Skip to main content

Fashion Audit

Nautica Brand Audit: American Label, Made in India

Who owns Nautica, who sells it in India, where it is made, what the shelf charges against MRP and what its pages publish on water resistance.
Nautica brand audit by FashionAudit: Nautica logo and the headline “American Label, Made in India” over a navy-and-white sailing polo and a windbreaker on a yacht deck with rope

Nautica sells an American harbour — spinnaker logos, signal flags, a name from the Latin for nautical. Forty of its Indian shopping records were read in full on 15 September 2026. All forty declare the country of origin as India, and not one leaves the manufacturer line empty.

That settles the argument an imported label usually gets to make about its price here. Duty is charged on goods brought into the country, and a shirt sewn in Bengaluru and sold in Mumbai crosses no frontier.

The short answer

Authentic Brands Group, LLC of New York has owned Nautica since 30 April 2018, on terms neither side has disclosed. No Indian operating company was found on the register, and the last published statement of the arrangement here is an August 2019 licensing grant to the Flipkart Group. The shelf charged 60.0% of MRP on 15 September 2026, median MRP ₹2,299. The product pages publish no test rating for “Water Resistant” or “Sustainably Crafted”.

Snapshot

Brand owner
Authentic Brands Group, LLC, New York — a brand-management company that licenses names rather than making goods
Previous owner
VF Corporation, 2003 to 2018; sale agreed 19 March 2018, completed 30 April 2018, terms never disclosed
Indian trade mark
Application 874556, mark NAUTICA, class 3, filed 13 October 1988, registered; proprietor Nautica Apparel Inc., 10 West 33rd Street, New York, with no registered user recorded
Who owns Authentic
Its own release records BlackRock Long Term Private Capital as largest shareholder, significant stakes taken by CVC Capital Partners VIII and HPS Investment Partners, and continuing holdings by Simon, General Atlantic, Leonard Green & Partners, GIC, Brookfield, Lion Capital and Jasper Ridge Partners, among others, at a $12.7 billion enterprise value
Global scale at the 2018 sale
Over $1.2 billion in annual retail sales, 270 freestanding stores, 5,000-plus points of sale and more than 40 licensing partners globally — press figures of March 2018, describing retail sales rather than the owner’s revenue
Indian operating company
None found on the register, read 15 September 2026
Indian arrangement, as reported
Flipkart Group holds the licensing and distribution rights, announced 28–29 August 2019; nothing published since records a change
Declared country of origin
India on 40 of 40 records, read 15 September 2026
Manufacturer line
Filled on all 40 records; 12 distinct manufacturers named; net quantity absent on 19 of 40
Sellers of record
Four seller names across the 40 records, the largest on 27
Catalogue size
5,423 items on Myntra, 15 September 2026
Price band in India
Mid-range — median MRP ₹2,299, median price actually paid ₹1,517 across 100 listings, read 15 September 2026
Published test behind any performance claim
None found
Published authenticity check for Indian buyers
None found

An American label, made in India

Country of origin reads India on all forty records, and none declares a foreign origin. This site has taken one stronger reading of that kind and only one: Levi’s declared India on 37 of 40 the same month. Every one of the forty also names a manufacturer — against The North Face, blank on 40 of 40 the same day, and Calvin Klein on 33 of 40. Nautica sits at the good end of that scale.

Declared manufacturerRecords of 40What the companies register carries
Denim Creations, Bengaluru11Not individually traced
Thomas Scott (India) Ltd, Lower Parel, Mumbai8CIN L18109MH2010PLC209302, BSE 533941 and NSE THOMASCOTT, address matches
Bianca, Hubtown Solaris, Andheri East, Mumbai8BIANCA HOME LLP, LLPIN AAM-5626
Nine other names13Not individually traced

Twelve manufacturers is what a domestically sourced licensed range looks like. One of them is a listed public company.

Net quantity was not shown on 19 of the 40 records. Look for it on the label.

Why import duty explains nothing here

The standard defence of a foreign label’s Indian price is customs duty, and on this shelf it is unavailable for two reasons. First, the charging section: section 12 of the Customs Act, 1962 levies duties of customs on goods imported into, or exported from, India, the taxable event being entry into territorial waters. A garment made in Bengaluru and sold in Mumbai is never imported, so no customs duty arises on it at all.

