Skip to main content

Fashion Audit

MVMT Brand Audit: Movado’s Watch Brand, Its No-Ship List and Its Myntra Shelf

Who owns MVMT, what Movado paid for it, why its own site will not ship to India while Myntra lists 232 of its watches, who imports them, and what its warranty covers.

MVMT is a Los Angeles watch brand, founded in 2013 and bought by the American watch group Movado in 2018. Its own website lists India among the countries it does not ship to. Myntra, on 22 September 2026, carried 232 MVMT listings.

This page sets those two facts side by side, names the importer printed on the Myntra listings, and reads what MVMT says about its movements, its warranty and its prices.

The short answer

MVMT belongs to Movado Group, Inc., which completed the purchase on 1 October 2018 and does not disclose MVMT’s revenue. MVMT’s own site will not ship to India, and Myntra listed 232 MVMT products on 22 September 2026, most naming MGI Distribution Pvt Ltd of Bengaluru as importer. Movado’s subsidiary list carries a company of that name under India; no document read states the link beyond the name. The median Myntra listing sold at ₹8,203 against a median MRP of ₹14,115.

Snapshot

Founded
2013, in Southern California, by Jacob (Jake) Kassan and Kramer LaPlante
Owner
Movado Group, Inc. (NYSE: MOV), acquisition completed 1 October 2018
Made by
“Independent contractors in Asia”, per Movado’s FY2026 10-K
Ships to India from mvmt.com
No; India is on its “Countries we don’t ship to” list
Importer on Myntra
MGI Distribution Pvt Ltd, Bengaluru, on about 33 of 40 listings read
Warranty
Two years, limited; no country scope stated
Myntra median, 22 September 2026
MRP ₹14,115; price paid ₹8,203

Who owns MVMT

Movado Group’s own account of the brand is short. Its annual report says “The MVMT brand was founded in a Southern California apartment in 2013 by two entrepreneurs”, whose idea was watches “accessible to young consumers”. Movado’s release of 15 August 2018 names the two as Jacob Kassan and Kramer LaPlante and places the company in Los Angeles.

That release announced the purchase. Movado agreed an initial payment of about $100 million, or about $85 million net of tax benefits, plus “two future contingent payments that combined could total up to an additional $100 million before tax benefits”. MVMT’s revenue for 2017 was “approximately $71 million”, sold “primarily” through its own e-commerce site and a few American retailers, among them Nordstrom and Bloomingdale’s. The deal completed on 1 October 2018, when MVMT had 39 staff; the completion release added that there was “no minimum required future payment”.

The later filings show what the contingent part came to. Movado first recorded it at $16.5 million, then remeasured it to $1.9 million at 31 July 2019 and to zero at 31 January 2020. In the quarter to 30 April 2020 Movado also wrote down MVMT’s trade name and customer relationships by $22.2 million, leaving the trade name at $2.4 million and the customer relationships at nil. The passage read does not say whether any contingent cash was ever paid.

Movado agreed about $100 million up front and up to $100 million more on performance; by 31 January 2020 its books valued that second part at zero.

MVMT under Movado, from Movado’s filings
  • 2013Founded in Southern California
  • Aug 2018Movado agrees about $100m plus up to $100m contingent
  • Oct 2018Purchase completed; 39 staff
  • Jan 2020Contingent payment remeasured to zero
  • Apr 2020$22.2m impairment on trade name and customer relationships

The brand is on the owned-brand list in Movado’s FY2026 10-K.

Movado Group releases of 15 August and 1 October 2018; Form 10-Q for the quarter to 30 April 2020; Form 10-K for the year to 31 January 2026.

Owner revenue is not brand revenue. Movado reported net sales of $671.3 million for the year to 31 January 2026, up 2.7%, and $169.8 million for the quarter to 31 July 2026, up 4.9%. Neither release breaks out sales by brand, and MVMT appears only in the list of owned brands, alongside Movado, Concord, Ebel and Olivia Burton. Licensed brands made up 58.3% of the year’s net sales.

