Frederique Constant is a Geneva watch brand founded in 1988, and since 2016 it has belonged to Citizen Watch Co., the Tokyo-listed Japanese watchmaker. Citizen’s own 2025 integrated report describes it as a brand “established on the mission of providing classical Swiss-made luxury watches at fair prices”.
In India it is sold through the authorised watch stores on its own locator. On 22 September 2026 its own store locator listed Ethos and Helios outlets across the country, Helios priced a Highlife Automatic COSC at an MRP of ₹2,29,400, and Myntra had no Frederique Constant shelf at all.
Frederique Constant is owned by Citizen Watch Co., which does not publish the brand’s revenue. It reaches Indian buyers through Ethos and Helios stores on its own locator, and two Helios listings print Retail Interface Pvt. Ltd. as the importer. The warranty is two years, honoured across its authorised network, but only once activated through the QR code on the card issued with the watch.
Snapshot
- Founded
- 1988, Geneva, per Citizen’s Integrated Report 2025
- Owner
- Citizen Watch Co., Ltd., Tokyo Stock Exchange (7762), since 2016
- Holding company
- Frederique Constant Holding S.A., Plan-les-Ouates, Switzerland
- Brand revenue
- Not disclosed; Citizen reports its Watches segment as a whole
- Indian retailers
- Ethos and Helios outlets on the brand’s locator, read 22 September 2026
- Importer printed in India
- Retail Interface Pvt. Ltd., on two Helios listings
- Myntra shelf
- None, 22 September 2026
- Warranty
- Two years, activated by QR code; no extension published
- Price band in India
- Helios MRPs ₹1,88,700 and ₹2,29,400 on the two Highlife COSC models read
Who owns Frederique Constant
Citizen announced the deal on 26 May 2016 in a release headed “CITIZEN WATCH CO., LTD. TO ACQUIRE FREDERIQUE CONSTANT GROUP”. The company being bought was Frederique Constant Holding SA of Geneva, and the release named three brands inside it: Frederique Constant, Alpina and DeMonaco. It placed the purchase under Citizen’s “Citizen Global Plan 2018”, a multi-brand strategy.
The release gives no price and no stake. MarketScreener, a financial news aggregator, reports that the deal completed on 11 July 2016, covered the whole holding company and cost “approximately CHF 130 million”, paid to Peter and Aletta Stas. Those three details come from that aggregator, not from a Citizen filing, so this page treats them as reported rather than disclosed.
The Swiss watch industry federation, FH, reported on 9 June 2016 that the founders had undertaken to stay for at least five years. The brand’s own history puts it gently: in 2016, “Aletta and Peter Stas begin to think about the future of the Frederique Constant Group and decide to accept Citizen’s acquisition offer”. Citizen’s 2025 integrated report records the same year as “Acquired shares of Frederique Constant”.
- Frederique Constant, GenevaFounded 1988, per Citizen’s 2025 report
- Plan-les-Ouates manufactureOpened 2006; 6,200 m² by 2019, per the brand
- Citizen acquisition announced26 May 2016, with Alpina and DeMonaco
- Citizen Watch Co., Ltd.Lists Frederique Constant Holding S.A. in its overseas group
The chain follows Citizen’s and the brand’s own documents; the deal price is not among them.
Citizen’s current overseas-group page lists “FREDERIQUE CONSTANT HOLDING S.A.” at Chemin du Champ-des-Filles 32, Plan-les-Ouates. The same page lists two other Swiss companies, Manufacture La Joux-Perret and Manufacture Arnold & Son-Angelus, both in La Chaux-de-Fonds. The 2025 integrated report names Frederique Constant, Arnold & Son and La Joux-Perret, and does not mention Alpina or deMonaco; this page draws nothing from that absence.
The owner’s figures are large and they are not the brand’s. For the year to 31 March 2026, reported on 13 May 2026, Citizen posted net sales of ¥346,808 million, operating profit of ¥30,250 million and profit attributable to owners of ¥31,100 million. Its Watches segment took ¥197,061 million of sales and ¥25,072 million of operating profit, against ¥179.2 billion of segment sales a year earlier.
Citizen’s results name its CITIZEN and BULOVA brands and do not mention Frederique Constant, so the brand’s revenue is not public. The integrated report does set out a plan for it: “In North America, which is our largest market, we will add the FREDERIQUE CONSTANT brand to our CITIZEN and BULOVA brands.” The parent’s own brand is covered in the FashionAudit Citizen audit.