Second, and this holds even for imported goods: section 14 values them on transaction value — the price actually paid or payable when sold for export to India. Duty is reckoned on what an importer paid at the border, never on the number printed on the tag. That section was rewritten in 2007, so the older wording reproduced in tribunal decisions is not the text governing today.

What a buyer pays instead is GST, at 5% up to ₹2,500 a piece and 18% above since 22 September 2025, so a median MRP of ₹2,299 attracts the lower rate. Indian MRP includes GST; American list prices are quoted before sales tax.

Who owns the name

Three owners, two dates
  1. Nautica Enterprises, Inc.Acquired by VF Corporation in 2003
  2. VF CorporationOwner until 2018; sale agreed 19 March 2018
  3. Authentic Brands Group, LLCCompleted 30 April 2018; terms not disclosed

VF Corporation’s own announcements carry both ends of the sale, and both say the same about money: terms were not disclosed. Any figure a reader meets for it was estimated by somebody.

Authentic bought a licensing business and runs it as one. Interparfums, Inc. took a twenty-year exclusive global fragrance licence in January 2026, with full responsibility from 1 January 2030 and founder Jamie Salter quoted as licensor; womenswear went to G-III Apparel Group in March 2023. The company whose name is on the label makes, imports and sells nothing anywhere. It licenses the name and collects a royalty, and no royalty rate is published.

Authentic itself is held by the private-capital investors listed in the snapshot above. Its own release names no controlling holder, and the founder remains chief executive, so this page names none either.

The Indian mark sits on the American side too. Application 874556, filed in 1988 in class 3, is registered to Nautica Apparel Inc. of New York, and the record read on 15 September 2026 names no registered user. It covers perfumes rather than clothing, and no clothing-class record was read, so no absence there is claimed. Anyone selling Nautica goods here does so under an arrangement with a New York proprietor, not as owner of the mark.

Who sells Nautica in India

The Indian arrangement, as published
  • March 2019Arvind reported to be returning the Nautica licence
  • August 2019Authentic grants Indian rights to the Flipkart Group
  • April 2023Trade press: sold on Myntra, Flipkart and through stores
  • September 20265,423 items on Myntra; no Indian company on the register

The first three are press reports, not filings; the last is a register reading.

There is no Nautica India company — no CIN, no registered office — because none was found. That is a different shape from Guess, a wholly owned subsidiary here, Lacoste, an Indian-promoted licensee, or Tommy Hilfiger, a joint venture.

In August 2019 the trade and business press reported, a day apart, that the Flipkart Group had taken the licensing and distribution rights to Nautica in India and would run the business through franchise partners. Jamie Salter and Flipkart’s Rishi Vasudev were both quoted, Vasudev describing “the launch of Nautica under the Flipkart Group label”. Nothing published since records a change, so that is the last published statement rather than proof of what holds today. The brand still sells at scale on Myntra, a Flipkart Group company.

One correction belongs here, because the older record points elsewhere. Arvind Fashions once listed Nautica among brands it had licence to operate in India, and in March 2019 it was reported to be returning that licence with Gant and Aeropostale — a report resting on unnamed sources, with no company statement and no filing confirming an exit. Five months later Authentic granted Indian rights to the Flipkart Group. Nautica is not an Arvind brand today on anything published.

Sellers of record

Four seller names appear on the 40 records. The seller of record was “Truenet Commerce” on 27, BIANCA HOME LLP on 7, Brandzstorm India Marketing Private Limited on 5 and SANE RETAILS on 1.