How MVMT reaches India

MVMT itself does not offer a route. Its international-shipping page, read on 22 September 2026, lists under “Countries we don’t ship to”: “Algeria | Brazil | China | India | Indonesia”, with Iran, Iraq, Morocco, Tunisia, Venezuela and US territories after them. MVMT has no Indian website, and no Indian store list or authorised-dealer list was found on its pages.

The Myntra listings name a company. On about 33 of 40 MVMT declarations read on 22 September 2026, the importer line reads MGI Distribution Pvt Ltd, at a Bengaluru address; the other seven left it blank. Movado’s subsidiary list, filed with its FY2026 annual report on 19 March 2026, carries “MGI Distribution Pte Ltd.” under the jurisdiction India, and lists a company of the same name separately under Singapore. No document read states the link between the Myntra importer and Movado beyond the name, and none says which brands the company imports.

Movado’s annual report says separately that it has “sales and distribution offices” in fourteen places, India among them; it does not say which brands the Indian office handles.

MVMT on Myntra

Myntra’s brand filter for MVMT held 232 products on 22 September 2026. Columbia, used as a control in the same session, returned 2,428, so the search was working. Of 100 MVMT listings sounded, 97 were watches and three bracelets.

The prices were heavily reduced. The median MRP was ₹14,115 and the median price paid ₹8,203, which is 58.1% of MRP, and 89 of the 100 listings carried a reduction, across 26 distinct MRPs. Three named listings show the pattern: the Odyssey II, 28000354, at ₹15,795 reduced to ₹9,477; 28000343 at ₹14,115 reduced to ₹8,892; and the Avenue, 28000114, at ₹13,275 reduced to ₹7,035.

A company called Shreyash Retail Private Limited owns a registered trade mark reading “Supercom Net”, and the marketplace names “Supercom Net” as seller of record on 40 of 40 listings read on 22 September 2026; no document read links Shreyash Retail Private Limited to the brand.

Where MVMT watches are made

Movado says plainly that it makes nothing itself. “The Company does not manufacture any of the products it sells,” its FY2026 annual report says, and it names MVMT among the brands “manufactured by independent contractors in Asia”. The same report says MVMT watches are “designed by in-house design teams”, and files the brand in its “Moderate and Fashion” category, priced from $75 to $595.

The Myntra declarations fit that. Country of origin read Hong Kong on 16 of the 40 records, “Hong Kong, China” on 13 and China on 11. The manufacturer line named Swissam Products Limited, at Kwai Chung in Hong Kong, on about 37, and Power Hub Ltd, also of Hong Kong, on two. Neither company is named in any Movado document read, so treat the line as the listing’s statement of who is answerable for the watch, not as a factory disclosure.

What MVMT’s movement claims say

MVMT names its movements per model, and its pages are the only source used here. The Minimal Sport Automatic in Abyss Black, style 28000320, lists “Japanese Automatic Movement – 8215” and says it is “Powered by a precision Miyota 8215 automatic movement”. It claims sapphire crystal, “20 ATM | 200 Meters” and Swiss Super-LumiNova on a 45.5 mm gunmetal ion-plated steel case.

The Classic II Automatic in Skyline Silver, style 28000440, lists a “Miyota 82S0” movement, a “K1 Hardened Mineral Crystal” and “5 ATM” on a 44 mm steel case, 12 mm thick. The quartz Legacy Slim in Panther Black, style 28000088, lists its movement as “Japanese Tmi VJ21”, with “Hardened Mineral Crystal” and “3 ATM” on a 7.7 mm case. Neither automatic page states a power reserve.

The Field II collection page is looser. It says “Japanese or Swiss movement” and “scratch-resistant sapphire crystal” without naming a calibre for each variant, so check the individual reference before assuming which movement is inside. None of the pages read names a test house or standard behind its water-resistance figure, and none makes a chronometer claim.

