and JCPenney merger, the four shareholders, the combined revenue and store figures, and the leadership named
- Catalyst Brands homepage, read 15 September 2026 — the five brands it names as operated today
- Register mirror, Brooks Brothers India Private Limited — CIN, the 27 February 2012 incorporation, the Maker Tower address and capital
- Register aggregator, Brooks Brothers India financials — ₹92.37 crore of operating revenue for the year to 31 March 2025, the 45.23% growth figure, and “BB India Holdings LLC” as holding company
- Joint venture announcement, 5 June 2012 — the Mumbai release and the mono-brand store plan, with no equity split stated
- FashionUnited, 5 June 2012 — the 49% figure reported at the time and the ₹5,000 to ₹60,000 indicative band
- Trade report, 14 July 2025 — the Phoenix Mall of Asia opening and the continuing alliance with Reliance Brands Limited
- brooksbrothers.in terms and conditions — Reliance Brands Limited named as operator, the platform definition, the grievance and nodal officers, and the absence of any authenticity or authorised-seller statement
- Men’s dress shirts collection, polos and T-shirts and suits — the 246, 157 and 26 item counts and the prices read on 15 September 2026
- Luxury Thomas Mason shirt and non-iron dobby shirt — ₹22,000 and ₹18,000 MRP inclusive of taxes, Madagascar and Thailand origin, the importer declaration and net quantity
- 1818 checked suit, ₹1,50,000 — Italian origin, the Vitale Barberis Canonico mill, Super 100s, and the wrinkle-resistant and water-repellent wording
- 1818 slim fit suit, ₹1,47,500 and Supima pique polo, ₹8,400 — Italian and Madagascar origin, half-canvas construction, the “performance features” wording and the “Cotton” material field
- 1818 suit, American site — US$1,498, made in Italy, half canvas, and the two-for-$1,799 offer
- Thomas Mason dress shirt, American site — US$198 list, US$99.99 charged
- Supima non-iron dobby shirt, American site — US$128 and the non-iron wording quoted
- Supima pique polo, American site — US$94 list and US$29.99 charged
- Supima trademark guidelines — licence required and non-transferable, 100% American Pima cotton with narrow exceptions, and verification through purchase invoices
- Tax press on the 56th GST Council decision — 5% up to ₹2,500 a piece and 18% above it, effective 22 September 2025
- Legal Metrology (Packaged Commodities) Rules, 2011, rule 6 — the importer name and address requirement quoted, and the net quantity requirement
- Indian Kanoon, search for the brand name, 15 September 2026 — no case against the company
- Indian Kanoon, the same search for a comparable brand — 176 judgments, showing what the corpus holds when a brand is in it
- Hugo Boss, fake products page — an example of a brand counterfeits page
The best thing about Brooks Brothers in India is that it names who answers for its goods: five product pages, five complete importer declarations with a full Mumbai address and a net quantity. The suits name their mill, and on two of three lines the Indian price sits at or below the American list — not what a ₹1.47 lakh imported suit usually does.
The performance wording is where we would read more carefully. Non-iron, wrinkle-resistant, water-repellent, “a range of performance features” — no test is published for any of them on either site, while Supima rests on a published standard. And the ₹22,000 dress shirt at full MRP here was on sale at US$99.99 in America that day.
Buy the suits — Italian, named, and fairly priced against home; think twice about a dress shirt at full rupee price when the same line goes half off in its own country.