The other names on the shelf

CompanyRole on these 40 recordsWhat the register mirrors carry
BIANCA HOME LLPSeller on 7; manufacturer name on 8LLPIN AAM-5626, incorporated 4 May 2018, Andheri East, Mumbai
Brandzstorm India Marketing Private LimitedSeller on 5; a declared manufacturerCIN U52100MH2010PTC199895, incorporated 9 February 2010, Hubtown Solaris, Mumbai
Thomas Scott (India) LimitedManufacturer name on 8CIN L18109MH2010PLC209302, listed public company, operating revenue ₹254.89 crore FY2026 against ₹91.09 crore FY2024

Thomas Scott is the listed company here. On 6 August 2026 it and ABG-Dockers LLC, an Authentic entity, announced an agreement appointing it exclusive India licensee and Global Designated Supplier for Dockers. That is a Dockers licence and not a Nautica one — an Indian manufacturer already making Nautica-branded goods becoming an Authentic licensee for a different American name. It says something about how Authentic works here, not about who holds Nautica.

What Nautica costs in India

We sounded 100 distinct listings from a 5,423-item shelf on 15 September 2026. The median MRP was ₹2,299 and the median actually paid ₹1,517 — 60.0% of the tag, with 98 of the hundred reduced across 35 distinct MRPs and 37 discount rungs. Shorts, T-shirts and jeans led the sample.

Brand, same platform, 15 September 2026Share of MRP chargedMedian MRP
HRX30.4%₹1,999
The North Face48.6%₹9,999
Nautica60.0%₹2,299
Decathlon71.0%₹2,599
Ted Baker79.6%₹12,700
Superdry83.9%₹3,999
Columbia97.7%₹3,999

The tier here comes from what the shelf charges — ₹1,517 at the median, on the core line rather than the cheapest item or the flagship — which is mid-range money, below what an American heritage positioning would suggest. Thirty-five distinct MRPs across 5,423 items is a price grid, not a price per garment, and 98 reductions in 100 listings is an architecture rather than a sale.

Why this page prints no India-versus-America gap

The American side read cleanly. Nautica’s US site runs on style codes, and two were read on 15 September 2026: RP2502, the Sustainably Crafted straight fit denim, at $27.98, and Q521074, the Water Resistant Anorak Jacket, at $79.98 against a stated comparison value of $150.00 — the same striking-out of a higher number that the Indian shelf runs on.

No Indian listing we could open that day carried a matched style code, so no comparison was taken and nothing is converted. There is a structural reason to expect none, offered as reasoning rather than a reading: the Indian range is made here under a local licence, so it is a separate range from the American one.

Worth knowing

No matched Indian and American product was established for this brand on 15 September 2026, so this page makes no comparison and converts nothing. Any India-versus-America figure a reader meets for Nautica has been estimated by somebody.

What stands behind the claims

“Water Resistant” is not a description on this range. It is part of the product name, across at least six jackets — the Anorak, the Signal Flag, the Softshell Mesh, the Transweight, the Active Stretch and the Bomber. On the anorak, the copy goes further than the name.

This water-resistant jacket is equipped with a removable, drawstring hood … with a double placket that ensures you stay dry.

“Ensures you stay dry” is a performance claim, and the page cites no test for it. Hydrostatic head is the unit such a claim is measured in — the column of water, in millimetres, a fabric holds back before it leaks. Columbia publishes 30,000mm for one membrane. Nautica publishes no figure, no repellent specification, no AATCC or ISO test method and no test house for anything on this rail.

Claim as marketedWhat Nautica publishesStandard, test or body named
“Water Resistant”, in six jacket names“Ensures you stay dry”; composition 100% polyesterNone
REPREVE“A traceable, certified recycled material made from plastic water bottles”No certifier named
Recycled nylonDescribed in the same words as REPREVENo certifier named
Organic cotton“Processed from the farm to the factory 100% organically”None
Ozone washElectricity and oxygen, to use less water and chemicalsNone
Recycled content of the collectionNo threshold statedNone
Style RP250277% cotton, 22% pre-consumer recycled cotton, 1% elastaneA content declaration, not a certification

“Sustainably Crafted” names no certifying body

Sustainably Crafted is Nautica’s own collection name, not a certification. The word “certified” appears twice on its programme page and no certifying body is named either time. No Global Recycle Standard, no RCS, no GOTS, no Oeko-Tex, no bluesign, no Higg score, no auditor and no test house appears on it.

REPREVE is the one named input, a supplier’s brand of recycled fibre, and the page names no standard alongside it. Pre-consumer recycled cotton is factory offcut rather than reclaimed clothing.