Warranty and service in India

MVMT’s homepage carries a “Two Year Warranty”. The warranty page spells it out: “Movado warrants to the original consumer that, for a period of two (2) years from the date of purchase, his/her timepiece or jewelry will be free from defects in materials and workmanship”. It excludes batteries, straps, bracelets, crystals, plating and PVD finishes, cosmetic damage, accidents, misuse and unauthorised repairs.

Two conditions matter for an Indian buyer. The warranty is void if the watch was “not purchased from an Authorized Movado Dealer, as evidenced by valid proof of purchase”, and claims go to “a Movado Authorized Service Center” through an email address and an American toll-free number. The page states no country scope beyond a line that statutory rights “may vary from state to state and country to country”.

No page read names an Indian service centre for MVMT, publishes an Indian dealer list, or says a watch bought abroad will be serviced in India. Before buying, ask the seller who services the watch in India and get the answer on the invoice.

What MVMT costs in India

MVMT’s American site prices in dollars and does not state on the pages read whether tax is included; it was also running promotions on the day, including “Extra 25% Off”. Myntra prints an MRP and a price paid. None of the three references read on mvmt.com appeared among the named Myntra listings, so the table below sets the two sides next to each other with no match, no conversion and no gap.

Model and style mvmt.com (US; tax basis not stated) Myntra MRP → price paid Match
Legacy Slim Panther Black, 28000088 (quartz) US$148.00 Not among named listings None
Classic II Automatic Skyline Silver, 28000440 US$268.00 Not among named listings None
Minimal Sport Automatic Abyss Black, 28000320 US$348.00 (“Sale price”) Not among named listings None
Odyssey II, 28000354 Not read ₹15,795 → ₹9,477 India only
28000343 Not read ₹14,115 → ₹8,892 India only
Avenue, 28000114 Not read ₹13,275 → ₹7,035 India only

All prices read 22 September 2026. No reference appears on both sides; no exchange rate is applied.

On this site’s watch bands, the Myntra median price paid of ₹8,203, and the median MRP of ₹14,115, both sit in the mid-range, ₹3,000 to ₹15,000. Because MVMT will not send a watch to India, a buyer who orders one abroad and carries it home is making a personal import. The Budget 2026-27 cut duty on goods imported for personal use to 10% from 1 April 2026; how that applies to a watch in practice is not established.

For comparison at similar money, Fossil and Timex each have their own audits, as do the Japanese makers Casio and Citizen.

Checking an MVMT is genuine

We found no serial lookup, QR code, hologram or verification page on MVMT’s site. The only related statement is the warranty’s proof-of-purchase condition, so no shortcut tell is offered here. What a buyer can check is paperwork and consistency.

Check 01

Read the importer line

Most Myntra listings read named MGI Distribution Pvt Ltd, Bengaluru, as importer. A blank or different line is a question to put to the seller.

Check 02

Match the reference

MVMT prints a style number such as 28000320 on each product page. Match it to the movement and crystal the brand lists for that reference.

Check 03

Keep the invoice and card

MVMT’s warranty needs “valid proof of purchase”. Keep the invoice and any warranty card together from day one.

Check 04

Ask who services it

No Indian service centre is published on the pages read. Get the seller’s answer in writing before paying.

Who MVMT is actually for

MVMT suits a buyer who wants a minimalist fashion watch from a named owner, and who is content with Japanese quartz or Miyota automatic movements that the brand names on its pages. On Myntra it usually costs far less than its tag: the median listing sold at 58.1% of MRP on 22 September 2026. It suits less well a buyer who wants a brand-backed Indian service route, because none is published.

Common questions

Who owns MVMT?

Movado Group, Inc., the New York Stock Exchange-listed watch group. It completed the purchase on 1 October 2018 and lists MVMT among its owned brands.

Does MVMT ship to India?

Not from its own site. MVMT’s international-shipping page lists India among the countries it does not ship to, read on 22 September 2026.

Who imports the MVMT watches sold on Myntra?