How Frederique Constant reaches India
Frederique Constant’s global store locator lists Indian retailers, mainly Ethos and Helios The Watch Store outlets. Entries read on 22 September 2026 included Helios at Phoenix Market City in Pune, Linking Road and High Street Phoenix in Mumbai, and MG Road in Bengaluru. Ethos entries included Palladium Mall in Ahmedabad, Pacific Mall in Dehradun, and a duty-free counter at Terminal 2 of Bengaluru’s airport.
The locator shows stores by search area, so the total number of Indian doors was not established. No Frederique Constant-branded boutique and no Indian service-centre entry appeared among the entries read. The locator describes these stores as retailers, and no document read describes Ethos or Helios as the brand’s distributor.
The Helios product pages carry a second name. Listings for the Highlife Automatic COSC, FC-303N4NH6B, and a second Frederique Constant model print “Imported By: Retail Interface Pvt. Ltd.” and “Exported By/ Manufactured By: Frederique Constant Sa, Geneva, Switzerland”. Helios itself is the watch chain run by Titan, whose own story is told in the Titan audit.
Register mirrors carry Retail Interface Private Limited as an unlisted Bangalore company, CIN U74910KA2004PTC033872, incorporated on 5 May 2004, with paid-up capital of ₹3.02 lakh and an office in Malleshwaram. Its own IndiaMART profile says that “Brands that have already used the service include Raymond Weil and Frederique Constant”. No Frederique Constant or Citizen document read names the company, so this page calls it the importer printed on Indian listings and nothing more.
Citizen does have an Indian subsidiary. Its overseas-group page lists Citizen Watches (India) Pvt. Ltd. in Mahadevapura, Bangalore, and register mirrors carry it as an active private company incorporated in 1997. No document read says that company imports or sells Frederique Constant watches.
Frederique Constant on Myntra
A Myntra search for “frederique constant” on 22 September 2026 offered no brand filter and showed a catalogue of zero. The search was working that day: Columbia, the control brand used across these readings, returned 2,428 listings in the same session. There is no Myntra price, seller of record or statutory declaration to report for the brand.
Warranty and service in India
The brand’s international warranty page reads: “A Frederique Constant watch is warranted for a period of two years from the date of purchase.” It adds that the warranty “only takes effect when activated through the QR code available on the Ewarranty ACTIVATION & BENEFITS card or on the certificate of authenticity”.
On geography the wording is broad: “This Limited Warranty will be honored throughout the entire international FC network, at any authorized retailer or at any authorized FC service center, regardless of the country of purchase.” The locator places authorised retailers in India. No page read names India in terms or gives an Indian service-centre address, so a buyer should confirm with the Indian store where the watch would go for repair.
The warranty travels regardless of the country of purchase, but for a watch bought after 21 April 2025 only once the QR card has been activated at the official retailer.
The FAQ sets out which paperwork counts. Watches bought before 21 April 2025 need the stamped certificate of authenticity; watches bought after that date need eWarranty activation at the official retailer. “Purchase invoices alone” do not validate a claim. Exclusions include accidents or mishandling, normal wear, the battery after one year and work by unauthorised people.
No longer term is offered for registering. The warranty page states two years and the activation pages add no extra years, so this page prints no extended warranty. Helios listings print “24 months Frederique Constant warranty”, which matches. The FAQ advises a service “by a qualified watchmaker once every 4 years”; no Indian service price was found.
What Frederique Constant says about its movements
The brand’s pages name the movement on each watch. The Classics Index Automatic, FC-303NS5B6, carries the “FC-303 (Base SW200)”, an automatic with a 38-hour reserve, in a 40 mm case rated to 5 ATM. The Highlife Automatic COSC, FC-303N4NH6B, uses the same FC-303 base in a 41 mm steel case rated to 10 ATM, and is COSC certified by the Swiss chronometer-testing body.
The Manufacture line is different. The Manufacture Classic Moonphase Date, FC-716N3H6, carries the FC-716, which the brand calls a “Manufacture” movement: 72 hours of reserve, 28,800 vibrations an hour and 26 jewels. The US page for the Slimline Moonphase Manufacture, FC-705V4S4, calls its FC-705 “in-house developed, produced, and assembled”.