One limit belongs on all of it. Every claim above was read on Nautica’s American site; no Indian listing we could open carried the claim copy. So this page does not say what Nautica tells Indian buyers, only that the brand makes these claims and that its pages publish no test for them.

Can a buyer tell a real one?

Not from anything the brand publishes. No code, hologram, serial lookup or verification page was found, and no list of authorised Indian sellers either. The same search run for Puma and for Levi’s found no brand-published verification page for them either, so the honest statement is that no published check was found, not that none exists.

Check 01

Read the block on the label

Manufacturer or packer with address, MRP inclusive of taxes, country of origin, net quantity. All forty records named a manufacturer and declared India; 19 carried no quantity.

Check 02

Note who is selling

Check the seller of record named on the listing before you pay, and keep the invoice.

What the record shows

No decided Indian matter involving the Nautica apparel brand or its trade-mark proprietor surfaced in the published case-law record. The search covers the case-law record and general reporting rather than consumer fora or standards notices, so it is nothing found rather than a clean sheet: no decided regulatory action, recall or consumer commission order concerning the brand in India surfaced either.

What the advertising record shows

India’s advertising council publishes the complaints it has decided, and nothing on that record names Nautica or Authentic Brands Group as at 20 September 2026. The record itself is far from empty: one Indian personal-care brand alone carried 61 decided complaints on the same day.

Two limits go with it. The council is a self-regulatory body rather than a statutory regulator, so nothing it decides binds anyone. And the record covers complaints decided up to that day: nobody has ruled on any advertisement running now.

Common questions

Who owns Nautica, and who sells it in India?

Authentic Brands Group, LLC of New York has owned the brand since 30 April 2018, when VF Corporation completed the sale on undisclosed terms. Authentic licenses names rather than making goods. In India no operating company for the brand was found on the register, and the last published statement of the arrangement is an August 2019 grant of licensing and distribution rights to the Flipkart Group. Nothing published since records a change.

Is Nautica an Arvind brand?

Not on anything published. Arvind Fashions once listed Nautica among brands it had licence to operate in India, and in March 2019 it was reported to be returning that licence along with Gant and Aeropostale. That report rests on unnamed sources, Arvind made no statement, and no filing confirming the exit was located. Five months later Authentic granted Indian rights to the Flipkart Group.

Is Nautica made in America?

Not the range sold here. All 40 Indian declaration records read on 15 September 2026 give the country of origin as India, and 12 different Indian manufacturers are named across them. The brand owner manufactures nothing anywhere — it licenses the name and collects a royalty.

Does import duty explain the Indian price?

It cannot here. Customs duty is charged on goods imported into India, and a garment made and sold in India is never imported. Even where goods are imported, duty is valued on the price paid for them at the border and never on the MRP. What a buyer pays is GST — 5% at or below ₹2,500 a piece since 22 September 2025, and the median MRP on this shelf is ₹2,299.

Is a “Water Resistant” Nautica jacket waterproof?

No published figure answers that. The words are part of the product name across at least six jackets, and one product page promises the design “ensures you stay dry” — with no hydrostatic head rating in millimetres, no repellent specification, no named test method and no test house. Nothing here tests the fabric; the finding is about what is published.

Why is almost everything discounted?

On 15 September 2026, 98 of 100 listings were reduced, at a median paid price of ₹1,517 against a median MRP of ₹2,299 — 60.0% of the tag. The 5,423-item shelf runs on 35 distinct MRPs and 37 discount rungs, which is a price grid rather than a price per garment. The American side is priced the same way, against a higher comparison value printed beside it.