About 33 of 40 declarations read named MGI Distribution Pvt Ltd, Bengaluru. Movado’s subsidiary list carries a company of that name under India; no document read states the link beyond the name.

Where are MVMT watches made?

Movado says MVMT watches are made by independent contractors in Asia. Myntra declarations read gave Hong Kong, China, or both as country of origin.

Is an MVMT warranty valid in India?

MVMT’s two-year warranty states no country scope and names no Indian service centre. It is void without proof of purchase from an authorised Movado dealer, so ask the seller who services it.

References

  1. Movado Group, Form 10-K for the year ended 31 January 2026 (filed 19 March 2026) — owned-brand list, founding sentence, contract manufacturing in Asia, in-house design, price category, sales offices including India, licensed-brand share
  2. Movado Group, Exhibit 21.1, subsidiaries — MGI Distribution Pte Ltd. under India; MGI Distribution Pte. Ltd. under Singapore
  3. Movado Group, “Movado Group Announces Agreement to Acquire MVMT” (15 August 2018) — founders, Los Angeles, price terms, 2017 revenue, sales channels
  4. Movado Group, completion release (1 October 2018, 8-K Exhibit 99.1) — completion, no minimum future payment, 39 staff
  5. Movado Group, Form 10-Q for the quarter ended 30 April 2020 — contingent consideration remeasurement, $22.2 million MVMT intangible write-down
  6. Movado Group, fourth-quarter and FY2026 results (19 March 2026) — net sales for the year
  7. Movado Group, second-quarter FY2027 results (26 August 2026) — net sales for the quarter to 31 July 2026
  8. MVMT, International Shipping FAQ — the list of countries it does not ship to, India included
  9. MVMT, warranty page — two-year limited warranty, exclusions, authorised-dealer and proof-of-purchase condition, claims route
  10. MVMT homepage — “Two Year Warranty” line, promotions on the day
  11. MVMT, Minimal Sport Automatic Abyss Black, 28000320, Classic II Automatic Skyline Silver, 28000440 and Legacy Slim Panther Black, 28000088 — movements, crystals, water-resistance figures, case sizes, US prices
  12. MVMT, Field II collection page — “Japanese or Swiss movement” wording
  13. Union Budget 2026-27, changes in customs duty structure — duty on goods imported for personal use cut to 10% from 1 April 2026
  14. Myntra, MVMT brand filter, read 22 September 2026 — 232 products, 100-listing median MRP and price paid, named listings, 40 declarations for seller of record, importer, manufacturer and origin; Columbia as the same-session control
The FA take

MVMT’s ownership is well documented: Movado’s filings give the price, the date, the contingent payment that went to zero and the $22.2 million write-down. MVMT also names the Miyota calibres in its automatics on the pages read. For a buyer who wants that look at around ₹8,203, the median Myntra price, it delivers a named movement and a named owner.

The Indian side is thinner. MVMT’s own site will not ship here, publishes no Indian dealer or service centre, and ties its warranty to an authorised Movado dealer without saying who that is in India. The Myntra importer shares a name with a Movado subsidiary listed under India, and no document read goes further than that. A median listing at 58.1% of MRP also says the ₹14,115 tag is rarely the price anyone pays.

A traceable owner and named movements at mid-range money; on Myntra, buy on the price paid, not the MRP, and settle service before you pay.

Table of Contents

Get the weekly audit

One tested product, one honest verdict, every Friday.

More reads

asa Beauty Brand Audit: The Pack Facts No Listing Prints

asa Beauty is a Mumbai colour-cosmetics brand whose company is “Active” on the register under a wholesale activity code. What its lipsticks cost at named Indian retailers, why no listing read publishes a manufacturer or a cosmetic licence number, how one retailer’s origin field reads three ways across five listings of the same brand, and what the March 2024 trade-press acquisition does and does not establish.

Read More »

Related reads

Search Category
₹0 - ₹58,900
By Price: ₹0 - ₹58,900
📲 Add Fashion Audit to Home Screen