The chief executive, Niels Eggerding, told Luxury Tribune on 15 April 2026 how the range splits: “The majority of our watches are still equipped with automatic movements supplied by Sellita or La Joux-Perret, representing about 90% of our production.” The article put the Manufacture collection at 8–10% of volume and about 25% of revenue. Citizen’s report adds that “movements made by La Joux-Perret will be featured in FREDERIQUE CONSTANT watches”.
The count of in-house calibres depends on who is counting, and when. Citizen’s 2016 release spoke of 19 versions developed “since 2004”. The brand’s history page, read on 22 September 2026, gives 30 in-house movements. Luxury Tribune’s 2026 interview put the figure at 35 “since the company’s founding”, counting the new Worldtimer. The three figures come from different years and may count differently.
What Frederique Constant costs in India
The same watch can be read in two countries. The Highlife Automatic COSC, FC-303N4NH6B, was CHF 1,995.00 on the brand’s Swiss storefront and carried an MRP of ₹2,29,400 on Helios, both on 22 September 2026. Helios printed no selling price, only “Check Helios Selling Price”, and showed no “inclusive of all taxes” line.
| Model | Matched by | Price | Tax basis | Source, date |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Highlife Automatic COSC, 41 mm | Code FC-303N4NH6B | CHF 1,995.00 | Site footer: “Taxes and customs duties included (DDP)” | frederiqueconstant.com, Swiss storefront, 22 Sep 2026 |
| Highlife Automatic COSC, 41 mm | Code FC-303N4NH6B | MRP ₹2,29,400 | Not stated on the page | Helios, 22 Sep 2026 |
| Highlife Automatic COSC, 39 mm | Code FC-303S3NH26B; no home price read | MRP ₹1,88,700 | Not stated on the page | Helios, 22 Sep 2026 |
| Classics Index Automatic | Code FC-303NS5B6 | CHF 1,150.00 | Site footer, DDP | Swiss storefront, 22 Sep 2026 |
| Classics Index Automatic | Code FC-303NS5B6 | USD 1,495.00 | Not stated | us.frederiqueconstant.com, 22 Sep 2026 |
| Manufacture Classic Moonphase Date | Code FC-716N3H6 | CHF 3,995.00 | Site footer, DDP | Swiss storefront, 22 Sep 2026 |
| Slimline Moonphase Manufacture | Code FC-705V4S4 | USD 4,095.00 | Not stated | us.frederiqueconstant.com, 22 Sep 2026 |
Every row is matched by the brand’s own reference code. No currency conversion is made and no gap is computed.
Helios’s brand page gives a Classics and Highlife range of ₹1,14,400 to ₹4,59,400, and Ethos prices were not readable in this pass. The chief executive told Luxury Tribune that most collections sit “between 1,000 and 3,000 Swiss francs”. The Swiss figures carry duty and tax to the buyer’s door, while the Helios MRP states no tax basis, so the two columns are not on the same footing.
For buyers weighing a purchase abroad, the Budget 2026-27 cut duty on goods imported for personal use to 10% from 1 April 2026; how that applies to a watch in practice is not established. The warranty wording above is the stronger argument for buying from a listed store, wherever it is.
Buying a genuine Frederique Constant
The brand’s FAQ is plain on counterfeits. It tells buyers to purchase only from authorised stores, to “Make sure that the watch comes with a certificate of authenticity issued by the official store”, and to “Avoid non-authorised dealers: they could be selling fakes.” A watch in doubt can go to “one of our approved service centres”, where watchmakers will “check its authenticity”.
The brand publishes no public serial lookup and no list of physical tells, and this page invents none. The eWarranty activation card, issued with the watch from April 2025, is the document to ask for.
Buy from the locator
Look the store up on frederiqueconstant.com/stores before paying. The Indian entries are Ethos and Helios outlets.
Activate the QR card in the shop
The warranty does not start until the eWarranty code is activated. An invoice alone does not validate a claim.
Match the reference
References read like FC-303N4NH6B. Compare the calibre, case size and water rating with the brand’s own page.
Read the box and listing
Helios listings name the importer and the exporter. Ask the store to show the same lines on the box.
Who Frederique Constant is actually for
Frederique Constant suits an Indian buyer who wants a Swiss automatic from an authorised store, with the reference, calibre and warranty terms all published by the brand. Its Highlife COSC sits above ₹1.8 lakh on Helios MRPs, so readers comparing Swiss watches can set it against FashionAudit’s Tissot, Longines and Rado audits. Anyone paying for “Manufacture” should buy a reference the brand itself calls Manufacture, such as the FC-716 or FC-705, because the chief executive puts about 90% of production on supplied movements.