References

  1. VF Corporation, 19 March 2018 — the definitive agreement to sell the Nautica brand business to Authentic Brands Group, LLC, and that terms were not disclosed
  2. VF Corporation, 30 April 2018 — completion of the sale, again with terms not disclosed
  3. EDGAR full-text search, VF Corporation filings — the 2003 filings in respect of Nautica Enterprises, Inc. recording VF’s acquisition
  4. Authentic Brands Group press release — the $12.7 billion enterprise value, BlackRock Long Term Private Capital as largest shareholder, the CVC and HPS stakes, and the full list of continuing holders
  5. Authentic Brands Group, March 2023 — the long-term Nautica womenswear licence to G-III Apparel Group
  6. Interparfums twenty-year Nautica fragrance licence, 28 January 2026 — the term, the handover from 1 January 2030, and Jamie Salter’s quoted role as licensor
  7. Retail Dive, 19 March 2018 — the press figures at the time of sale: over $1.2 billion in annual retail sales, 270 freestanding stores, and more than 40 licensing partners globally
  8. Indian trade mark 874556, NAUTICA, class 3, register mirror — filing date 13 October 1988, registered status, proprietor Nautica Apparel Inc. of New York, and no registered user recorded
  9. License Global, 29 August 2019 — the Flipkart Group holding the licensing and distribution rights to Nautica in India and running the business through franchise partners
  10. Business Standard, 28 August 2019 — the same arrangement a day earlier, with Jamie Salter and Rishi Vasudev quoted
  11. WWD on the Nautica India arrangement — Rishi Vasudev’s phrase, “the launch of Nautica under the Flipkart Group label”
  12. FashionNetwork India, 27 March 2019 — the report, on unnamed sources and with no company statement, that Arvind would return the Gant, Aeropostale and Nautica licences
  13. Indian Retailer, 27 April 2023 — Nautica described as available on Myntra, Flipkart and through stores across India, with no operating company named
  14. Brandzstorm India Marketing Private Limited, register mirror — CIN, incorporation on 9 February 2010 and the Hubtown Solaris office
  15. BIANCA HOME LLP, register mirror — LLPIN, incorporation on 4 May 2018 and the Andheri East address
  16. Thomas Scott (India) Limited, register mirror — CIN, the Lower Parel address, BSE 533941 and NSE THOMASCOTT, and operating revenue of ₹254.89 crore for FY2026 against ₹91.09 crore for FY2024
  17. Thomas Scott and ABG-Dockers LLC, 6 August 2026 — the exclusive India licensee and Global Designated Supplier appointment for Dockers, and Henry Stupp’s title at Authentic
  18. Section 12 of the Customs Act, 1962, described — duties of customs levied on goods imported into or exported from India, with the taxable event on entry into territorial waters
  19. Section 14 of the Customs Act, 1962, database summary — valuation on transaction value, the price actually paid or payable when sold for export to India
  20. Ruchi Associates v Collector of Customs, CEGAT Delhi, 21 May 1991 — reproduces the pre-2007 text of section 14, which is why the older wording is not quoted on this page
  21. GST on apparel from 22 September 2025 — 5% up to ₹2,500 a piece and 18% above, on the 56th GST Council’s recommendation
  22. Nautica Water Resistant Anorak Jacket, style Q521074 — $79.98 against a $150.00 comparison value, the “ensures you stay dry” copy, 100% polyester, and no rating or test
  23. Nautica Jeans Co. Sustainably Crafted straight fit denim, style RP2502 — $27.98 and the composition of 77% cotton, 22% pre-consumer recycled cotton and 1% elastane
  24. Nautica “Sustainably Crafted” programme page — REPREVE, organic cotton, recycled nylon and ozone wash, the word “certified” twice, and no certifying body or threshold
  25. Case-law search, “nautica” — no decided matter concerning this brand
  26. Case-law search, “nautica apparel” — nothing on the record under the proprietor’s name
The FA take

The paperwork is better than most of this shelf and the page should say so. Origin is declared on all forty records, every one names a manufacturer, and at ₹1,517 actually paid the range is priced like what it is — mid-market clothing made in India — rather than like the New York harbour on the label.

The open questions sit above the garment. Six jackets carry “Water Resistant” in their names and one page says the design “ensures you stay dry”, but the pages publish no millimetre rating, test method or test house. A collection called Sustainably Crafted uses “certified” twice and names no certifier.

Buy it as an Indian mid-market range with an American name on it, at the 60% of MRP the shelf charged in September 2026 — and treat every performance word in the product title as a name, not a measurement.

Table of Contents

Get the weekly audit

One tested product, one honest verdict, every Friday.

More reads

Related reads