Common questions
Who owns Frederique Constant?
Citizen Watch Co., Ltd., listed in Tokyo. Citizen announced the acquisition of Frederique Constant Holding SA on 26 May 2016 and lists the holding company in its overseas group today.
Is Frederique Constant a Swiss brand?
Yes. Citizen’s own report says it was founded in Geneva in 1988, and the brand’s manufacture is in Plan-les-Ouates, Geneva. Its owner since 2016 is Japanese.
Where can I buy Frederique Constant in India?
The brand’s store locator lists Ethos and Helios outlets across Indian cities. On 22 September 2026 Myntra had no Frederique Constant shelf.
Is the warranty valid in India?
The warranty says it is honoured across the international FC network “regardless of the country of purchase”, once activated by QR code. No page read names an Indian service centre, so ask the store where repairs go.
Are Frederique Constant movements made in-house?
Some are. The FC-716 and FC-705 are Manufacture calibres. The chief executive said about 90% of production uses movements supplied by Sellita or La Joux-Perret.
References
- Citizen release, 26 May 2016 — acquisition of Frederique Constant Holding SA, the three brands, Citizen Global Plan 2018, 19 calibre versions since 2004; no price or stake
- FH, Federation of the Swiss Watch Industry, 9 June 2016 — the purchase and the founders’ five-year undertaking
- MarketScreener — reported completion date, 100% scope and approximate CHF 130 million price
- Citizen Report 2025, Integrated Report — 1988 Geneva founding and mission line, “Acquired shares”, brand list, North America plan, La Joux-Perret movements
- Citizen, overseas group companies — Frederique Constant Holding S.A., La Joux-Perret, Arnold & Son-Angelus, Citizen Watches (India) Pvt. Ltd.
- Citizen, results for the year to 31 March 2026 and results presentation — group and Watches segment figures, prior-year segment sales; CITIZEN and BULOVA named
- Frederique Constant, brand history — the founders’ 2016 decision, the Plan-les-Ouates manufacture, 30 in-house movements, read 22 September 2026
- Frederique Constant store locator and a Helios entry — Indian Ethos and Helios retailer entries, read 22 September 2026
- Helios, FC-303N4NH6B and Helios, Classics listing — importer and exporter lines, MRPs, the 24-month warranty line, read 22 September 2026
- Helios, Frederique Constant brand page — the ₹1,14,400 to ₹4,59,400 range
- ZaubaCorp, Retail Interface Private Limited, register mirror — CIN, incorporation, capital, office
- Retail Interface, IndiaMART profile — the company’s own description of its brand service
- ZaubaCorp, Citizen Watches (India) Private Limited, register mirror — status and 1997 incorporation
- Frederique Constant, international warranty and warranty activation — two-year term, QR activation, network wording, exclusions; no extension
- Frederique Constant, FAQ — 21 April 2025 paperwork rule, invoices, four-year service advice, counterfeit guidance
- FC-303NS5B6, FC-303N4NH6B and FC-716N3H6 product pages — calibres, specifications, CHF prices and the DDP footer, read 22 September 2026
- US site, FC-705V4S4 — the in-house wording and USD 4,095.00; FC-303NS5B6 at USD 1,495.00, read 22 September 2026
- Luxury Tribune, interview with Niels Eggerding (15 April 2026) — the 90% sourced-movement quote, Manufacture share, 35 calibres, the CHF 1,000–3,000 range
Frederique Constant publishes a great deal about its own watches. Every watch page names its calibre and reference, the Swiss storefront states its tax basis, the warranty wording covers the whole authorised network, and the counterfeit advice is written in plain words. In India it sits in Ethos and Helios stores listed on its own locator, which is where a buyer should go.
The detail to watch is which watches carry the word “Manufacture”. By the chief executive’s own figure, about 90% of production runs on movements supplied by Sellita or La Joux-Perret, so an FC-303 is a Swiss automatic with a sourced base rather than an in-house piece. The Indian side is thinner too: an importer named on retail listings and in its own profile but in no brand document, an MRP with no stated tax basis, and no Indian service address on any page read.
A well-documented Swiss watch at ₹2,29,400 for the Highlife COSC: buy it from a store on the locator, activate the QR card before you leave, and pay the Manufacture premium only for a reference the brand calls Manufacture.




